We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Holiday Inn we've used.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Stayed here for one night in a family room for the Paralympics.Even though our Breakfast was free with our special offer room....when I requested a 4 am wake up call,the lady asked if we'd like a bag of fruit and biscuits etc. packing up to take with us,this was really appreciated.Staff were great,pool was fab,room was good and we really enjoyed our stay.We've used other Holiday Inns since but none have been this good.Thank you....we will return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Downurway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Thank you for your positive comments, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that we met your expectations.

Kind regards

Jill Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (634)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

460 - 466 of 634 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2013

During our one night stay at the Holiday Inn we had contact with six members of staff. We were warmly welcomed by reception staff who ensured that all the information we needed to make our short stay enjoyable was given. It was not a matter of routine. Both were very friendly and we felt that we mattered to them as guests.

Arriving at the restaurant for breakfast again we were met by knowledge staff who without fuss pointed out the layout of the 'breakfast stations'. We were led to our table rather than the 'please yourself attitude' so often found.

There were three members of staff. I was impressed by the manner in which they were so attentive to guests with young family members, particularly very young infants.

The choice of breakfast items was impressive. We just had to try the pancake making machine!

Departing we really felt that they wanted us as customers.

We have not reviewed the bedroom. Others have offered their comments, and we cannot add to the very good ones. We felt that this review should feature the excellent staff at this Holiday Inn.

Finally as a PS. We do hope that sometime soon the Holiday Inn group will make Wi-fi free. - Please.

Room Tip: Room 105 is at the rear of the property. Was ideal,
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thierry_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback, I am pleased that you found all our staff welcoming.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Stayed overnight en-route to Cornwall following reviews from Trip advisor. They were all spot on, the young staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean and rooms well serviced, the pool and gym were a bonus but we didn't stay long enough to appreciate them. Excellent value at weekends, we will use again next time we visit St Albans.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adyver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Jill Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Well i think you know the kind of hotel

its very well positioned by the m1 motorway only 90 seconds away , you can not hear the traffic dont worry , the rooms are normal standard stuff but comfortable , there is next door a marks and spencers
at the petrol station so lots of loverly cheap good food , if you dont fancy paying over the odds . for mediocre hotel food , yes i do like a trouser press in my room and holiday inn always has them :)

so positive things are , great position by the motorway , 20 yards away great petrol station that has a m& s , and the sleep is comfortable , and most of all price was good

Room Tip: ask for one of the newer rooms ,
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liam p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards

Jill Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

The standard of the team work of staff at our two recent stays at Holiday Inns, Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh and Hemel Hempstead was excellent, making our stay a pleasure and a joy. Attention to detail and consideration of our requirements were of the highest order. Special thanks to reception staff at Edinburgh and Cliffton Borges at Hemel. A delightful experience on all counts, room, restaurant and service was of the highest.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueA332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback after your stay with us. I am pleased that you found everything to be of a high standard. Cliffton will be pleased to have been mentioned too!

Kind regards

Jill Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Stayed in this hotel with my 7 year old for 3 nights all in, first 2 nights were booked through Caledonian travel for their legoland trip which was fab! We stayed on to visit London which was great only 30 mins away by train. Evening meals both nights was a 3 course carvery which was very nice and plenty to choose from. Breakfast was amazing so much to choose from my son particularly enjoyed making his own pancakes! Our room was a good size, bright, comfortable and clean. All hotel staff were friendly and chatty and got the impression that nothing would be too much trouble. The swimming pool and the Harry Potter mini cinema was a big hit for Robbie which meant that I could relax after a long day while he was still entertained. All in all we had a great time and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alliebee06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback after your stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed our carvery and breakfast and will feed this back to my team. The Harry Potter cinema area is new so also pleased that this went down well with your son.

Kind regards

Jill Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Good hotel that I have stayed in several times. Pleasant staff and good sized clean rooms.

Restaurant food is good and nice quick service. Breakfast also good with plenty of choice and room to read the paper.

Room Tip: If you use priority club, make sure you get a free executive upgrade, definitely worth it and i beli...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichnRach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
746 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gatew...
#5 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
588 reviews
2.6 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#7 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,753 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#4 of 10 in St Albans
2,259 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8

Address: Breakspear Way, Hemel Hempstead HP2 4UA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#3 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#5 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range: £56 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8 is in the perfect location for business and leisure guests. The hotel is easily accessible from M1 & M25 motorways and just 1 mile from The Snow Centre, 8 miles from Luton Airport, 21 miles from Heathrow Airport 19 miles from Wembley Stadium. Getting into London is easy as the hotel is just 10 minutes from Hemel train station with direct services into London Euston. Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead combines an excellent range of facilities with 144 air-conditioned bedrooms, including 19 Executive Rooms along with family and accessible rooms. The hotel also offers a Spirit Health Club with indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, fitness gym and health and beauty products & treatments. The hotel has conference and banqueting facilities that are a perfect venue for any occasion. These rooms all feature natural daylight, high speed internet connections and Starbucks Coffee. The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead offers 3 dining options; Traders restaurant, Lounge Bar and 24 hour room service. Here at Hemel Hempstead, we are proud to welcome families so why not take advantage of our Kids Stay & Eat Free offer! The hotel is just 11 miles from Whipsnade Zoo, 27 miles from Woburn Safari Park and just 1 mile from the Snow Centre. A perfect way to keep those little ones amused! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead m1 j8 Hotel Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing