We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Watermill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Watermill Hotel
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
2 reviews
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2015 via mobile

Last year I had my wedding reception at The Watermill and for our anniversary we were booked in by my mother for the night, we arrived early and were told our room was ready if we wished to check in, there was a wedding party in rhe bar area but the receptionist offered to set a table up or even open the restaurant if we wanted food which was a lovely gesture, we chose to sit outside where the receptionist took our food order and bought us drinks, food was beautiful and hot well worth the money.

Our room was clean, comfortable and even though it was adjacent to where the wedding was raking place we heard nothing ! Lovely.

For our dinner we ate in the restaurant where a table had been reserved for us and complimentary champagne to celebrate, the food again was wonderful (we chose the 3 course set meal) and the staff were attentive and very good at making us feel welcome.

Overall I cannot fault the hotel, it's staff or the prices, me and my husband will be returning again next year if not sooner.

Most relaxing evening I have had in a hotel !

Stayed May 2015, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mckenzie2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    106
    102
    47
    57
See reviews for
65
81
19
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2015

Due to my work I spend more time in hotels than I do at home

I am now approaching my second year staying at the Watermill

The property is very nice
The rooms are well equipped
Some rooms are larger than others
The hotel has adequate wifi throughout

Some rooms have Air Con, so if your planning a summer stay here that could be a bonus

Harry potter world is only 10mins away by car and I have been told, if you are a fan of the films its a brilliant day out.

The food is of a good quality and the menu is large and varied, I especially like the piri piri chicken with rice! mmmmmmmm

The hotel sits on the edge of a canal and has a water way running through the property

It is a joy to sit on the wooden decked area, listening to the water and watching the ducks and swans whilst enjoying a drink.

What makes this location excellent is the friendliness of the staff
They really do try hard to make you feel comfortable
There are many hotels where the staff do not care about the paying customer

Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone whom finds themselves in need of a hotel in this part of the world

Well done Watermill, you are doing things right

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms at the front of the building as they are a little larger than the rest
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2015 via mobile

Wedding food was lovely and all dietary requirements catered for.
Lovely big room which was very clean. Massive bed which was good as I good lose hubby for a while lol
Would definitely recommend the hotel and use it again. Thanks to all the staff who made our stay very pleasant. ..even remembering my name on arrival after telephone conversations

Stayed May 2015, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2015

Rooms slightly dated but staff very friendly and having a room overlooking water and the churning of the mill made for a peaceful stay. Special mention to the pub over the road which served amazing food too.

  • Stayed May 2015, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2015

We stayed here 24/04/2015 we were staying here here for a wedding & recption.
On arrival our room was ready long before we were meant to check in which was great as I was doing the brides / brides mothers hair so needed the room early to get ready .
Hotel is really beautiful nothing was to much trouble for the staff really polite & friendly. We had a family room that was extremely spacious, clean with plenty of coffee / tea & biscuits available .
Lovely warm conservatory to relax in & beautiful decking area to enjoy a drink
Would defiantly stay here for another weekend and during the summer months which I'm sure be even better .
Well done overall a very comfortable stay :-)

  • Stayed April 2015, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Showgirlissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2015 via mobile

Rooms are comfortable and clean but restaurant leaves a lot to be desired. We had a party of 12 at dinner everybody was served at different times and after waiting 1 hour and 10 minutes for a pizza I cancelled the order I was told they were busy, strange as there was only 2 other couples in at the same time as us.

Stayed April 2015, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hemel Hempstead hotels

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2015

Stayed for 2 nights. Location was good-approx 2 miles to train station and 25mins to Euston. Nice pub directly across the road. Front of hotel looked like an army barracks when we pulled up but reception / bar area was pleasant and superior room was very spacious , comfortable and well appointed. Very friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hemel Hempstead hotels
1.1 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West...
#6 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
2.5 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#3 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Cent...
#4 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
5.4 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watermill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watermill Hotel

Property: The Watermill Hotel
Address: London Road | Bourne End, Hemel Hempstead HP1 2RJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN The Watermill Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Watermill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermill Hotel, one of the finest modern Hotels in Hemel Hempstead is built around an old flour mill and offers excellent accommodations in Hemel Hempstead with a panoramic view of River Bulbourne threading through the property. Experience a serene, Old World retreat from bustling city life in this picturesque modern hotel. A convenient getaway venue with plenty of spacious free car parking. Watermill also offers wonderful amenities and hospitality for a relaxing stay, with convenient access to the area's tourist, industrial and commercial centres. Our hotel in Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire include 71 tastefully appointed rooms, several with beautiful views of the lush green meadows and the River Bulbourne. A blend of refined luxury and and refreshing tranquility is sure to romance both leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your The Watermill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Watermill
Hemel Hempstead Best Western
Best Western Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing