We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are better”
Review of Aubrey Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aubrey Park Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“There are better”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The hotel staff have been very friendly over my two stays in recent weeks, but unfortunately the rooms are just not up to scratch compared to others in the area. No air conditioning, with windows that open only a small amount and the hotel is very close to the M1. If you are unlucky you get a room that looks directly onto the M1, so therefore noise is an issue when you need to sleep with the window open during warm weather. Otherwise, the evening menu is good, with well presented and attentive staff and there is a very comprehensive choice for breakfast. The location is obviously easy from the M1 and parking seems plentiful with a main car park in the front and additional parking at the rear of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingazco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    188
    143
    49
    48
See reviews for
121
210
9
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Arrived here at 9.30pm after a very long day to discover the hotel had double booked my room and had no space to accomodate me. Apparently they only realised this when I arrived (wonder if they would have been so astute in waiving my cancellation fee had I not turned up - something they were presumably counting on.
Lax and unprofessional - I often travel to this area for business - this is the first and last time I will use this hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahTiredTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_AubreyPark, Front Office Manager at Aubrey Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
SarahTiredtraveller.

I am sorry that you felt the need to put your comments on trip advisor, especially after my team fully accepted responsibility and had already organised a room for 2 nights in a 5 star property where we paid the rate difference and complimentary travel to the hotel courtesy of us.

As explained when we contacted you at the earliest convenience the following morning it was a genuine booking oversight at the Aubrey Park

As discussed, we do not operate an overbooking policy and our primary objective was to minimise the impact of the inconvenience .

I do hope you will accept our offer of returning to the hotel for a memorable experience for all the right reasons.

Best wishes

Nick Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hemel Hempstead hotels

Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

As I drove up to the Aubrey Park, the entrance is very quaint and the building itself looks like a lovely country hotel. Sadly there was no parking in the main carpark so I had to park round the back. The back of the hotel reminded me of a 1970's comprehensive school and was very uninspiring. Check-in was quick and efficient. The rooms are small and have one major flaw, no net curtains or blinds, so you are either in darkness with the curtains closed or in full view of anyone who passes by. Another downside is no aircon, which means you have to have windows (and curtains) open. Now for the really good bit.....the food in the restaurant is fabulous. Cooked to perfection and well presented. The service is spot on and the staff very attentive and approachable (on the whole), and they take tastecard, turning an expensive(ish) meal into an affordable one. The bar was a little busy, but it was during the World Cup. I have stayed here several times now and will be staying again soon

Room Tip: Ask for one near reception because some of them are a long walk away
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nismo350z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_AubreyPark, Front Office Manager at Aubrey Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Daer Kevlead67

thank you for your feedback.

We are looking at the possibility of net curtains to improve the quality of our guest stay.

I was delighted to be able to read out in the morning meeting about how nice the food and approachable to staff were so thank you for those comments the team really appreciated them.

I hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future

Kind regards

Nick Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed for a night here, arrived in the early hours of the morning and given my room number quickly by the polite receptionist, took me a little while to actually find my room however as the signage really is a little poor, probably didn't help that i was sleep deprived mind. lovely modern, exceptionally clean room, would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bahti A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_AubreyPark, Front Office Manager at Aubrey Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Bahti A

I'm so pleased you enjoyed our modern and clean rooms and I hope after your long journey you enjoy a well earned rest.

No doubt I will see you back very soon when your next are looking for accommodation in the area.

Many thanks again for your review

Kind regards

Nick Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

The rooms are of a modern feel but very hot with no air conditioning so sleeping was a struggle, the Wi Fi doesn't work throughout the hotel. Poor organisation for weddings with the manager having to be told that one member of staff on the bar is no good as the queue was never ending.
We had booked three rooms but upon arrival they said we only had one. However the staff did manage to get the other two rooms for us.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_AubreyPark, Front Office Manager at Aubrey Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Adam C

Thank you for staying with us recently and I hoped you enjoyed the wedding.

I'm glad the team managed to rectify the booking issue and I will be investigating as to what happened but apologies for the mix up.

We have taken on the feedback regarding the air conditioning and recently purchased more fans for our guests to use as well as the child lock being able to be removed to allow the window to open fully.

It is my understanding that the WI-FI was only down for 10minutes whilst we reset the system and a second barman was sent on the request of some guests at the function.

I very much hope we will see you back at the Aubrey Park very soon

Kind regards

Nick Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Overall this hotel is quite nice. Easy to get to, yet far enough away from main roads so noise isn't an issue. The grounds are quite nice, and it's close to a walk/cycle track if you fancy walking to nearby villages/towns.

Rooms are nice, clean and functional. The hotel has a strange layout, and some rooms are hard to find, not helped by poor signage. Wifi in hotel is very welcome.

Plumbing seems to be an issue. Hot water temperature and flow varies, in particular in the morning, I'm guessing when other guests are drawing on it. Not an issue I've experience elsewhere.

The administration of this hotel lets it down. I've experienced twice being challenged at breakfast time that it's not included, when I paid a rate that did include it. Once I was charged for breakfast separately, even though it was in the room rate. Once I went to check out to be told it had already been paid - another guest had been charged my bill by mistake.

Overall I think this hotel is good. It's not "very good", hence the average rating on here, but I will use it again.

Room Tip: Rooms numbered above 267 (I think) are a pain to get to, due to the odd layout of the read part of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macboy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_AubreyPark, Front Office Manager at Aubrey Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Macboy5

Thank you for your review

I'm so pleased you enjoyed the great Wi-Fi connection we have here, and you had the time to explore the grounds.

We are also exploring the option of giving our customers small maps to find there way on first time visits.

I apologise about the administration mix up regarding breakfast and when re-booking come directly through me and ill be happy to compliment this on your next visit.

Nick.vincent@aubreypark.co.uk

I look forward to seeing you back at Aubrey Park

Kind regards

Nick Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Booked on a room deal for an evening out nearby. Reasonable price for just that purpose. Hotel looks ok from outside but interior a bit dated. However bedrooms seem to have all been refurbished and are quite smart so maybe they are working on the rest. We stayed on a particularly warm night so would've been nice to not have restricted openings of windows as no air-con. The different floor layers were very confusing and led to many a wrong turn. We didn't eat or drink at this hotel so have no comments in that regard. Reception staff were friendly & helpful. Hotel ideal for a stopover but probably wouldn't want to have stayed much longer

Room Tip: Rooms all seemed quiet with good double glazing, unable to hear the traffic from M1
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomorewine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_AubreyPark, Front Office Manager at Aubrey Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Nomorewine

Thank you very much for your feedback.

Its great to hear that the team made you feel welcome on arrival and you felt the benefit of our £5 million refurbishment.

We are now introducing little maps for our customer to assist in helping them to their room

I hope to be able to welcome you back to Aubrey Park in the future

Kind regards

Nick Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#7 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
621 reviews
4.8 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#6 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
831 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,179 reviews
4.7 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
399 reviews
4.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aubrey Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aubrey Park Hotel

Property: Aubrey Park Hotel
Address: Hemel Hempstead Road | Redbourn, Hemel Hempstead AL3 7AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#8 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aubrey Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent hotel, hidden in the village of Redbourn, St Albans Just in between St Albans and Hemel Hempstead you'll find our quiet woodland backdrop with acres of rolling English countryside sets the scene for well and truly relaxing stay...whether you're on business or just taking a break. And whilst our heritage stretches back to 1287, you'll find a fresh, contemporary design, including our light and airy Brasserie restaurant - serving fresh, seasonal food every day. We're proud to be independent -providing that special touch for all our guests, whatever your needs be. We're here to make your stay a memorable one. Enter our VIP experience for two competition! In autumn 2016 we will be launching our brand new weddings and conference venue, to celebrate we've got a VIP experience for two competition! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aubrey Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hemel Hempstead / St Albans Hotel Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead Ramada
Ramada Saint Albans
Saint Albans Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing