We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must be worst of worst of Best Western”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Watermill Hotel
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
neptune beach, fl
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Must be worst of worst of Best Western”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Extremely basic, not even shampoo. To USA standards, a Motel 6 would be better. I have stayed at numerous Best Western hotels in Europe, but this was extremely disappointing. I am surprised it is still under the Best Western European chain. The bedding is awful! My best advice is to only stay here if you are absolutely desperate.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jm5445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    107
    107
    49
    63
See reviews for
69
84
19
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Stayed for 3 nights whilst training. The Hotel was clean and well maintained. The rooms were comfortable with free wifi. Breakfast was the usual buffet type, ok but not brilliant. Evening meals were a lot better. It was nice to have a pre-meal drink on the decking above a stream. The staff were fiendly and efficient. The drawbacks were, i had to have a smoking room and it selled like the last occupant was a chain smoker. And i was woken at 5 in the morning 2 days by a delvery. The delivery man must have thought if he was awake everybody should be awake.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CumbriaRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Watermill Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment based on your recent stay here at the hotel.

As a response to your comments, please accept my sincere apologies regarding the smoking room that you had been given and the disturbance caused to you with the early morning deliveries. We have spoken to the company in question a revised our delivery schedules to avoid problems like this occurring in the future.

I hope you had a safe and pleasant onward journey. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Thank You,

The Watermill Hotel,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2012

It is wrong to advertise a restaurant and then close it because of insufficient custom - even on a Sunday night. The Chef should be sacked for being 'too tired' to cook something that was on the menu at 1900 in the evening. And the quality of even a simple burger was appalling.
Restaurant closed because of insufficient people. Took an hour to obtain an indelible burger in the bar. Apologetic receptionist explained that Chef had been 'too tired' to cook it because of events the day before. Wireless Internet worked only spasmodically in the room and was generally slow because of 'problems'. Also difficult to log in.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eldon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hemel Hempstead hotels

Amlwch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed over 2 nights, it was our wedding anniversary. Had a lovely meal Friday night when we arrived and was surprised at how small the restaurant and bar were. Got up Saturday morning for breakfast, there was no room in the restaurant, were ushered to a dirty table, no cups, cutlery there, had to ask for tea and toast, awful service, far too many people there staying for minimum staff to cope with and restaurant far too small with capacity of hotel.
Saturday night was the worst ever! Music blaring from a house next door until at least 5 am next morning, complained to reception 3 times during the night, couldn't sleep at all, could even tell what song was playing even though the windows had to be closed and it was hot in the room!
Reception advised me that there was nothing they could do as the Police wouldn't come out and the Council wouldn't deal either so had to endure this all night, was told we could move to a SMOKING room as this is all that they had as other people had complained and had been moved, had only had about 2 hours sleep and as a result suffered a massive migraine due to this, completely ruined our day out as we had to stay in bed longer than expected, after the music had stopped, went down to breakfast about 9.15am only to find that the restaurant was heaving, there was no food, no plates, no cutlery at all and absolutely nowhere at all to sit! Again! Arrrgh! We went elsewhere for breakfast! Worst ever experience ever stay in a hotel! Avoid! Complained to Deputy Manager and was told that quote "in his 6 years of working there he had never experienced this music and noise!" That is not what I was told by reception the same night, it has happened before as I have read another review with regards to the same house next door having an all night "event" as reception called it.Deputy Manager gave us a £44 refund as an apology and a "complimentary dinner" should we come again, I advised him I would never use this hotel ever again to have the dinner and I was still unhappy. Horrible experience, worst ever, avoid, especially when you're paying so much money to stay there, very unhappy. Needs to be managed better, may I suggest 2 sittings of breakfasts seeing as the restaurant is too small for what looked like the whole hotel turning up together all at the same time including a bus full of foreign students who were just wandering about and kept bumping into you when we did have breakfast the first day! Appalling! Disgusting and ruined the weekend! We were meant to go to London for a few hours before travelling back to North Wales but as we were both tired, had to stay in bed and I wasn't feeling well due to all this, we couldn't go! Very disappointing!

Room Tip: Avoid! Do not stay to the right side of the hotel when you look at the hotel, next door to this side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2012

The hotel was ok, had Internet which was a bonus. Did not have to pay, like the other hotels I have been to . The hotel is like an American motel, can't really tell it was apart of the best western chain. There was pleasant staff and clean room, not bad compared to other hotels I stay at.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilkins567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2012 via mobile

This place was located off the a41 which took me staight to my meeting in the morning. Hotel looked small in the front but my room was in the garden building. Nice room with free water bottle and tea coffee . Was given a free independent paper on check-in. The breakfast was a good selection , and had poached egg on offer ,

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomasthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed here with friends for their anniversary as they had taken us to pick up our new car from a village nearby. First impression as we pulled up wasn't good we laughed as it looked like flats with no windows to the front. The reception was small staff very friendly. We had booked superior rooms thankfully. Our room was ok but our friends, whose anniversary it was, had dried sick on the carpet and up the valance of the bed. They called reception who sent housekeeping and she offered to change the valance but the carpet would remain the same and our friends were not happy with that. They were offered another room and were told that was ok, but it wasn,t, the head board was broken and on the floor. Third time lucky and a free bottle of wine with our meal and they were finally sorted. There was a wedding going on in the marquee so we were the only ones at dinner, we had the restaurant and waiter to ourselves. The food was very good, we had booked the dinner, bed and breakfast rate which was good value. Surrounding area was very good and you could walk through to the canal and see the barges. We walked to a pub on the canal which served excellent food. Overall we did have a good time as its what you make of it with your friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hemel Hempstead hotels
1.1 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
399 reviews
5.4 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
614 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#7 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
621 reviews
2.5 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#6 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
831 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
#9 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watermill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watermill Hotel

Property: The Watermill Hotel
Address: London Road | Bourne End, Hemel Hempstead HP1 2RJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN The Watermill Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Watermill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermill Hotel, one of the finest modern Hotels in Hemel Hempstead is built around an old flour mill and offers excellent accommodations in Hemel Hempstead with a panoramic view of River Bulbourne threading through the property. Experience a serene, Old World retreat from bustling city life in this picturesque modern hotel. A convenient getaway venue with plenty of spacious free car parking. Watermill also offers wonderful amenities and hospitality for a relaxing stay, with convenient access to the area's tourist, industrial and commercial centres. Our hotel in Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire include 71 tastefully appointed rooms, several with beautiful views of the lush green meadows and the River Bulbourne. A blend of refined luxury and and refreshing tranquility is sure to romance both leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Watermill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Watermill
Hemel Hempstead Best Western
Best Western Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing