We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most authentic Thai you will ever taste.”
Review of Chiang Mai Cottage

Chiang Mai Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The most authentic Thai you will ever taste.”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

This was actually the first Thai takeaway I ever tasted and well, it set a standard that NO OTHER Thai has ever been able to compare to! The food is amazing, so fresh and the flavours spot on. Staff seem lovely and the waiter that served us had such a cheeky smile, the restaurant was tiny but felt very intimate. I could live off this Thai food, and it makes me not want to eat Thai from anywhere else!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    76
    20
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakamoor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Superb meal and a great experience”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Staying nearby at the Premier Inn at Hemel Hempstead West, I discovered the Chiang Mai here on Trip Advisor and every review I read was true to it's word. A first class meal in lovely quaint surroundings. I adore Thai food and this was without doubt one of the finest I have ever had. Just the right amount of spice with beautifully balanced flavours made this the perfect thai meal. If you love this cuisine then the Chiang Mai is an absolute must if in the area. I will definitely be going back next time I am here. At £50 for the two us which included 2 starters, 2 main meals, 2 rice, 1 side dish, 2 beers and a large bottle of sparkling water, this was exceptional value as well

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianBenjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
313 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Exceptional!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

An outstanding meal - beautifully seasoned and flavoured food. Four of us each had a different set of dishes and every one was delicious. The Sirloin steak was superb, as was the beef in mild ginger. All the food was well presented, tasted fresh and flavoursome. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 5_9_2_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Bit Quite”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Lovely restaurant with nice food and quality of service is great but restaurant was very quite on Saturday night at 8pm which was very an usual I think.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank HEFFON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Always excellent”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Never had a bad meal in this restaurant, the food is excellent, service is good and it offers good value for money.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 000023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chiang Mai Cottage also viewed

Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Chiang Mai Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing