We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aubrey Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aubrey Park Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here on a Business meeting and our group had exclusive use of the Marquee

Service and food were good and rooms were very comfortable albeit some of them can be a bit of a trek from reception

Setting is nice and grounds are well maintained -

Hotel is conveniently situated for road links and visiting St Albans

Room Tip: Just check how far you have to walk to get to your room when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_AubreyPark, Front Office Manager at Aubrey Park Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Paul T

I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and business meeting and the team enjoyed looking after your group.

I'm also pleased you were comfortable in your room and you enjoyed the grounds and space around the hotel

I look forward to welcoming you back to Aubrey Park

Nick Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    175
    134
    42
    47
See reviews for
113
196
7
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
208 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed here with a group in mid June. The group were booked in on a Bed & Breakfast option however some 35 decided to eat at the hotel having been into London for the afternoon.A small party had pre-booked their dinner but the rest had not that is where it started to unravel. On arrival the rooms were promptly allocated, very efficiently. (Except one pair of ladies given a double bed and on 1st floor when ground floor twin requested -however gently resolved. Hotel is wonderful, modernised to high quality finish(about 2 years ago). Then came the restaurant-
Although advised as to the numbers eating in reasonable time, it was chaos. The staff did not seem to have much idea, the manageress was in a world of her own and the chef kept having tantrums!!
It resulted in many meals coming out far too slowly and people waiting too long for their evening meals. Eventually all were served some however were not too happy with the service. Even the MD was serving on!!
Now to the better points- the food quality is excellent not Michelin standard but good Nouveau Cuisine and well prepared and presented.I think everyone enjoyed the food when served. Breakfast the next day was fantastic everything you would expect and more with plentiful tea, coffee served to you and fruit juice on tap along with the breads, cereals, hot and cold choices, could not be faulted.

This is a very well appointed efficiently run (except dining room)hotel. It is a bit of a maze, finding your way around is a nightmare. Numerous identical corridors and small flights of stairs, If you had lots of luggage you would give up the will to live, and have to use sat-nav to navigate your way out.A point made by various other reviewers.

The rooms were adequate well appointed and comfortable, very clean but very hot. There was a security bolt on the window so it could not be opened much but it soon cooled and was pleasant.
The Hotel had a good wi fi connection.
The grounds are well kept and there is plenty of parking. All in akll a very pleasant stay. If the dining issues were overcome I would highly recommend this hotel to business and leisure users, it is only 10min or so off junction 8 of M1.

Room Tip: Upper rooms where windows open for ventilation
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tourman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel is fine, food is very good but the service is terrible, food was ordered when I checked in but when I went to the restaurant to eat staff didn't know what was happening I didn't get my starter till nine pm after being sat for half an hour then desert didn't arrive till ten pm

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hemel Hempstead hotels

colchester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is a very nice hotel but finding your way around is a nightmare. Numerous identical corridors and small flights of stairs, I had quite a lot of luggage and it took me 10 - 15 minutes to eventually find my room. A point made by various other reviewers.

The room was actually very good being clean and comfortable but it was very hot, fortunately the security bolt on the window had been removed so at least I could open it fully. It wasn't even a particularly hot day so I think it would be horrible in the height of summer

Good wi fi connection.

Dinner was pretty good but expensive, the buffet breakfast very good indeed.

I might stay here again but I'll be exploring other hotels in the area first as the overall value was average at best.

Room Tip: don't pick one over number 250, you'll never find it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

The Aubrey Park Hotel was renovated about 2 years ago and the public rooms are smart and modern. The grounds are well kept and there is plenty of parking. The bedrooms are aren't particularly large, but very clean and reasonably well equipped. Our room looked onto those opposite so we had to draw our curtains more than we would have preferred (no nets). We would ask for a room overlooking the boundary hedge and fields next time. Despite booking as a couple, we only had one bath towel and one hand towel in the room - probably just an oversight, but my husband declined the walk back to Reception and used my damp one! There are several flights of steps linking the various corridors so anyone with mobility issues or lots of luggage might wish to notify management when booking. Wi-fi included and worked well. Breakfast was excellent. Yes, there was some low level noise from the M1 but the location is very convenient.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a night on business and was pleasantly surprised at how comfortable this hotel was.

I was greeted at reception in a very friendly manner and showed to my room. My room was absolutely miles away from the reception which would be a problem if you have mobility issues. Luckily, I only had a cold so I managed the trek fine!

The rooms were really accommodating, comfortable bed and a decent sized tv. Bathroom was very clean and user friendly. The one thing I would like to bring to everyone's attention as being a negative is that there was no hairdryer in my room! Many wouldn't regard this as an issue but when you go there expecting there to be one and there isn't, a bit of a problem!

Excellent hotel though. Great breakfast. Will stay there many times from now on so I'm happy about that.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank nick_grimsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed on business for 1 night. Room nice. Good TV, decent bathroom. Comfortable bed. Food seemed expensive - I had a cheese & bacon burger + onion rings, with cheesecake which came to just over 30 quid when the 5 pound room service charge was added on. It was a very nice burger by the way. Probably would stay agan, but would eat out

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
4.8 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#6 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
4.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aubrey Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aubrey Park Hotel

Property: Aubrey Park Hotel
Address: Hemel Hempstead Road | Redbourn, Hemel Hempstead AL3 7AF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#8 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aubrey Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent hotel, hidden in the village of Redbourn, St Albans Just in between St Albans and Hemel Hempstead you'll find our quiet woodland backdrop with acres of rolling English countryside sets the scene for well and truly relaxing stay...whether you're on business or just taking a break. And whilst our heritage stretches back to 1287, you'll find a fresh, contemporary design, including our light and airy Brasserie restaurant - serving fresh, seasonal food every day. We're proud to be independent -providing that special touch for all our guests, whatever your needs be. We're here to make your stay a memorable one. Enter our VIP experience for two competition! In autumn 2016 we will be launching our brand new weddings and conference venue, to celebrate we've got a VIP experience for two competition! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aubrey Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hemel Hempstead / St Albans Hotel Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead Ramada
Ramada Saint Albans
Saint Albans Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing