We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideally Placed Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Ideally Placed Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

We stayed in this hotel because were were going to the Harry Potter Studio Tour which is not too far away. It is also close to lovely St Albans. The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly. I thought the decor was looking a bit tired; especially the woodwork but I couldn't fault the cleanliness. Despite not being too far away from the M1 and right on a busy dual carriageway it was very quiet.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LorraineWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very popular with Harry Potter visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    230
    85
    29
    23
See reviews for
201
110
25
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

thank you for a lovely stay. the manager lazuras, was so welcoming and sincere. rooms were modern and clean. very comfy bed. food was very nice and i ate far to much at dinner. it is modern and light. it is very close to the harry potter studio tour and i think would be a great choice for anyone visiting that area. only thing, i wish id known they had a pool as i didnt pack our cossies...
all in all very good

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandy-68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you for your positive comments, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex, england
Level Contributor
56 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

Usual high standard Holiday inn.

Bar area spacious and comfortable.
Comfortable and clean room, good nights sleep.
Breakfast great.

Staff very helpfull, Gym and pool very good.

As others have said, good base for Harry Potter studio tour.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trumpton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Thank you for your comments, I am pleased your enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

I'm sorry to write this.
This is my second experience with this hotel, I didn't write my opinion the first time, just because it was "in average", nothing really interesting for the people.
But this time I was really disappointed:
arrived about 7:00pm, the room was freezing. I had to turn the heating on at the maximum power and I had to use 2 blankets; but, above all, the bath was really dirty: spots and hair.
I didn't take the shower because of that.
However, my worst suprise was the 2nd day coming back from work: the bath was still as it was; nobody cleaned it although the room was made..
My fault was that I had to complain, but I didn't.

Not only negative things: dinner was very good and breakfast excellent.

I want to believe that this was just an unlucky experience, and next time will be better.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank massimodom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry that you were not completely satisfied during your stay with us. If you wish to discuss further please contact myself or my Operations Manager, Russell Phillips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

This place is great everytime. The staff are really nice and the gym n stuff is great. Rooms always quiet and this is perfect for
Short business trips.

Only negatives are you can't get steak on the room service (I couldn't see it) and they charge for wifi (but its a good level of service)

Top tip if your heading to the m1 when you drive out of the car park turn right then take the first left. Brings you out on the roundabout by the junction - otherwise you have to head a mile into Aylesbury which is a certified driving nightmare at rush hour and a bit more.

I will always book this place if I can

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased you enjoy your stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

hotel a little tired. apart from use of the pool you would probably get better value for money stayimg at the mew travel lodge down the road!! the best thing about this hotel is the staff - the vast majority could not do enough for us and our children, were cheerful, helpful and chatty. holiday inn should really be proud of their staff at this hotel but need to bring it up to date in other areas.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjw191255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Thank you for your positive comments regarding my teams. We are undergoing a refurbishment programme over the coming months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

We were a group of 2 families looking for 2 nights accommodation for the Warner Brothers studio tour of the Harry Potter set. We needed 3 rooms, a Double interconnecting with a twin and a double with an additional bed.

Booking with Holiday Inn direct on the phone was the only way I could ensure our requirements were met. The booking process was smooth and confirmations arrived via email instantly.

Price wise the hotel is spot on at around £60 per night including breakfast. This was an advanced payment rate but I am sure deals are available all the time. I was worried about it being near a busy road and motorway but we had zero noise.

The hotel is clean, plenty of space, a good swimming pool, steam room, sauna, gym, good restaurant and a good size bar. The hotel was full when we stayed but you never felt crowded.

We do not normally eat in the hotel we stay at but on this occasion we decided to give the carvery a try. It was a wise decision and we ended up easting there each night. Approx £17 for 3 courses with children under 14 eating free was very much value for money as unlimited trips to the food counter were encouraged. If a carvery is not your thing, then there is also a comprehensive menu.

The HP tour was 12 minutes away and again I have to say that is excellent too. Would definitely recommend it and also hire the audio tour as it gives you much more of an experience.

The staff at the hotel were great, really friendly.

The hotel is functional and clean, if you are after character hotels this is not for you but if you are after good value, great service and a good price then just go ahead an book it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liketotravel2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Thank you for your positive comments, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and your trip to Harry Potter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
2.6 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#3 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Cent...
#4 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8

Property: Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Address: Breakspear Way, Hemel Hempstead HP2 4UA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#3 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#5 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8 is in the perfect location for business and leisure guests. The hotel is easily accessible from M1 & M25 motorways and just 1 mile from The Snow Centre, 8 miles from Luton Airport, 21 miles from Heathrow Airport 19 miles from Wembley Stadium. Getting into London is easy as the hotel is just 10 minutes from Hemel train station with direct services into London Euston. Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead combines an excellent range of facilities with 144 air-conditioned bedrooms, including 19 Executive Rooms along with family and accessible rooms. The hotel also offers a Spirit Health Club with indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, fitness gym and health and beauty products & treatments. The hotel has conference and banqueting facilities that are a perfect venue for any occasion. These rooms all feature natural daylight, high speed internet connections and Starbucks Coffee. The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead offers 3 dining options; Traders restaurant, Lounge Bar and 24 hour room service. Here at Hemel Hempstead, we are proud to welcome families so why not take advantage of our Kids Stay & Eat Free offer! The hotel is just 11 miles from Whipsnade Zoo, 27 miles from Woburn Safari Park and just 1 mile from the Snow Centre. A perfect way to keep those little ones amused! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead m1 j8 Hotel Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing