We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead(Hemel Hempstead)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$89
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel(Hemel Hempstead)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shendish Manor Hotel(Hemel Hempstead)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$120
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel(Hemel Hempstead)(Great Value!)
US$89
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel(Hemel Hempstead)(Great Value!)
US$83
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Travelodge
View Deal
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway(Hemel Hempstead)(Great Value!)
US$59
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Watermill Hotel(Hemel Hempstead)
US$99
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Two Brewers Hotel(Chipperfield)
US$75
US$63
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (696)
Filter reviews
696 results
Traveller rating
250
272
99
38
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
272
99
38
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshealth clubnational holidayssteam roomswimming poolstayed herepancake machineleisure facilitiestrouser pressharry potter studiosevening mealexecutive roombar foodcoach partylarge car parkreception staffthe sofa bedan iron
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
516 - 521 of 696 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel which is what's expected of a holiday inn. Rooms nice, staff friendly, food average (except the steak which is super chewy - avoid) Worth its money for what it is. Bar area quite niceabd relaxing.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fluffymallows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay other than the disappointment with the steak. Should you have problems again please contact myself or my Operations Manager via the hotel.

Kind regards
Jill Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Having stayed at Holiday Inn Express, Chester we were impressed by the calibre of these hotels. We were not disappointed. The hotel is easy to find, just off the M1, and with good parking. The reception was smooth and easy and we were given an upgrade to executive class. The room was on the first floor and very quiet with bath and shower, dressing gowns, minibar etc. We went for the Cup Final (but that's another story!), so had an evening in the bar on Friday where we found the prices normal for Southern standards. Next morning we were both impressed by the choice of breakfasts, continental, full English, choices of juices etc. They filled us up for most of the day! On the Saturday night we dined in the hotel restaurant and had an absolutely gorgeous rump steak! I like my steaks rare and mine was perfect! Only criticism was the lack of hot water in the morning. The shower was hot, but the basin hot tap didn't provide hot water, just above tepid. But, I won't be long before my next visit and heartily recommend this chain of hotels and this hotel in particular.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank swintonblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay including our extensive breakfast! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Jill Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Nice hotel with nice public areas. Bar food very limited but okay. Had an issue with my drink of choice - bottles of Pedigree. After having had 2 bottles I was told they could no longer sell it! Ale lovers beware!

There is gym that is a bit on the small side but does have a good number of machines. There is also a nice pool with a sauna and jacuzzi. Very good if you are on business staying alone as it gives you something to do.

The rooms are comfortable with a decent bed as you would expect. The bathroom has a low shower which would be fine if you are 5ft 5". There is no extractor fan and the mirror gets very steamed up. Have a shave first!

Go at the back of the hotel away from the dual carriageway. I found it very quiet given where you are.

I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_Bolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Thank you for your comments, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Jill Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Another good stay at this HI. We always use this one for our trips into London. Great value for money and great location. Surprised they have put the cost of breakfast up to £17 which is a bit expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlynAtkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased that you continue to enjoy your stays with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We stayed here on Saturday 27th April as we were seeing James Last in concert at the Royal Albert Hall. On arrival the staff at the reception desk were extremely helpful and polite. They were smartly dressed too. Our rooms were clean and tidy. When we asked for more milk and decaffinated tea bags they were brought to us without hesitation.

the breakfast on the Sunday morning was fantastic, there was so much choice you were literally spoilt for choice. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor in rooms 243 and 247 although it was a long walk to our rooms from the lift it was extremely quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheryl1972_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Thank you for your feedback after your stay, I am pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and that the staff looked after you well. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Jill Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews