We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night out in Hemel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We stayed here on Saturday night with 7 other couples to celebrate our friend's birthday.

Check in was very easy and our room was comfortable and clean, although the bath room was a bit dated. Beds comfortable and very freshly laundered bedclothes with a choice of pillows!

Dinner was fine with a choice of the carvery or from the menu. Breakfast was great with a good choice from a hot buffet and the ususal fuit, cereal and bakery items.

The staff, particularly the Restaurant Manager, were very helpful. He took our order for dinner in the bar ahead of our booking to avoid lengthy delays at the table. It seemed that nothing was too much trouble, even reserving an area near the bar for us to have a drink after dinner.

Overall, good stay and fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gninja12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

Many thanks for your review, I am delighted that you had a great stay and will pass your comments onto my team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

593 - 599 of 659 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2011

Had my wedding here this weekend - firstly would highly recommend events orgainser Zoe who was fantastic and a great help to us all the way through. Event rooms were spacious and we were able to decorate them how we wanted. Catering was very good (buffet) and the bar staff were excellent and very helpful.

Accomodation was fine - exactly what you'd exepct from a Holiday Inn, and all our guests who stayed over were very happy as well.

Hotel is a little bit tired but then it does get a lot of use as it's in a good location.

Would recommend to anyone looking for a self contained wedding venue handy for guests coming from the north via the M1 and London.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felix22B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

Thank you for your great comments regarding your wedding. I am pleased that my team were able to look after you so well. I have passed you comments onto the team and Zoe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Very cheap room rates and great location. However the corridor to the room was smelly and the carpet heavily stained. Made me assess the cleanliness of the rest of it. A lot of the old "brass" fixtures and fittings like the door plates and plug sockets were very smeared and scratched. The bathroom fittings were ancient. And the door frames were dusty and unclean. Place needs an update. The bed linen was very clean though. The mattress was very soft. And the spa/swimming pool wasn't exactly luxurious but for the price you wouldn't expect it to be. Check in staff were great, check out staff badly trained and didn't seem to know what they were doing - took over ten minutes to sort out a simple bill (just room rate, I hadn't bought any minibar/room service).

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tan0rexic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

Thank you for your comments. To ensure we improve our standards it is vital that we receive feedback, thank you for taking time to do this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

My review is based on two night stay in a Standard Twin Bedroom.

The locality of this property is excellent, just a mile from the M1 Motorway.
Staff were friendly and check in was efficient.

The room was a nice size and complimented by a new Flatscreen TV and a handy mini-bar.

Air-conditioning in the room was a nightmare, we were in the middle of a heatwave but it was not possible to have cool air. The lowest temperature setting was defaulted to 18 degrees making the unit redundant.

As I walked into the bathroom I was transported back 20 years and found myself in a Forte Posthouse Hotel. The chrome on the taps has worn away, the bath has seen better days and the wall tiles were fitted in the 90's or earlier (see my picture).

Based on recent stays in other UK Holiday Inn's I would rate Hemel Hempsted as below average, but that is based on the bedroom decor, not the customer service which was excellent.

There is a 24-hour BP Petrol Station next door with a Marks & Spencer food shop.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucky_Oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

This Holiday Inn is just off M1 and very easy to find from the motorway. Reception was quick and friendly and there is plenty of parking that is free. The rooms are a very good size and surprisingly quiet - you would not know that the hotel is right on a dual carriageway. The windows in the room open and the en-suite is also a good size. The breakfast buffet was OK. The best thing about this hotel was the price - the room rate when booked online was very good and we bought vouchers at reception that reduced the cost of breakfast. A standard Holiday Inn with good rooms, very clean and convenient for the M1 outside London.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Retmanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Very easy to find off the M1 or M25, very nice staff, rooms are fine and prices are good. What more do you want.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSG01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Stayed at this hotel on Friday night and it was very good. Very well situated of the motorway and the facilities were very good. Whilst we were there we had something to eat and the food was lovely, very good indeed. The only negative if I had a negative would be my friend and I didnt appreciate being woken at 8.30a, by the maid coming to clean the room!!!!! We had the room until 12 midday so really didnt appreciate this, but apart from that its great value for money and very clean. Just remember to put your 'do not disturb' on your door!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barnie107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
6.9 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,336 reviews
2.6 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Hemel Hempstead
901 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redbourn
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8

Address: Breakspear Way, Hemel Hempstead HP2 4UA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#5 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range: £58 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8 is in the perfect location for business and leisure guests. The hotel is easily accessible from M1 & M25 motorways and just 1 mile from The Snow Centre, 8 miles from Luton Airport, 21 miles from Heathrow Airport 19 miles from Wembley Stadium. Getting into London is easy as the hotel is just 10 minutes from Hemel train station with direct services into London Euston. Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead combines an excellent range of facilities with 144 air-conditioned bedrooms, including 19 Executive Rooms along with family and accessible rooms. The hotel also offers a Spirit Health Club with indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, fitness gym and health and beauty products & treatments. The hotel has conference and banqueting facilities that are a perfect venue for any occasion. These rooms all feature natural daylight, high speed internet connections and Starbucks Coffee. The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead offers 3 dining options; Traders restaurant, Lounge Bar and 24 hour room service. Here at Hemel Hempstead, we are proud to welcome families so why not take advantage of our Kids Stay & Eat Free offer! The hotel is just 11 miles from Whipsnade Zoo, 27 miles from Woburn Safari Park and just 1 mile from the Snow Centre. A perfect way to keep those little ones amused! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead m1 j8 Hotel Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing