We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olympic Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Watermill Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We chose this hotel because the London hotels were charging a small fortune for rooms during the Olympics. The staff were friendly and the room comfortable but a little hot, we needed to have the window open to cool it down a bit so we could sleep. the sound of the water from the watermill running outside helped send me to sleep. Due to having to leave before breakfast was served we asked for room service at 5am which was appreciated. On the morning we had breakfast in the restaurant there was plenty of food to choose from which kept us full all morning.The hotel is probably ready for a re-furb in some areas but for the money it was good. Would stay there again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boot98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watermillhotel, Manager at The Watermill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review based on your recent stay at Best Western the Watermill Hotel.

I am glad to hear that you took advantage of our cheaper Olympic rates. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and I would like to thank you for the positive comments. I shall pass on your comments about the staff on to our team who I know ill be delighted to hear the feedback.

Thank you for staying with us, I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

The Watermill is an inviting hotel situated close to all the town amenities. Notwithstanding the fact that the room was small, it had good features and a pleasant courtyard view. The best hotel feature by far was the lovely dining room overlooking the old Watermill stream which dissects the hotel.

The staff were absolutely lovely and couldnt do enough for me. A great breakfast choice was on offer along with attentive staff. Definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a room oeverlooking the courtyard for the view and quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Lovely location. First impression, large room and all looked hopeful. We asked for quiet, but got one overlooking main road. No a/c and no fan. Poor organisation on a hot night. Needed water in middle of night: notice over (stained and crazed) basin in bathroom advised not to drink from tap. No bottled water in room. Beds not good - Full English Breakfast even worse - all overcooked and dry: coffee undrinkable. This could be a great place to stay IF you choose a good room: ensure there is bottled water and opt for the Continental breakfast. Manager apologetic the following morning, by which time it was too late. They need to get their act together and listen to what their customers need. Yes, we will stay again IF they listen to what we need. Reasonable value if all goes well.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet one, away from main road, and away from noisy (but beautiful) water mill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuffolkSophisticat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel stayed ere for 1 night .only faults was WiFi was terrible ,the dining area breakfast area was far to hot and cramped,no room to move . But the breakfast was excellent...hotel staff was nice and pleasant .bed was huge .would stay ere again

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Extremely basic, not even shampoo. To USA standards, a Motel 6 would be better. I have stayed at numerous Best Western hotels in Europe, but this was extremely disappointing. I am surprised it is still under the Best Western European chain. The bedding is awful! My best advice is to only stay here if you are absolutely desperate.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank jm5445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Stayed for 3 nights whilst training. The Hotel was clean and well maintained. The rooms were comfortable with free wifi. Breakfast was the usual buffet type, ok but not brilliant. Evening meals were a lot better. It was nice to have a pre-meal drink on the decking above a stream. The staff were fiendly and efficient. The drawbacks were, i had to have a smoking room and it selled like the last occupant was a chain smoker. And i was woken at 5 in the morning 2 days by a delvery. The delivery man must have thought if he was awake everybody should be awake.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CumbriaRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment based on your recent stay here at the hotel.

As a response to your comments, please accept my sincere apologies regarding the smoking room that you had been given and the disturbance caused to you with the early morning deliveries. We have spoken to the company in question a revised our delivery schedules to avoid problems like this occurring in the future.

I hope you had a safe and pleasant onward journey. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Thank You,

The Watermill Hotel,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

It is wrong to advertise a restaurant and then close it because of insufficient custom - even on a Sunday night. The Chef should be sacked for being 'too tired' to cook something that was on the menu at 1900 in the evening. And the quality of even a simple burger was appalling.
Restaurant closed because of insufficient people. Took an hour to obtain an indelible burger in the bar. Apologetic receptionist explained that Chef had been 'too tired' to cook it because of events the day before. Wireless Internet worked only spasmodically in the room and was generally slow because of 'problems'. Also difficult to log in.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eldon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
5.4 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redbourn
668 reviews
2.5 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Hemel Hempstead
886 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway
1.1 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 9 in Hemel Hempstead
420 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watermill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watermill Hotel

Address: London Road | Bourne End, Hemel Hempstead HP1 2RJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN The Watermill Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range: £58 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Watermill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermill Hotel, one of the finest modern Hotels in Hemel Hempstead is built around an old flour mill and offers excellent accommodations in Hemel Hempstead with a panoramic view of River Bulbourne threading through the property. Experience a serene, Old World retreat from bustling city life in this picturesque modern hotel. A convenient getaway venue with plenty of spacious free car parking. Watermill also offers wonderful amenities and hospitality for a relaxing stay, with convenient access to the area's tourist, industrial and commercial centres. Our hotel in Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire include 71 tastefully appointed rooms, several with beautiful views of the lush green meadows and the River Bulbourne. A blend of refined luxury and and refreshing tranquility is sure to romance both leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Watermill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Watermill
Hemel Hempstead Best Western
Best Western Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing