We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good holiday inn. Great for business stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A very good holiday inn. Great for business stay”
Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

This is a great holiday inn and I have stayed in many many of them. Really clean, quiet, loads of parking, good wifi and a really nice little gym, sauna and pool. It's a big hotel and feels nice and airy - didn't eat dinner here but did breakfast. The best thing about this hotel - the tumblers for the orange juice hold at least 300ml of juice. One of my pet hates is hotels with little tumblers which holds a swig or two. Genius. Breakfast staff were nice and chatty.

Location is great too - very close to the m1 but you won't hear it. Top tip - when you leave the car park turn right then drive down the lane then go left and it brings you to a roundabout on the junction for the motorway otherwise you will have to drive down into Aylesbury and come back on yourself to get to the motorway which takes 5 mins or worse in traffic.

Good value for money.

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on our hotel. I will share your comments with my team and they will really appreciate what you have said, many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    246
    91
    33
    25
See reviews for
215
119
26
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel for the purpose of visiting the Warner Bros. studios, Harry Potter. It was ideally located, only 10 mins down the road. The lobby, bar area and restaurant were all modern and very clean and tidy. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful, we were even able to check into our room an hour early. The room itself was ok, modern ish but the bathroom let it down. Very dated and the bath was a bit grubby. The shower was excellent, very powerful! Kids were happy with the Tele, lots of channels to choose from. Breakfast was great! Lots of choice, I would recommend that you get down early as it does get busy and you might end up waiting for hot food. Hemel Hempstead train station is only a short distance away and the trains ran regularly into Euston, London. Overall we were pleased, we didn't pay a lot of money so we didn't expect the Ritz. We slept like babies and got fed like kings, what more can you ask for?!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheshirenat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Thanks for your great review! Like yourselves, we are finding the location to Harry Potter Studios being only 10 minutes away, very convenient for our guests.

Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I usally stay here when visiting my daughter in Hemmel, and chose to stay again for 3 nights this trip, The rooms are getting a little worn now especially if you are paying £110 (this was a discounted rate for booking in advance)up to £185 per night.
I saw evidence of refurbishment going on so this can only be good for the Hotel, they have always been very accomodating and not least on this trip where we asked if we could have our 8 month old grandson over to stay in our room for one evening, staff provided a cot for us which was spotlessley clean, they also left us extra towels and bedding - which I thought was a very nice touch.
Breakfast as always is very good with lots of choice to suit everyone.
I left some clothes by mistake in the wardrobe, and on telephoning the hotel they were only too happy to post them on to me, but as my daughter lives close by she picked them up,
On the whole another very pleasent trip to this hotel which I will be using again soon

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katieV8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Staff at the hotel couldn't have been friendlier, chatting at breakfast and at the bar. This is unusual in a value chain hotel and it made our weekend feel like a holiday! Children were welcomed- from drinks and popcorn in the foyer to free evening meals it's great for families. We already plan to return in the Spring.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c_aRipon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thanks for your great comments, especially regarding the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the Spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoney Stanton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Stayed at the hotel this weekend due to close proximity to Warner Bros Harry Potter Studio Tour.

Arrived at around 5.30pm and the reception staff were very friendly offering my husband and I a free glass of wine (we are Priority Club members) and my son some popcorn.

We were in room 212 and it was fine, plenty big enough for the 3 of us. The rooms were very quiet other than the young kids whose parents were happy for them running up and down the corridor until after 10.00pm.

My husband was very happy that they were showing the football in the bar so he settled in there whilst we chilled out for a while. We didn't use the health club facilities but will try to do so if we stay there again.

The drinks in the bar were above average prices as you would expect, a large wine being just over £7.

We ate in the hotel restaurant and whilst the food was good quality there wasn't a huge choice. There was a bar snack menu as well with more standard fare on there. They were also serving a carvery which was good value (£15.95 for 3 courses, kids for half price).

The breakfast was a real treat, we were very impressed with the food on offer. All of it was good quality, hot and plenty of it. Set us up for the day before hitting the studios.

All in all we couldn't fault the hotel and would definitely return and recommend to others. We got a deal for £50 B&B, an absolute bargain.

Good job Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
It was lovely to read another great review, many thanks for taking the time to do this. It sounds like we offered everything you were looking for, the team will be delighted that you had such a great time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holstencat
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We booked this as close to the Harry Potter experience and handy for the M1.
Great room - 104 - me and my two boys, plenty of space and very quiet.
Pool was excellent, staff helpful, and around a 15 min drive to the Harry Potter experience.
We stayed two nights, tours for the HP use this hotel and breakfast can be busy, second day breakfast was much quieter and easy going.
Overall would highly recommend this hotel, easy to get the train into London as well, ten min drive to Hemel train station and half hour to Euston.

Room Tip: 104 was a good size for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holstencat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. I'm really pleased my team looked after you so well. Harry Potter Studios are proving to be very popular, with only being 10 minutes away and as you said London is only a short journey away on the train.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

I booked this hotel for a visit to the Harry Potter Studio Tour, which is only a couple of miles away. The hotel itself was very good - the rooms spacious and clean. The hotel has several wheelchair-adapted rooms which are reasonably well thought-out for wheelchair users and include a roll-in bathroom, plug socket by the bed, and so on. There is a nice pool and a good choice of food.

Where the hotel was let down was in the booking process; as I really needed to speak to someone in order to try and book one wheelchair-adapted room and one regular room I used the chat function to avoid the hefty charges of the 0871 booking number. The booking confirmation showed I had booked as discussed with the agent, so all seemed well. But then only one pre-arrival confirmation arrived; I called the 0871 number as I could not risk turning up to find no wheelchair-accessible room available. Both rooms were confirmed again. The day before the visit I missed a call direct from the hotel (also an 0871 number) and called back but got a very confusing story about how one room could not be on the same level as the other as it was 'too much hassle' to put wheelchair users above ground level. When we arrived I was told both rooms could be on the same floor - but were not very near each other as the hotel was very busy. It all seemed very confusing and the bookings didn't really seem to be linked.

When booking for a disabled guest there really is no alternative to speaking to the hotel direct to discuss their needs precisely; it's a shame this has to be done at an unfair cost under the circumstances.

Room Tip: Reception-level rooms at the back are a good size and quiet - and above ground level without the has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tribpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding the hotel. We will look at the booking process to see if we can improve on the points that you raised.
Harry Potter Studios are proving to be very popular and we have received many great comments from guests about their experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
735 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gatew...
#5 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
573 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#7 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
843 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,727 reviews
3.1 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8

Property: Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Address: Breakspear Way, Hemel Hempstead HP2 4UA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#5 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8 is in the perfect location for business and leisure guests. The hotel is easily accessible from M1 & M25 motorways and just 1 mile from The Snow Centre, 8 miles from Luton Airport, 21 miles from Heathrow Airport 19 miles from Wembley Stadium. Getting into London is easy as the hotel is just 10 minutes from Hemel train station with direct services into London Euston. Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead combines an excellent range of facilities with 144 air-conditioned bedrooms, including 19 Executive Rooms along with family and accessible rooms. The hotel also offers a Spirit Health Club with indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, fitness gym and health and beauty products & treatments. The hotel has conference and banqueting facilities that are a perfect venue for any occasion. These rooms all feature natural daylight, high speed internet connections and Starbucks Coffee. The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead offers 3 dining options; Traders restaurant, Lounge Bar and 24 hour room service. Here at Hemel Hempstead, we are proud to welcome families so why not take advantage of our Kids Stay & Eat Free offer! The hotel is just 11 miles from Whipsnade Zoo, 27 miles from Woburn Safari Park and just 1 mile from the Snow Centre. A perfect way to keep those little ones amused! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead m1 j8 Hotel Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing