We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Reviewed 1 October 2012

My husband, special needs son and I stayed 1 night as part of an organised 'all inclusive' group.
We were met on the coach by Lazarus who was very courteous and extremely efficient, as were all the staff we encountered on entering the hotel and making our way to our room. He personally handed out our room keys while we were still on the coach and made us feel very welcome. Our meal was excellent and one of the best carvery meals we have had and all the dining room staff at breakfast and dinner were, again efficient, friendly and courteous. Sometimes on these 'all inclusive' coach packages we have been made to feel very much the 'poor relation' herded into a corner of the dining area so as not to annoy the PROPER guests! This was not the the case here. EXCELLENT ALL ROUND!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heathersee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Many thanks for your comments, especially regarding my team. We believe all guests are "proper" guest!

Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

538 - 544 of 660 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2012

The staff are very attentive and the food is excellent. We only stayed one night but would definately recommend this hotel. The pool was lovely with the best hot tub. Only thing I would say is make sure you dont adjoin the bridal suite!!

Room Tip: upgrade to deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Thank you for your great reivew. I look forward to sharing your comments with my team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We tried for an early check in but they were busy so arrived back at hotel late, however staff had done all needed and it was a swift key collection and away to standard room. On checking I found that the use of Trivago to check the price has meant we were an agency booking, which I did not want. Must remember to get the iata number taken off next time.Breakfast was not a great sensation as all self service including tea and coffee from thermos flasks , cool was the word not good for a hot drink!No black pudding and on the second day cold fried eggs.Next moan, smokers huddling in the front doorway so you had to face the fug to get into the hotel, Maybe they could arrange a gazebo nearby as there is plenty of room in the gardens.Next there were problems with the room. No bulb in bathroom,the door chain was replaced and then did not fit, the window did not close due to something obstructing the bottom of the window
So maintenance was poor.Pluses pool and all staff were fine parking good
However we come to a major problem. The staff at the hotel were aware that the power was to be turned off on Sunday morning.there was a small sign on the front desk on the Sunday Morning and no signs on the lifts or any information in the rooms . No one knew except for the front desk staff and this could have been a major problem if someone was not advies and was in the lift. This to my mind was very poor and reduced the rating for the hotel

    • Value
    • Service
Thank rdwooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Due to the points that you have raised in your review either myself or my Operations Manager would like the chance to speak to you regarding your comments. I look forward to speaking to you at your convenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 4 days in September as I was working in the area. Checking in was a breeze. Nice big room. Quiet location. I had a room close to the gym but experienced no noise from there. Nice pool and sauna. Food was very good in the bar area. 5min cab ride to the town. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnlySimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

We really appreciate you taking the time to write such positive comments, come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I spent 3 nights at this hotel due to a business trip to Hemel. Me and some of my colleagues chose this hotel as it is very close to our offices.

I arrived in the afternoon and got an standard room in the first floor. When I arrived I was shocked to see how dirty was the room. Stains in the toilet, the bathtub full of sand, the window frames very dirty and big spider on it. I went to reception and asked them politely to change me to another room or clean it immediately. The staff put bad face and told me they would send somebody to check. I went out of the hotel for 4 hours and when I came back to my surprise nothing had been done. Again I went to reception and same story. As room was not cleaned I had to take soap and one towel and clean by myself. Being in many hotels in my life I never experienced this, and this is totally improper by a so called 4 star hotel belonging to an international chain. Being also a Priority Club Gold member I expect to be treated better than this (even I had to contact Priority Club to add the points to my account as the staff did not do this task even that i provided my number).

I understand the room may have not been used for long time and somebody forgot to clean and to check, but once one customer complains about extreme dirtiness in the room the problem must be fixed immediately!

I used the swimming pool once. The installations are fine but quite dated. Being a health club, there are many non-guests using them, so they are usually crowded.

Breakfast is below average to what I have experienced at other Holiday Inn hotels.

Hotel has free parking outside of the building. There is no free wifi at the hotel, although this is normal at Holiday Inn.

Overall, a bad experience due to negligent staff. Now I understand why some colleagues who had been here prefer to stay at other hotels even that they are further to the office. It is quite unlikely I will stay there on my next business trip to Hemel.

Room Tip: avoid the standard rooms and check that they are clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveller_spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

I am very sorry that you had such a poor experience, please contact either myself or Russell Phillips to discuss further, many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for one night (1st September 2012) whilst on a National Holidays weekend trip. We were met on the coach on arrival by the Hotel manager by the name of Lazarus. He was far and away the most efficient and courteous manager we've ever encountered. He issued all the passengers with their key card for their room on the coach thus avoiding the inevitable queuing at the reception desk. All the staff we encountered were very polite and helpful when needed. The food was excellent,well prepared and cooked and there was a very good choice of meal options.
We highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tquietman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Many thanks for your great comments, Lazarus and the rest of the team will be delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We recently stayed here on a 2 day National Holiday break to the Harry Potter Studios and London tour. The hotel is perfectly situated for this trip.Checking in was done on the bus by Lorenzo i think, sorry if i got your name wrong who was very pleasant, infact all the staff were very nice and helpful.The room was clean and comfortable, food was excellent for evening meal and breakfast just one little dig at the evening meal was that the hot meal was a Tex Mex buffet and a couple of people dont like spicy food but i enjoyed it.I would definately stay here again and recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wezer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Thank you for your comments, especially regarding my team, they will be very pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
6.9 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,336 reviews
2.6 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Hemel Hempstead
901 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redbourn
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8

Address: Breakspear Way, Hemel Hempstead HP2 4UA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#5 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range: £58 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8 is in the perfect location for business and leisure guests. The hotel is easily accessible from M1 & M25 motorways and just 1 mile from The Snow Centre, 8 miles from Luton Airport, 21 miles from Heathrow Airport 19 miles from Wembley Stadium. Getting into London is easy as the hotel is just 10 minutes from Hemel train station with direct services into London Euston. Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead combines an excellent range of facilities with 144 air-conditioned bedrooms, including 19 Executive Rooms along with family and accessible rooms. The hotel also offers a Spirit Health Club with indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, fitness gym and health and beauty products & treatments. The hotel has conference and banqueting facilities that are a perfect venue for any occasion. These rooms all feature natural daylight, high speed internet connections and Starbucks Coffee. The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead offers 3 dining options; Traders restaurant, Lounge Bar and 24 hour room service. Here at Hemel Hempstead, we are proud to welcome families so why not take advantage of our Kids Stay & Eat Free offer! The hotel is just 11 miles from Whipsnade Zoo, 27 miles from Woburn Safari Park and just 1 mile from the Snow Centre. A perfect way to keep those little ones amused! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead m1 j8 Hotel Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing