We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Takeaway ”

Marina Spice Lounge
Ranked #14 of 163 Restaurants in Hemel Hempstead
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Marina Spice Lounge is a beautiful place where alot of customers enjoy being it has an Excellent Standard food and has a great atmosphere near the canal the staffs are friendly and funny but the team have a great standard of fast making food and have a lovely smell in the restaraunt. People who mainly come on holiday go to Marina Spice Lounge .
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Takeaway ”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Takeaway for two. Massive amounts of food, lasted two nights. Fabulous chunks of meat, piping hot and delicious

Truly recommend. Better than dining in experience

Helpful?
Thank Helebod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    53
    23
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We visited the restaurant mid week with some friends. Even though the restaurant.was quiet the service was extremely slow and the staff could have been more cheerful. But saying that, the food we all had was very tasty and nicely presented. Will definitely go back but just hope the service is quicker and we get a warmer welcome.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Decent & Accessible from HI Express”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Chose to eat here because of ease of access from the hotel across the canal we were staying at. The restaraunt was pretty busy so we thought we should give it a try. We had the coconut korma and the lamb tikka masala. The coconut korma was way too sweet, almost like eating desert instead of dinner. The lamb in the masla was pretty tough. The somosas were very good. The service was pretty slow, but they were busy. With SO many good Indian restaraunts around this one was just very average. I think they are lucky there are so many homes around the area they cater to, otherwise I could see this place not being around long term.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank trngdir76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“quick friday night curry”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

wouldn't have gone back after some dodgy tums the morning after , but there seems to be a new owner over the last year and have been recommended .

I have to say the food was very good , service a little grumpy and quite pricey , but then you are sat on the marina ( almost ) .

Give it a try .

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brasero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Waste of money”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

I came here to have a good Indian after reading reviews and being recommended by the hotel but was disappointed when I had ordered a special which stated it included chicken, lamb, and sheesh kebab, when it arrived it only had chicken and kebab in the curry. So I asked if that was how it was supposed to be and the waiter after telling his mate 5 mins later returned and said yes it should also have lamb and he would bring me a fresh one. When the curry came back it was my recycled old curry with only two added pieces of lamb.

Disappointed to say the least after waiting so long I ate most of it but wasn't really happy.

I asked for the bill and was shocked to see it was £20!! For one curry, one plain naan, and one pint of beer. No discount was offered.

During service the waiters were cold and unfriendly especially when I asked for some more lamb!

Won't be returning! Waste of 20 quid!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marina Spice Lounge also viewed

Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Marina Spice Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing