We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Omg!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Watermill Hotel
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Reviewed 7 June 2012 via mobile

What a lovely place, we stayed in 128, room was huge! Kingsize bed, we had a sneak in the marquee looked amazing .

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kanij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watermillhotel, Manager at The Watermill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you fro your feedback, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here at the Watermill Hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future,

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

Hotel is series of modern blocks round an old mill pond. The mill race visible through glass wall in the Reception is a nice touch. Staff very friendly and helpful. Our coach was delayed so they kept the kitchen open later for us and were still serving hot meals after 10pm. Very good service.
Room was spacious, clean and comfortable with all usual facilities. Bathroom large, clean and bright with permanently heated towel rail. Double lobby doors isolated any noise from the car park, and our window overlooked the mill pond - with ducks!! Bed softer than we are used to, but very comfortable.
Unusually the water from the bathroom tap is not potable, but there was complimentary bottles of water in the room, and more available if required.
Continental breakfast average.
A comfortable hotel in a country situation with some attractive features. Excellent service from the staff.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the mill pond, but if you don't like ducks quacking ask for one in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eaglesclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I booked a superior room which was OK...nicle flat screen tV which had freeview channels. It was a large room which has recently been painted, but the fittings such lights and tables were worn. I have stayed in the executive rooms in the past which are faultless. Never had breakfast as i use the McDonlads just up the road.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
Thank Smoulson1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watermillhotel, Manager at The Watermill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your stay here at The Watermill Hotel.

I would like to thank you for your comments, and feedback regarding your experience here. We at Best Western take pride on providing excellent customer service. We have taken your comments on board and we hope you would give us the opportunity of serving you in the near future.


I hope you had a safe and pleasant onward journey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed 2 days and needed to be outside London. Staff were efficient and friendly, Hotel was better than basic but not luxurious but the price was very reasonable. Hemel Hempstead train station is less than 10 minutes away and you can reach London from the Hotel in under 40 minutes

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rwakelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watermillhotel, General Manager at The Watermill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Dear Rwakelin,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at The Watermill.

I am very pleased to hear that you found the hotel of Good Value, Please be rest assured that your review will be shared with our team who I know will be delighted with the feedback.

Thanks Again,

Manish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

Asked receptionist which of the two pubs across the road from the hotel was best for food, she was English so presumably local, but was unaware there were actually two pubs even though they could be clearly seen from reception! Had to return to reception to get room swipe reprogrammed. Rooms are located in blocks around the site, are not overly-large but have everything you would expect. As noted by other reviewers not all TV channels work well.

The bar/restaurant area is totally souless, so I would recommend using the pubs across the road. I didn't eat or have breakfast. All in all average for £49.95 a night. If I was returning to the area I would probably seek out somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RCimino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Come to wedding At end Of April had a nice gazebo setting and the day was nice, hotel was good we were able to check in early

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassiebradley2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watermillhotel, Manager at The Watermill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay and visit to the hotel. It’s a pleasure to hear you liked the Hotel's Gazebo.

I would like to thank you for your kind comments, and I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the near future,

Kindest Regards

Manish Patel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We arrived at the Watermill and were met by friendly helpful staff. The foyer and bar areas were well lit, clean and tidy. However, whilst the rooms were also clean, bright and tidy, the corridors in the accomodation blocks (it does sound a bit like colditz doesnt it?) were very dark, bare brickwork and the carpets were very dark and dated almost looking like they had been there for many years and long past needing replacement. To be honest, they completely let down the rest of the hotel and almost give a very "sleazy" feel to the place. Had the rooms not been as clean as they were, we would definitley have turned right around and left this place. The staff seem to be predominantly asian and some did not seem to understand what we wanted when ordering drinks at the bar. It is such a shame that the sleazy looking corridors let this place down so badly as I am sure that the staff work hard. In short, not even close to the standard one would come to expect from a Best Western hotel!

Room Tip: I would not choose to stay here again I am afraid
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianUK17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hemel Hempstead hotels
1.1 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
414 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
748 reviews
2.5 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#7 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
662 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
#9 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
176 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#6 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watermill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watermill Hotel

Address: London Road | Bourne End, Hemel Hempstead HP1 2RJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN The Watermill Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range: £58 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Watermill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermill Hotel, one of the finest modern Hotels in Hemel Hempstead is built around an old flour mill and offers excellent accommodations in Hemel Hempstead with a panoramic view of River Bulbourne threading through the property. Experience a serene, Old World retreat from bustling city life in this picturesque modern hotel. A convenient getaway venue with plenty of spacious free car parking. Watermill also offers wonderful amenities and hospitality for a relaxing stay, with convenient access to the area's tourist, industrial and commercial centres. Our hotel in Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire include 71 tastefully appointed rooms, several with beautiful views of the lush green meadows and the River Bulbourne. A blend of refined luxury and and refreshing tranquility is sure to romance both leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your The Watermill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Watermill
Hemel Hempstead Best Western
Best Western Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing