We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free wi-fi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Watermill Hotel
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Reviewed 18 June 2012

The hotel was ok, had Internet which was a bonus. Did not have to pay, like the other hotels I have been to . The hotel is like an American motel, can't really tell it was apart of the best western chain. There was pleasant staff and clean room, not bad compared to other hotels I stay at.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilkins567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2012 via mobile

This place was located off the a41 which took me staight to my meeting in the morning. Hotel looked small in the front but my room was in the garden building. Nice room with free water bottle and tea coffee . Was given a free independent paper on check-in. The breakfast was a good selection , and had poached egg on offer ,

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomasthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed here with friends for their anniversary as they had taken us to pick up our new car from a village nearby. First impression as we pulled up wasn't good we laughed as it looked like flats with no windows to the front. The reception was small staff very friendly. We had booked superior rooms thankfully. Our room was ok but our friends, whose anniversary it was, had dried sick on the carpet and up the valance of the bed. They called reception who sent housekeeping and she offered to change the valance but the carpet would remain the same and our friends were not happy with that. They were offered another room and were told that was ok, but it wasn,t, the head board was broken and on the floor. Third time lucky and a free bottle of wine with our meal and they were finally sorted. There was a wedding going on in the marquee so we were the only ones at dinner, we had the restaurant and waiter to ourselves. The food was very good, we had booked the dinner, bed and breakfast rate which was good value. Surrounding area was very good and you could walk through to the canal and see the barges. We walked to a pub on the canal which served excellent food. Overall we did have a good time as its what you make of it with your friends.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012 via mobile

What a lovely place, we stayed in 128, room was huge! Kingsize bed, we had a sneak in the marquee looked amazing .

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kanij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watermillhotel, Manager at The Watermill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you fro your feedback, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here at the Watermill Hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future,

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Hotel is series of modern blocks round an old mill pond. The mill race visible through glass wall in the Reception is a nice touch. Staff very friendly and helpful. Our coach was delayed so they kept the kitchen open later for us and were still serving hot meals after 10pm. Very good service.
Room was spacious, clean and comfortable with all usual facilities. Bathroom large, clean and bright with permanently heated towel rail. Double lobby doors isolated any noise from the car park, and our window overlooked the mill pond - with ducks!! Bed softer than we are used to, but very comfortable.
Unusually the water from the bathroom tap is not potable, but there was complimentary bottles of water in the room, and more available if required.
Continental breakfast average.
A comfortable hotel in a country situation with some attractive features. Excellent service from the staff.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the mill pond, but if you don't like ducks quacking ask for one in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eaglesclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I booked a superior room which was OK...nicle flat screen tV which had freeview channels. It was a large room which has recently been painted, but the fittings such lights and tables were worn. I have stayed in the executive rooms in the past which are faultless. Never had breakfast as i use the McDonlads just up the road.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
Thank Smoulson1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watermillhotel, Manager at The Watermill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your stay here at The Watermill Hotel.

I would like to thank you for your comments, and feedback regarding your experience here. We at Best Western take pride on providing excellent customer service. We have taken your comments on board and we hope you would give us the opportunity of serving you in the near future.


I hope you had a safe and pleasant onward journey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed 2 days and needed to be outside London. Staff were efficient and friendly, Hotel was better than basic but not luxurious but the price was very reasonable. Hemel Hempstead train station is less than 10 minutes away and you can reach London from the Hotel in under 40 minutes

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rwakelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watermillhotel, General Manager at The Watermill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Dear Rwakelin,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at The Watermill.

I am very pleased to hear that you found the hotel of Good Value, Please be rest assured that your review will be shared with our team who I know will be delighted with the feedback.

Thanks Again,

Manish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hemel Hempstead hotels
1.1 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
414 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
749 reviews
2.5 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#7 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
662 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
#9 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
176 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#6 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watermill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watermill Hotel

Address: London Road | Bourne End, Hemel Hempstead HP1 2RJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN The Watermill Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range: £58 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Watermill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermill Hotel, one of the finest modern Hotels in Hemel Hempstead is built around an old flour mill and offers excellent accommodations in Hemel Hempstead with a panoramic view of River Bulbourne threading through the property. Experience a serene, Old World retreat from bustling city life in this picturesque modern hotel. A convenient getaway venue with plenty of spacious free car parking. Watermill also offers wonderful amenities and hospitality for a relaxing stay, with convenient access to the area's tourist, industrial and commercial centres. Our hotel in Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire include 71 tastefully appointed rooms, several with beautiful views of the lush green meadows and the River Bulbourne. A blend of refined luxury and and refreshing tranquility is sure to romance both leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Watermill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Watermill
Hemel Hempstead Best Western
Best Western Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing