We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT LOCATION AND GOOD AIRPORT TRANSPORT/CAR PARKING DEAL”
Review of Aubrey Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aubrey Park Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
310 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT LOCATION AND GOOD AIRPORT TRANSPORT/CAR PARKING DEAL”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I have stayed at the hotel twice in the ten days thanks to their offer on car parking/airport transport. The first night's meal in the restaurant was, I am sorry to say, not really up to standard, but thanks to the good customer service skills of (I think) Frankie, she brought up our issues with the front of house manager who rang me back the following day when staying in our holiday destination to apologise and to offer us a complimentary meal on our return the following week. This was much improved so thanks to Nick and Frankie for sorting this out. The hotel is in a good location and close to the M1 with Harpenden and St Albans being within easy reach. The bedrooms are clean and the beds and pillows very comfortable. There is also free wifi. The only real downside is the hotel's layout - we walked miles to our room (270) and this would be difficult with large suitcases. (Fortunately our large suitcases were in the car and we only had overnight bags). The airport transport offer is a good one and I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lillibet12309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    184
    139
    46
    48
See reviews for
118
206
8
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We recently married at The Aubrey Park Hotel and we both can't thank them enough for their professionalism, attitude and personal touches they provided. From the moment we looked around the hotel we knew it was going to be the perfect venue for our big day. The packages and flexibility they offered were better than anywhere else we looked at and they genuinely cared about helping make the day special and perfect. Jen was fabulous in answering questions prior to the day and nothing was too much trouble. We used their suite for the night before and of the wedding. It comfortably fitted several bridesmaids, a hairdresser and family members. The patio doors leading out meant the bridal party could relax with a drink whilst others got ready.

Due to no function the day before we were free to set up 24 hours in advance. The hotel offered to provide staff to help and were constantly coming over to check we were ok and if there was anything they could do.

Our wedding day was overseen by the Managing Director David, who was attentive, without being intrusive. The garden room was the perfect setting for our ceremony and the welcome drinks being served straight out onto the terrace meant guests didn't get lost. The gardens were immaculate and were the backdrop to some great photographs.

We had our wedding breakfast in the marquee which, with the in house lighting, looked amazing. The three course meal was just as good as when we had our taster. The vegetarian/vegan options went down very well and many people commented how great the food was. David remained with us all day, checking we were happy and making sure it all ran smoothly. After the evening reception the main bar was happy to stay open for as long as we wanted, which was great to continue chatting to family and friends.

A large proportion of our guests stayed overnight as it was such great value and all commented on how nice the rooms were and how tasty the buffet breakfast was in the morning.

The hotel and staff went beyond our expectations. This is an independent hotel and it clearly shows. They were hardworking and really seemed to care that everyone was having a good time. If we had the chance to do it all again with double the budget, would we choose somewhere else? Not a chance, the Aubrey Park was perfect!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBH080814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redbourn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

after placing the winning bid for afternoon tea at the aurbrey park hotel in redbourn churches charity sale of "promises" we took or voucher to the aubrey park on 30th july. it was a very beautiful experience
. we had the afternoon tea in the brasserie the staff were extremely efficient, welcoming and attentive to our needs.the food was very good and brought back long forgotten memories of afternoon teas taken as a girl. as a retired chef i for one could not fault the afternoon and i know that my husband thought so to.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 614jenny69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_AubreyPark, Front Office Manager at Aubrey Park Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear 614jenny69

Many thanks for your recent review on trip advisor.

I’m so pleased you enjoyed your well-deserved treat of Afternoon Tea here at Aubrey Park.

I’m glad the staff left a lasting impression on you and please feel free to contact the hotel when you wish to return on one of our new promotions.

Thanks again and see you soon

Kind regards
Nick Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Arrived and checked in ok. Room was good and clean.
Dinner was appalling:
Starter - the duck egg scotch egg starter was bland & lacking flavour & some asparagus was uncooked there was far too much garnish. It looked pretty.
Main course - sausage, mash, carrots & broccoli - with onion rings!!. Veg was pretty much uncooked, sausages were not of expected quality - mash was average. I left most of it including the onion rings. How hard is it to cook onions rather than use packet ingredients?

The service was slow and inefficient, one of us had to fetch his own cutlery from the drawer as we failed to attract a server.

I'm not expecting breakfast to be great.

The bar prices are high, the food prices are exorbitant especially given the poor standard. My local Michelin starred restaurant is cheaper.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hemel Hempstead hotels

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Aubrey Park after attending my cousins wedding in St Albans. a nice hotel, very good value and a nice breakfast too!
The only downside was that it was a little too far away from the wedding and also that when we got back to the hotel there was a wedding party on and so it was very noisy.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugs761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_AubreyPark, Front Office Manager at Aubrey Park Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Hugs761

Many thanks for your recent review on trip advisor.

I hope you will choose us again when attending something in the local area.

Thanks again and see you soon

Kind regards
Nick Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

An excellent venue for the wedding. The staff and manager could not do enough to help and were very flexible and accommodating. The standard of the food was excellent and the house wine most palatable. The hotel bar stayed open through to the early hours even after the festivities had ended. Very impressed. My wife and I would certainly go back because the afternoon teas looked delightful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_AubreyPark, Front Office Manager at Aubrey Park Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Matthew H

Many thanks for making Aubrey Park your very first Trip Advisor post.

We really enjoyed looking after your whole group on that special day and thank you that you chose to spend it here at the Aubrey Park

I have passed your feedback onto the Food and Beverage team who will be delighted to read these comments.

I look forward to seeing you again enjoying our new Afternoon Tea offer.

Thanks again and see you soon
Kind regards
Nick Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

On arrival we were warmly greeted and on entering our room we found it spacious and very clean indeed. Our room looked out towards the patio area which looked ideal for sitting out in this warm weather and enjoying a cool drink. Our booking was for dinner, bed and breakfast which when the food is as good as it is in the restaurant at this hotel was great value at £129 for the night. I along with my girlfriend slept undisturbed for 8 hours in a very comfortable bed and the hotel is well placed to enjoy the local attractions or just stroll around the adjacent woodlands.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_AubreyPark, Front Office Manager at Aubrey Park Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Richard V

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Aubrey Park

I pleased to hear you really got the most out of your stay. The room you were allocated is perfect for the late night drink on the patio and I’m pleased your dining experience lived up to your expectations.

By the sounds of your review you and your partner left feeling truly refreshed after a great night sleep, and as hoteliers that is all we can ask.

Thanks again for a lovely review I will pass your comments on to all the relevant heads of departments.

Kind regards
Nick Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#7 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
613 reviews
4.8 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
822 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
395 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,153 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#7 of 10 in St Albans
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aubrey Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aubrey Park Hotel

Property: Aubrey Park Hotel
Address: Hemel Hempstead Road | Redbourn, Hemel Hempstead AL3 7AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#8 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aubrey Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent hotel, hidden in the village of Redbourn, St Albans Just in between St Albans and Hemel Hempstead you'll find our quiet woodland backdrop with acres of rolling English countryside sets the scene for well and truly relaxing stay...whether you're on business or just taking a break. And whilst our heritage stretches back to 1287, you'll find a fresh, contemporary design, including our light and airy Brasserie restaurant - serving fresh, seasonal food every day. We're proud to be independent -providing that special touch for all our guests, whatever your needs be. We're here to make your stay a memorable one. Enter our VIP experience for two competition! In autumn 2016 we will be launching our brand new weddings and conference venue, to celebrate we've got a VIP experience for two competition! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aubrey Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hemel Hempstead / St Albans Hotel Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead Ramada
Ramada Saint Albans
Saint Albans Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing