We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and chilled”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Watermill Hotel
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Spent a working week here. Not a bad night's kip but mostly pretty basic. Very noisy, most probably because of the emergency road works for three nights due to snow but even without that you could hear alot during the night. Luckily the bar was relatively cheap and with 2 pubs over the road, sleep came easily enough. The walls are pretty thin, the windows in the room i stayed in seemed to be cheap single glazed and being that it was snowing, the room got pretty cold -- high heating sorted that out for the most part.

Staff where ace -- seemingly foregin exchange students and they were cool. Always willing to help and good banter when behinf the bar.

Food was standard -- nothing special.


All in all, good value and fun times if a little basic.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kahlimist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watermillhotel, Manager at The Watermill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Dear Kahlimist,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our Hotel. I am glad to hear that the members of staff you saw were helpful and entertaining during your visit.

Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience and disturbance you experienced. The emergency road works were an urgent issue in which the council had to address, and of course the noise and disruption was something the hotel did not want however this was something which was unavoidable and beyond the hotel’s control.

We are glad you choose to stay with us during your week’s stay. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank You,
Manish Patel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
There are newer reviews for The Watermill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2013

friend had a wedding reception here, and a few friends decided to book a room as it went on till quite late,the hotel itself was ok very pretty gardens and water feature,rooms were clean but not hotel standard, was more like a motel setting from the front from reception had to walk ot up some sheltered concrete stairs outside to get to room. ok for a one night stay but would not book for anylonger then that.

Room Tip: ok for a one night stay if passing through. try and get rooms that are inside rather then the motel...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H_KARIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watermillhotel, Manager at The Watermill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

The hotel is built from an old flour Mill, the building you did stay in is a motel style building, something of which has been here since the time the site was converted from a Historical flour mill to hotel.

I am sorry to hear that you felt your hotel room was not cleaned to a Hotel standard, its feedback from guest like yourself which lets us know what we can do to improve our standards. Although we always try our up most to provide the very best service and standards, on this occasion I have past your feedback to our housekeeping departments, who have taken your comments on board.
Once again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Watermill Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

stey here quite a few times throughout the year, never been dissapointed to be honest. the staff are always happy to help, rooms are nice and if a best western member and you get an upgrade the rooms are bigger and better! food is ok and is reasonably priced for the area. breakfast can be rushed at busy periods, but thats about it! also got sky sports in teh bar area for match nights!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watermillhotel, Manager at The Watermill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at The Watermill.
I am very pleased you liked the room and enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank You,
Manish Patel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Stayed here with may family. As we came down for our sons birthday and took him to the Harry potter studio. Surprised as the hotel was very close we already it was not too far when we checked online , but was very handy off the a41 and straight to the studios. Nice hotel, the staff were very good, and as we had come back early from the studio we took advantage of the hotel's discount in there restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for discount for Harry potter studios, as this hotel gave us a special offer as we were visit g...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I stayed here for a wedding that was happening in Burkhamsted the following morning. The staff were friendly, rooms were basically furnished but clean. The showers were good and the bed comfortable. My favourite thing about this hotel is that you look out of your window right down onto a stream that runs right past it. The sound is quite calming as you sleep. The breakfast was one of the best I have had at a hotel of this price.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank IslandTripper2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for the first time and when I went into the reception the staff was so helpful. The restaurant was very good the food was fantastic and the waitress was very polite. When I went to my room I could not believe I eyes the size of the bed you could of go a family of 4 in it . It was the best nights sleep I have had in a hotel. And I will be staying there again for sure

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pikey1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Came to this hotel after seeing Facebook with the hotel advertising afternoon tea. So we called them and booked for 6 of us. Was outstanding service, with a very special feel. They really impressed us with what they had on offer.

Room Tip: Go for the luxury tea
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hemel Hempstead hotels
1.1 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
411 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
746 reviews
2.5 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#7 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#6 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
634 reviews
5.4 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
649 reviews
3.6 mi away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gatew...
#5 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watermill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watermill Hotel

Address: London Road | Bourne End, Hemel Hempstead HP1 2RJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN The Watermill Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range: £57 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Watermill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermill Hotel, one of the finest modern Hotels in Hemel Hempstead is built around an old flour mill and offers excellent accommodations in Hemel Hempstead with a panoramic view of River Bulbourne threading through the property. Experience a serene, Old World retreat from bustling city life in this picturesque modern hotel. A convenient getaway venue with plenty of spacious free car parking. Watermill also offers wonderful amenities and hospitality for a relaxing stay, with convenient access to the area's tourist, industrial and commercial centres. Our hotel in Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire include 71 tastefully appointed rooms, several with beautiful views of the lush green meadows and the River Bulbourne. A blend of refined luxury and and refreshing tranquility is sure to romance both leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Watermill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Watermill
Hemel Hempstead Best Western
Best Western Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing