We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Watermill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Watermill Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Another enjoyable stay at The Watermill, would highly recommend this hotel to any one requiring a stay in this area. Close to London and motorway links to the rest of the United Kingdom and London's Airports.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

The hotel provided suitable accommodation at a good price for my visit down south. The staff were all very friendly and the meals were good value and very tasty. A minor criticism would be that there is not enough tables to eat comfortably at in the bar area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Overall a reasonably priced room for this location. Extremely helpful and efficient staff. Breakfast is very unsatisfactory though. Cramped dining area and poor quality ingredients makes this the only drawback.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Enjoyed a lovely afternoon tea here with family. We had a groupon voucher so was actually not expecting it to be that great. How wrong was I?! Lovely display of sandwiches, cakes and scones (which were warm and absolutely delicious) and never ending tea and coffee. We will definitely return and even at full price £9.95 it is excellent value for money.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Trulymadlyradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We were staying in this hotel for a DBB basis after visiting famil. We found the receptionist a bit rude in that hardly spoke! We weren't asked if we wanted an early morning call or a paper or to book a table for dinner. I eventually asked whether we needed to book and he just looked at me blankly.

Our room was nice, a huge bed (albeit 2 singles pushed together). The only problem was that it was freezing. We tried to ring reception - no answer. We went to reception only to be told that they couldn't afford the heating so it will not be switched on until 4.00 pm (it was on a timer). Reception was like an oven! - so we went for a drive in a nice warm car. Fortunatly when we arrived back the room was nice and warm.

I went to run a bath later and the water was cold - again we rang reception. He said that we had to run the water for 10 minutes then it would become hot - what a waste of water - there were no fluffy towels either.

Dinner was good however, even though we were the only ones in the restaurant - all the tables were set for breakfast except ours. The waitress was very sweet and attentive and food and service was excellent.

Tried to have a shower in the moning but again the water was cold and we didn't have time to wait for it to warm up. Breakfast was okay, although weren't told that we had to order our eggs first. Plates were cold.

For what we paid it was okay but I don't think that we would stay here again. The grounds were nice and would probably be lovely in the summer or a great setting for a wedding.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I bought a Groupon voucher for a friends birthday treat and booked . On arrival the receptionist straight away informed us that the voucher was not valid on Saturdays. I felt sure I had read the small print and asked to read it again. It clearly stated valid Monday to Saturdays. After a dispute I asked to speak to the Manager who the receptionist informed me it was him.- We refused to pay the additional cost and went through to the room serving the tea. The hotel hasn't been updated since I last visited 20 years ago. However for as the tea it was a fair selection of sandwiches, scones and cake and we enjoyed sitting and chatting would have been nice not to have had the confrontation on arrival.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hemel Hempstead hotels
2.5 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hemel Hempstead
926 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel
1.1 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 9 in Hemel Hempstead
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
#8 of 9 in Hemel Hempstead
189 reviews
2 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watermill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watermill Hotel

Address: London Road | Bourne End, Hemel Hempstead HP1 2RJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN The Watermill Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range: £64 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Watermill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermill Hotel, one of the finest modern Hotels in Hemel Hempstead is built around an old flour mill and offers excellent accommodations in Hemel Hempstead with a panoramic view of River Bulbourne threading through the property. Experience a serene, Old World retreat from bustling city life in this picturesque modern hotel. A convenient getaway venue with plenty of spacious free car parking. Watermill also offers wonderful amenities and hospitality for a relaxing stay, with convenient access to the area's tourist, industrial and commercial centres. Our hotel in Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire include 71 tastefully appointed rooms, several with beautiful views of the lush green meadows and the River Bulbourne. A blend of refined luxury and and refreshing tranquility is sure to romance both leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Watermill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Watermill
Hemel Hempstead Best Western
Best Western Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing