We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hemel Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Watermill Hotel
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The Watermill is an inviting hotel situated close to all the town amenities. Notwithstanding the fact that the room was small, it had good features and a pleasant courtyard view. The best hotel feature by far was the lovely dining room overlooking the old Watermill stream which dissects the hotel.

The staff were absolutely lovely and couldnt do enough for me. A great breakfast choice was on offer along with attentive staff. Definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a room oeverlooking the courtyard for the view and quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2012

Lovely location. First impression, large room and all looked hopeful. We asked for quiet, but got one overlooking main road. No a/c and no fan. Poor organisation on a hot night. Needed water in middle of night: notice over (stained and crazed) basin in bathroom advised not to drink from tap. No bottled water in room. Beds not good - Full English Breakfast even worse - all overcooked and dry: coffee undrinkable. This could be a great place to stay IF you choose a good room: ensure there is bottled water and opt for the Continental breakfast. Manager apologetic the following morning, by which time it was too late. They need to get their act together and listen to what their customers need. Yes, we will stay again IF they listen to what we need. Reasonable value if all goes well.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet one, away from main road, and away from noisy (but beautiful) water mill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuffolkSophisticat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel stayed ere for 1 night .only faults was WiFi was terrible ,the dining area breakfast area was far to hot and cramped,no room to move . But the breakfast was excellent...hotel staff was nice and pleasant .bed was huge .would stay ere again

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Extremely basic, not even shampoo. To USA standards, a Motel 6 would be better. I have stayed at numerous Best Western hotels in Europe, but this was extremely disappointing. I am surprised it is still under the Best Western European chain. The bedding is awful! My best advice is to only stay here if you are absolutely desperate.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank jm5445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Stayed for 3 nights whilst training. The Hotel was clean and well maintained. The rooms were comfortable with free wifi. Breakfast was the usual buffet type, ok but not brilliant. Evening meals were a lot better. It was nice to have a pre-meal drink on the decking above a stream. The staff were fiendly and efficient. The drawbacks were, i had to have a smoking room and it selled like the last occupant was a chain smoker. And i was woken at 5 in the morning 2 days by a delvery. The delivery man must have thought if he was awake everybody should be awake.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CumbriaRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment based on your recent stay here at the hotel.

As a response to your comments, please accept my sincere apologies regarding the smoking room that you had been given and the disturbance caused to you with the early morning deliveries. We have spoken to the company in question a revised our delivery schedules to avoid problems like this occurring in the future.

I hope you had a safe and pleasant onward journey. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Thank You,

The Watermill Hotel,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

It is wrong to advertise a restaurant and then close it because of insufficient custom - even on a Sunday night. The Chef should be sacked for being 'too tired' to cook something that was on the menu at 1900 in the evening. And the quality of even a simple burger was appalling.
Restaurant closed because of insufficient people. Took an hour to obtain an indelible burger in the bar. Apologetic receptionist explained that Chef had been 'too tired' to cook it because of events the day before. Wireless Internet worked only spasmodically in the room and was generally slow because of 'problems'. Also difficult to log in.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eldon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed over 2 nights, it was our wedding anniversary. Had a lovely meal Friday night when we arrived and was surprised at how small the restaurant and bar were. Got up Saturday morning for breakfast, there was no room in the restaurant, were ushered to a dirty table, no cups, cutlery there, had to ask for tea and toast, awful service, far too many people there staying for minimum staff to cope with and restaurant far too small with capacity of hotel.
Saturday night was the worst ever! Music blaring from a house next door until at least 5 am next morning, complained to reception 3 times during the night, couldn't sleep at all, could even tell what song was playing even though the windows had to be closed and it was hot in the room!
Reception advised me that there was nothing they could do as the Police wouldn't come out and the Council wouldn't deal either so had to endure this all night, was told we could move to a SMOKING room as this is all that they had as other people had complained and had been moved, had only had about 2 hours sleep and as a result suffered a massive migraine due to this, completely ruined our day out as we had to stay in bed longer than expected, after the music had stopped, went down to breakfast about 9.15am only to find that the restaurant was heaving, there was no food, no plates, no cutlery at all and absolutely nowhere at all to sit! Again! Arrrgh! We went elsewhere for breakfast! Worst ever experience ever stay in a hotel! Avoid! Complained to Deputy Manager and was told that quote "in his 6 years of working there he had never experienced this music and noise!" That is not what I was told by reception the same night, it has happened before as I have read another review with regards to the same house next door having an all night "event" as reception called it.Deputy Manager gave us a £44 refund as an apology and a "complimentary dinner" should we come again, I advised him I would never use this hotel ever again to have the dinner and I was still unhappy. Horrible experience, worst ever, avoid, especially when you're paying so much money to stay there, very unhappy. Needs to be managed better, may I suggest 2 sittings of breakfasts seeing as the restaurant is too small for what looked like the whole hotel turning up together all at the same time including a bus full of foreign students who were just wandering about and kept bumping into you when we did have breakfast the first day! Appalling! Disgusting and ruined the weekend! We were meant to go to London for a few hours before travelling back to North Wales but as we were both tired, had to stay in bed and I wasn't feeling well due to all this, we couldn't go! Very disappointing!

Room Tip: Avoid! Do not stay to the right side of the hotel when you look at the hotel, next door to this side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hemel Hempstead hotels
1.1 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
413 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
748 reviews
2.5 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#7 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
662 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
#9 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
176 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#6 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watermill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watermill Hotel

Address: London Road | Bourne End, Hemel Hempstead HP1 2RJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN The Watermill Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range: £58 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Watermill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermill Hotel, one of the finest modern Hotels in Hemel Hempstead is built around an old flour mill and offers excellent accommodations in Hemel Hempstead with a panoramic view of River Bulbourne threading through the property. Experience a serene, Old World retreat from bustling city life in this picturesque modern hotel. A convenient getaway venue with plenty of spacious free car parking. Watermill also offers wonderful amenities and hospitality for a relaxing stay, with convenient access to the area's tourist, industrial and commercial centres. Our hotel in Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire include 71 tastefully appointed rooms, several with beautiful views of the lush green meadows and the River Bulbourne. A blend of refined luxury and and refreshing tranquility is sure to romance both leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Watermill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Watermill
Hemel Hempstead Best Western
Best Western Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing