We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night stay”
Review of Aubrey Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aubrey Park Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Paignton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Night stay”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We arrived the day before as we went on a business flight. The hotel sorted the taxi out and within minutes we were on our way to the airport.
Great night stay! Even better were the staff. When our car went flat over night, staff member Cath kindly offered to use her car so we could start it up. Food was great and was the ideal location and venue for our stay. 10/10

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AubreyPark, General Manager at Aubrey Park Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I was delighted to read your review and I have passed on my thanks to the team who looked after you throughout your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    184
    139
    46
    47
See reviews for
117
205
8
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

OK where to start. Room, Neat tidy and clean, little or no noise and got a good nights sleep. Food; Very good well prepared and looked and tasted good. Breakfast; again very good, plenty to choose from and all was hot, (Scrambled eggs were particularly good not like bits of vulcanized rubber like some hotels I have stayed at). Room service quick and efficient food here was also good. Staff; Well mannered good at there job, attentive but not overbearing. I would certainly stay again. Please note: The reviews that give this hotel a bad rep seem to have been written by, (Business travelers), otherwise known as Reps most of whom, in my experience, are spivs and after something for nothing anyway. My experience of this hotel makes what they say utter rubbish.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdplancs1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AubreyPark, General Manager at Aubrey Park Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is a clean, friendly, well laid out recently refurbished hotel very close to the M1. So close I thought I was going to have trouble sleeping with the road noise but then I noticed my window had been left ajar. Once closed I was able to sleep very well (which is not always certain for me in hotels).

The room was functional, but comfortable. Could do with shower gel in addition to the shampoo and conditioner for the shower and a better policing of people smoking along the corridor.

However, overall the stay was very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AubreyPark, General Manager at Aubrey Park Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We do indeed have a non smoking policy throughout the hotel apart from designated smoking areas and have instructed the team to be extra vigilant in regards to guests that may try and smoke in public areas.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again at Aubrey Park.

Kind regards

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile


Stayed here on a deal including 2 nights executive room with brekfast on both mornings and dinner on first evening from amazon local
Sweeping drive lovley well kept gardens ( with groundsmen daily cleaning)
Check it was easy we had not printed the voucher but we just emailed it this was not a prob,
Executive double with bath and shower, toietries , tea & coffee, buscuits , hot choc, and chocolates gift boxed and bottled water and a share bag of tyrells crisps ( these are replaced when the maid cleans your room)
Only gripe is the treck to the room so if your less mobile call and request a room closer :) as there is only 1 lift and lota of stairs if ur less mobile or wheelchair bound book a adapted room , however sure i seen ramps ?
Bed is delightful and comfy ( i stay in alot of hotels this is up there with the best ) the tv was huge - 42 inch !! No air con but you can open the window , phone in room and free wifi , however you have to have all main lights on or just bedside lights theres no inbetween but not a prob really, bathroom is lovley and clean and heated towel rail :) plenty of fresh towels and more in draw , there was a prob with the tv and a manager came straight up to my hubby to rectify it at which point i was getting out bath and slipped but he was very kind asking if i was ok ( when i was dry and dressed may i add!! :) he really was sorry ,
With the deal it was a set menu of 3 courses , lots of choice and veg options too!! Or you could have 50.00 per couple discount off the a la carte menu ( we chose this and had 3 courses including scollop starters , sirloin steak, lamb rump and flaming creme bruelle and had only to pay 36 incl drinks ! Well worth it as food is amazing ( ive added pics) the staff are brill every single one of them !really do deserve credit as the service is 5* and the waiter max ( funny asian guy ) had lots of funny stories and makes you feel at ease even tho he carries a butler tray and butler attire ( white gloves and cloth over the arm! ) nothing is too much trouble and this really added to our experiance !
The hotel is beautiful inside and not run down or dirty in the slightest, lots of little sofas to chill with a drink or coffee and in the warm weather you can sit in the garden :) honestly you must try this place !! The staff make it what it is and i am planning to return !! The location is a tad secluded if you have no car , we drove to st albans (about 10 mins) this is a lovley town very historical and lots of boutiques , breakfast was full english with all trimmings also fresh fruit , yoghurts juice, hot drinks and all local sourced ! Really cant stress enough this is a lovley hotel and the staff make it 5* with their service :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missyb1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AubreyPark, General Manager at Aubrey Park Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

WOW what a great review, thank you.

I am delighted that you both enjoyed your stay so much here at Aubrey Park as we pledge ourselves on offering great service and quality food which I understand you both received.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Annes
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I needed an airport hotel with parking on site for Luton airport and, reading the Trip Advisor reviews, this hotel looked the ticket for a one night stay before we flew. However, we were very disappointed.

The allocated room had a pervading paint or varnish smell, which the person sent to us by reception also agreed that he could smell. He suggested that this was probably due to it being a hot day.....this was 2nd April! Having first been told that there were no other rooms available, we were then shown two other rooms, each of which had a musty smell that was equally undesirable. As we were only staying there one night, we decided to leave the window open and put up with the allocated room.

The agent we booked the hotel through had arranged a 20% off all food and drink offer at the hotel, so we decided to have an evening meal. The meal itself was nothing to write home about, but when the bill came it showed less than a 20% deduction from the total. Unbelievably, it took a restaurant manager and a waiter to correct the bill, saying that the till was not capable of taking off 20% (and they had to use a calculator!). The restaurant manager said that she wouldn't be working at breakfast, but would leave a note for whoever was on duty to make a manual change to the bill if we chose to have breakfast - we didn't bother.

On arrival at the hotel, we completed a form stating what time we needed a transfer to the airport, and we advised the receptionist that we had two suitcases and two cabin bags. The taxi arrived early (the only good thing) but the driver said that the hotel had not told his firm how much luggage we had, and that he could not fit the four bags in his boot. Only after a lot of persuasion (including agreeing to pay for any damage to his new leather seats!) did he agree that we could drive the 8 miles to the airport with the hold luggage on our laps! All this could have been avoided if the Aubrey Park had communicated better with the taxi firm. They might also have advised us that the return taxi from the airport would be at our cost, and not included in the price...which they didn't.

We won't be staying at this hotel again, and potential visitors need to balance all the good reviews with our experience when booking the hotel purely as an airport hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AubreyPark, General Manager at Aubrey Park Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and I have gone through in detail your comments made.

I would like to apologise that on this occasion we failed to meet your expectations but please be assured that all points raised have been taken on board and action taken to make sure that the issues you experienced during your stay do not happen again.

We have also spoken at lengths with the taxi company as to why an adequate sized vehicle wasn't sent as we communicate all requests directly to them.

I was surprised to read your comments around the rooms and food as all rooms were refurbished only a few months ago and are to a very high standard, we do redecorate rooms as required as part of our maintenance programme and apologise if there was indeed a smell of paint in your room.

I hope you will give us another opportunity at a future date as your experience doesn't reflect the stay that hundreds of guests have with us each week. If you would like to discuss further your comments or to make your next booking please feel free to contact me directly.

Kind regards

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed at the Aubrey Park for one night before a friend's wedding. It was conveniently located for Hemel Hempstead (but only if you have a car or are prepared to take a taxi) and looked pretty good from the outside.

Inside, the place is a bit of a rabbit warren and it must be easy to get a bit lost if you don't follow the signs! The room seemed to have been recently redecorated, and was spacious enough for us. It was very clean everywhere, both inside the room and out. The bathroom was nice enough, but the shower screen did not come forward far enough to prevent water from spraying all over the bathroom floor! Free Wifi was a welcome addition in the room, and the bed was comfy enough.

The service we experienced was the only part of our stay that was a bit strange! We ordered some room service and requested an ironing board and iron, but were told the staff didn't know how to get into the room where the ironing boards were kept, so would we mind waiting until the morning... Not a problem, but in the morning, when we requested the items again, they were taken to the wrong room (opposite us). In the end, we had two ironing boards and irons... better than none, I suppose.

At breakfast, there was quite a wide choice of items and what I ate was very tasty. There was a bit of a kerfuffle with a broken toaster but I think they'd fixed it by the time we left.

Overall, I was impressed with Aubrey Park for the price - we paid £49 (excluding breakfast), and that seems like a proper bargain to me!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AubreyPark, General Manager at Aubrey Park Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review in which I have read with interest. I have spoken to my Front Of House team in regards to your feedback and they have reiterated our policy in regards to guest needs.

Although I was delighted to read that you thought we were great value for money and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
217 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Went there for a wake food was beautifully displayed and staff very nice and helpful very attentive all afternoon an didn't rush us to leave plentybof parking and disabled parking toilets and restaurant were very clean couldnt fault them thank u

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank trotterbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AubreyPark, General Manager at Aubrey Park Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments and although a sad occasion I am pleased to here that we looked after you all.

We hope to see you again perhaps for a visit to our a la carte restaurant or a stay with us overnight here at Aubrey Park.

Kind regards

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#6 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
612 reviews
4.8 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
818 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
393 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,147 reviews
4.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aubrey Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aubrey Park Hotel

Property: Aubrey Park Hotel
Address: Hemel Hempstead Road | Redbourn, Hemel Hempstead AL3 7AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#8 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aubrey Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent hotel, hidden in the village of Redbourn, St Albans Just in between St Albans and Hemel Hempstead you'll find our quiet woodland backdrop with acres of rolling English countryside sets the scene for well and truly relaxing stay...whether you're on business or just taking a break. And whilst our heritage stretches back to 1287, you'll find a fresh, contemporary design, including our light and airy Brasserie restaurant - serving fresh, seasonal food every day. We're proud to be independent -providing that special touch for all our guests, whatever your needs be. We're here to make your stay a memorable one. Enter our VIP experience for two competition! In autumn 2016 we will be launching our brand new weddings and conference venue, to celebrate we've got a VIP experience for two competition! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aubrey Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hemel Hempstead / St Albans Hotel Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead Ramada
Ramada Saint Albans
Saint Albans Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing