We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hotel is ok... but in the middle of nowhere”
Review of Aubrey Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aubrey Park Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Bocholt, Belgium
Level Contributor
109 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“hotel is ok... but in the middle of nowhere”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The Aubrey Park hotel is a standard hotel, ideal for business trips, but unfortunately located in "the middle of nowhere". So if you don't have a car, it's difficult to get out in the evening.
The rooms have been recently renovated and are nice and tidy, although a little bit too small. Bathroom has everything which is needed but would not have minded if the size would be doubled!! And everytime you take a shower, the bathroom is flooded!!
Dinner and breakfast - served in the hotel's restaurant - are good, although it's a pity that the breakfast is lacking some "normal" bread (but I guess that is more or less standard in England).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_K2009Hasselt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AubreyPark, General Manager at Aubrey Park Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest.


Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Aubrey Park.

Kind regards

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    177
    137
    43
    47
See reviews for
114
198
7
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
letchworth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My husband and I had afternoon Tea at Audrey Park last weekend and it was absolutley lovely, the staff were friendly and attentive. The scones were delicious and the tea/coffee was plentiful. They were advertising for a Valentines break and based on our afternoon tea experience we are going to book for Valenines Day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letchwortjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AubreyPark, General Manager at Aubrey Park Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I am glad you enjoyed it and look forward to welcoming you both back for a Romantic Break.

Kind regards

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2014

4 of us took advantage of the Champagne afternoon tea offer. When we arrived the table was all set up, but it took a long time before anyone come to serve us. We were finally served with tea/coffee and a glass of "champagne". After drinking it for a bit I decided it was definitely not champagne. When we asked the waiter what champagne it was he said it was Prosecco. I said that Prosecco is not Champagne and that was this was called a "Champagne Afternoon Tea" we should have been served champagne. The waiter disappeared and came back with someone in charge, who had a bottle of "Lanson" and immediately poured us 4 glasses. We were also left the Prosecco to finish if we wished. Seeing the review below they obviously try this trick every time in the hope that people will either no notice or not complain! The sandwiches were excellent, the scones absolutely delicious and the cakes good (although we did not have much room for them all). A lovely post Christmas treat.

Room Tip: We did not stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0sie287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AubreyPark, General Manager at Aubrey Park Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review but I must apologise that you were not served Champagne which I have spoken to the restaurant manager about as not acceptable.

This was an error and lost in communication and not in anyway an attempt not to give you and your party the experience you had booked, hence why we immediately served your party Champagne and offered the Prosecco as a good will gesture and apology for the error.

I was although delighted to read that you had a great time and hope this will not deter you in any way from enjoying the delights of Aubrey Park.

Kind regards

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed overnight at this hotel when visiting Warner Brs. studios Leavesden, really good hotel recently refurbished throughout to a very high standard, very courteous and helpful staff, excellent food woul definately stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AubreyPark, General Manager at Aubrey Park Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

I have shared your kind comments with the team, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My hubby and myself recently went to the Aubrey Park Hotel for a champagne afternoon tea.
We were first greeted by a very sweet friendly cat sat outside the hotel doors!
Upon arrival, we were shown to the bar area.
The staff were very attentive. One waiter looked after us and the service was very good,
The afternoon tea was delicious and presented beautifully! We had champagne, tea, a variety of sandwiches, various cakes and scones. Everything was fresh and seemed to be homemade.
The atmosphere was nice and relaxed. We weren't made to feel rushed in any way.
It was very good value for what we paid. We bought it on offer on another website. The full price of the afternoon tea is advertised as £50 or £25 per person. As good as it was, I would not of paid the full price for it. The full price seemed very steep for the quantity.
However, we had a lovely afternoon and would definately visit again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AubreyPark, General Manager at Aubrey Park Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time here at Aubrey Park sampling the delights of a traditional afternoon tea.

The hotel has three friendly cats that live in our grounds and cat lovers are always given the warmest of welcomes.

Our Exec Chef Peter Knight has passed on your praise to his team and we have many more delights coming up in 2014 so keep an eye out for new offers and deals coming soon.

Thank you again.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This is not the first time we stayed at the Aubrey Park, which in itself is a strong recommendation, but each time we are there we are bowled over by the quality of the hotel and the service that is offered there. The rooms are spotlessly clean, the bed comfortable, a very good shower and range of soaps and gels. Although close to the M1, the rooms are soundproofed so we slept right through. Breakfast is a delight as always. What made this visit different from previous ones, was that we treated the family... all 12 of them (including 4 young children)... to a meal in the restaurant. The staff were just wonderful and very attentive, dealing with the group very efficiently. The food was excellent - some ordered from the Table d'hote and others from the bar meals, but everything came well presented and in generous portions.

If there is anything that might be changed, it is the pricing: we stayed for one night at £49 including breakfast. This is ridiculously low for the very high standard and blows other 'popular' hotels such as Premier Inn and Travelodge completely out of the water. They could learn a lot from the Aubrey Park.

Room Tip: Some rooms are a bit of a distance from Reception, so those with mobility issues should make this kn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AubreyPark, General Manager at Aubrey Park Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

WOW what a review thank you.

We try so hard to make every guests experience a memorable one and from your review we delivered on all counts, thank you.

In regards to Value For Money I agree we are the best in the area and very much still Hertfordshire's Best Kept Secret although word is getting out through great reviews like yours.

Kind regards and see you again soon

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We got married at the Aubrey Park on New Years Eve and we can not fault this hotel at all. I will start from the beginning. We originally booked this venue back in 2012 when it was known as The Ramada Jarvis and before the massive and amazing refurb!
Back then we never had any issues or problems and right up to out departure after the wedding we still hadn't.

Sarah Williamson the Wedding & Events Co-ordinator was excellent. She went out of her way to help us and any concerns or wedding issues we had was resolved easily and immediately with her help. Whether this was late night meetings or last minute changes nothing was to much for Sarah.

Our wedding host on the day, Michael, was absolutely brilliant. Michael also went out of his way to ensure every single thing on the day of our wedding ran smoothly. The whole day I saw Michael constantly on his feet arranging things and ensuring everything was on time and presented correctly. The best part of all was seeing Michael bust his moves on the dance floor with us at the end of an amazing night. This goes to show how friendly and welcoming the staff at The Aubrey Park are.

Every single member of staff who was involved in the lead up to our wedding and on the day of the wedding deserves a massive thank you. Even with a demanding bride to be on the morning of the, the staff went out of their way to ensure I had everything I needed.

The hotel rooms have all been refurbished and are extraordinary. Modern, clean and comfortable.
I can not fault the rooms, reception or cleanness of the hotel so I find it very strange about some previous bad comments. How someone can not find the reception area I do not know as it is bright, welcoming and homely.

The food is absolutely magnificent. A good choice of food and amazing presentation. Any concerns we had with any of our wedding dishes at our food taster night was easily and happily sorted by the brilliant Head Chef.

Throughout the day we received comments from our guests rating the amazing food, we had canapés at our reception drinks and they were delicious. Every single one was eaten. We had 13 children at our wedding and the staff went out of their way to ensure they were happy and was very helpful with the children.

All in all I can not say a bad word about this hotel. It was raining on our wedding day but even this did not make a difference to our special day. With the help of every single person at the Aubrey Park Hotel they insured we had one of the best days of our lives.

We are both very grateful for everything everyone did for us on our wedding day.

We have already booked to go back for their valentines meal night and will be booking a table at their lovely restaurant for our first wedding anniversary.

Thank you all again.

Lisa & Adrian Stiles

Room Tip: The suites are amazing. They are a bit of money but when you see the rooms it is worth every single...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeiganMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AubreyPark, General Manager at Aubrey Park Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Lisa and Adrian...........the new Mr & Mrs Stiles !

Congratulations yet again and a HUGE thank you for your comments. It was our pleasure to look after you and your guests on your special day.

I will be sharing your review with the entire team and I know Michael said that your Wedding Day was one to remember as he has managed more than a few in his 30 years in the industry (man & boy).

We are looking forward to your return visit on Valentines Day and many many more times in the future.

All the best.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
4.8 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#6 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
4.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aubrey Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aubrey Park Hotel

Property: Aubrey Park Hotel
Address: Hemel Hempstead Road | Redbourn, Hemel Hempstead AL3 7AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#8 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aubrey Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent hotel, hidden in the village of Redbourn, St Albans Just in between St Albans and Hemel Hempstead you'll find our quiet woodland backdrop with acres of rolling English countryside sets the scene for well and truly relaxing stay...whether you're on business or just taking a break. And whilst our heritage stretches back to 1287, you'll find a fresh, contemporary design, including our light and airy Brasserie restaurant - serving fresh, seasonal food every day. We're proud to be independent -providing that special touch for all our guests, whatever your needs be. We're here to make your stay a memorable one. Enter our VIP experience for two competition! In autumn 2016 we will be launching our brand new weddings and conference venue, to celebrate we've got a VIP experience for two competition! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, LateRooms, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aubrey Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hemel Hempstead / St Albans Hotel Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead Ramada
Ramada Saint Albans
Saint Albans Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing