We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for trips to London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel for trips to London”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

This hotel is perfect if you are planning a trip to London but don't want to pay city centre prices! It is very clean (pristine in fact and I have VERY high standards!), very comfortable and lovely and quiet. I've read a review on here about the reception staff not being very welcoming...not sure who was on for that person, but the ladies that were on reception when my husband and I stayed were lovely, very helpful, very welcoming and very efficient. We didn;t actually eat here, as it was just a one night stop over, so I can't comment on the food, but it is a lovely hotel. The take-away coffee on departure in the morning is a lovely thing to offer. All in all, really nice hotel, we enjoyed our stay. I think this is the only chain hotel I've stayed in where the duvet was actually luxuriously large on the bed so that you could snuggle in it and get wrapped up! For me that was a massive plus as I am usually quite cold at night. Also, heat can be regulated in the room which is also a plus point. Shower was fantastic too!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiffytastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Many thanks for your lovely review, we really appreciate you taking the time to put your enjoyable stay in writing. I will pass on your kind comments regarding my team, they will be delighted that you had a great time!

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    242
    86
    30
    24
See reviews for
209
113
26
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Midlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Stayed here overnight while on business in London, its in a very quiet location near to the M1. The staff on reception were not very welcoming, the room was OK but basic, bar prices inflated and the breakfast morning after was average. There is nothing to do at this hotel other than watch TV or read the newspaper. For the price paid would definitely not return having stayed in other budget hotels and got much more value for money, its a very expensive place to rest your head!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
I am sorry that you felt that we did not come up to your expectations. If you would like to discuss this directly with myself or my Operations Manger, Russell Phillips, we would be happy to go through the points that you have raised.

Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed in this hotel as part of a coach trip to London. Room was nice & clean.Bed extremely comfortable. Quiet and peaceful at night. This hotel is ideal if you dont want to spend too much time in your hotel. Breakfast is self service and good selection available, however fried food not very tasty. Dinner again is average. Service is very quick but food not very tasty. Deserts were nice and a good choice available. Starter and desert were self service. Main course was a carvery and helpings were quite small. However, as our trip was mainly concentrated on sight seeing around London and not on fancy food, this hotel was adequate for our needs.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cavanlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Thank you for writing such a great review. We really appreciate your feedback. I have taken note of your points regarding food during your stay.

I hope that we can welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2012

My wife and I stayed here 1 night.

The cons: room was a little chilly with no way to warm it up as the heating/cooling is automatic based on the season of the year.

Bathroom furniture a little dated and there was no obvious way to get the shower to work. It has 2 rotary dials which did nothing at all, so had a bath instead.

The pros: excellent bed great nights sleep. Room was of a good size. The meals we had ie dinner and breakfast were first class well cooked and large helpings. The staff were all very polite and efficient, and one staff member not using the cash machine in the hotel which charges 1.75 for a transaction, but suggested crossing the road to the garage opposite and using their's which was free.

One surprise was a 1 pound service charge on two glasses of wine purchased from the bar to have with our dinner, something we had not encountered before.

Overall a well earned 4 stars

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank havingpassedthrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Thank you for writing such a great review! I will pass on your comments to the team, they really appreciate it when guests compliment their hard work.

I have also taken note about the heating.

I hope that we can welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2012

This hotel is a money trap offering little value for guests. Where do I start:
- The room was very basic barely a 2 star hotel room even though they rate themselves as 3 stars. Nothing about it was comfortable and inviting, from the tiny beds, to old and worn furnishings, to the laughable bathrooms. I didn't sleep well there at all
- It was a non-smoking room but as soon as you open the door your blown away with the smell of smoke, phew
- The room prices were astonishingly high at well over 100 quid before VAT, even with a corporate rate. For this price I would expect a bunch of extras, think again
- The internet speed and quality was good, but at astonishingly high rate 30 pounds for 3 days of service, just do your own mobile broadband instead
- A free breakfast would be nice right? Think again for 15 pounds you can get a basic meal, poor value
- The staff was friendly up to a point, but because the hotel is a bit of a rat race with people constantly coming and going and they do not enough staff to go around. They're nice but don't expect too many favors (got many of the "do I have to looks?" when I asked for things).

I don't know the local area well, but this must be one of the better places to stay and they know it (scary) charging big city prices for a below average product. This was a very below grade Holiday Inn experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelKing H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay. You have mentioned quite a few areas, so if you would like to contact either myself or Russell Phillips my Operations Manager to discuss, we would be pleased to go through each point with you.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed here for one night with our 11 year old daughter the staff were very helpful and friendly. Room was clean and well equipped would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoHoots9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review.

I hope that we can welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
148 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Stayed here for two nights with our two children.All staff we came across were lovely and helpful .Nice room , very comfortable a quite good nights sleep. We all went into the pool and sauna.Breakfast was nice with plenty of choice.Our stay here was booked for the convience of the Harry Potter studio tour which we all enjoyed.we hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathrynills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
2.6 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Cent...
#3 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
3.1 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8

Property: Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Address: Breakspear Way, Hemel Hempstead HP2 4UA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#3 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#5 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8 is in the perfect location for business and leisure guests. The hotel is easily accessible from M1 & M25 motorways and just 1 mile from The Snow Centre, 8 miles from Luton Airport, 21 miles from Heathrow Airport 19 miles from Wembley Stadium. Getting into London is easy as the hotel is just 10 minutes from Hemel train station with direct services into London Euston. Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead combines an excellent range of facilities with 144 air-conditioned bedrooms, including 19 Executive Rooms along with family and accessible rooms. The hotel also offers a Spirit Health Club with indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, fitness gym and health and beauty products & treatments. The hotel has conference and banqueting facilities that are a perfect venue for any occasion. These rooms all feature natural daylight, high speed internet connections and Starbucks Coffee. The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead offers 3 dining options; Traders restaurant, Lounge Bar and 24 hour room service. Here at Hemel Hempstead, we are proud to welcome families so why not take advantage of our Kids Stay & Eat Free offer! The hotel is just 11 miles from Whipsnade Zoo, 27 miles from Woburn Safari Park and just 1 mile from the Snow Centre. A perfect way to keep those little ones amused! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead m1 j8 Hotel Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing