We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whipsnade-- excellent package”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Surrey
1 review
“Whipsnade-- excellent package”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We chose this hotel for it`s location (close to M1 and Whipsnade) and for the excellent value package which included a visit to Whipsnade zoo. We had 3 families in our group (6 adults and 4 children) and our rooms were adjacent to each other which was very useful. The staff in general were very efficient and always pleasant and helpful. Bedrooms were well furnished and all the hotel was very clean and modern looking. Toiletries + coffee tea making facilities were provided in the bedroom. We had a lovely snack lunch on arrival and our room was available well ahead of the designated time. There was a very good choice on the dinner menu and at very reasonable cost as the children ate free.
The choice of food at breakfast was also excellent with very nice freshly cooked food + croissants and other Danish treats fresh from the oven.
We also enjoyed the swimming pool. Remember the £1 for the locker but towelsare provided This room also had a hot Jacuzzi.
A fitness centre was in an adjacent room, so excellent facilities for all the family.
We would all recommend this hotel and will certainly try other Holiday Inn`s for other trips away from home.

Room Tip: The corridors are quite long so if walking is a problem I suggest asking for a room near the lift. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandJsNan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and also your visit to Whipsnade Zoo nearby. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Jill Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    245
    91
    33
    25
See reviews for
213
119
26
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Good clean comfortable hotel. We chose this hotel due to its proximity to Warner Bros Harry Potter Studio Tours and we were pleased with the location and convenience. hotel is easy to find off the M1 and the Studio tour is about 10 mins away.

Nice pool area which the children enjoyed. Towels provided for you, but you need a £1 coin for the lockers.

Dinner was a 3 course carvery at £16.95 for each adult, which we thought a bit pricey, but as the kids ate for free, we had a great meal for the four of us for £35. Not too bad at all.

Good breakfast, plenty of choice. Shame Holiday Inn still dont provide any free wi-fi but overall
a very nice hotel. We would certainly recommend,

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becklyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you for your comments, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are proving very popular with visitors going to Harry Potter nearby.

Kind regards

Jill Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Booked this hotel as it was close to the Harry Potter Film Studio Tour, only about 10 minutes so fantastic situation.

I travelled with two young(ish) children and chose this hotel for the pool, which was small but after 5 hrs in the car was very welcoming.

Staff very friendly and couldnt do enough for us, room clean little noisey but with a wedding on was expected.

The only negative was the evening meal, very dissapointing luckily kids eat for free, thank goodness!!!

Breakfast was good so all in all worth the money and location, would recommend this for familys visiting the attractions, just drive about 5 minutes down the road to the retail park more choice to eat.

Room Tip: asked for quiet room and got 232, far enough away from the funtion rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased you found the staff welcoming but were disappointed with the food on the evening. If you wish to discuss further please contact myself or my Operations Manager, Russell Phillips via the hotel.

Kind regards

Jill Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

I stayed at this Holiday Inn overnight on business recently. It’s ideally located for access to the M1 being only 5 minutes from Junction 8. The staff were friendly & helpful and check in/out was quick & efficient.

My room was a decent size, but was very tired, dated & grubby and was in desperate need of refurbishment. This dated feel also extends to some of the public areas of the hotel.

Breakfast wasn’t too bad; a decent choice for the cooked option, but the continental breakfast didn’t seem to have much choice compared to other hotels I have stayed at.

I will stay here again on business, but if it was a personal visit, I would probably look for a more modern hotel.

Room Tip: Tip: don’t put your door key card next to your mobile phone in your pocket or bag as it wipes the ca...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank gillwWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Thank you for your feedback after your stay with us, I am pleased that our staff met your expectations. We are undergoing a gradual refresh so a noticed improvement should be seen in the future.

Kind regards

Jill Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

An average hotel.

Staff are pleasant enough.

Dinner is ok. Overpriced for what it is though.

Breakfast is ok.

Rooms are clean, good facilities and a good size.

There is also an onsite health club.

The only massive downside was being able to hear snoring through the walls. Exceptionally loud snoring!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suki_sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and facilities, other than the noise from the next room.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Holiday Inn is a brand that usually gives you what you expect. I've stayed in many, I have a Priority Card. Everything looks like a Holiday Inn should as you arrive. Reception was efficient and polite. The room was immaculate. The Room Service menu boasted it provided the Best of British - and thats where it all began to go wrong.
I didn't eat in the room but went to the restaurant. The staff were very pleasant. I had a 250ml glass of the Robert Mondavi Chardonnay, usually £10 a bottle over the counter. That glass cost me £8.25 - an outrageous mark up considering they buy in bulk. I had the pate as a starter. It came in a ramekin with two slices of french bread that had been warmed in a microwave - soggy, chewy and unpleasant. No butter. A small amount of rocket heavily laden with dressing filled the rest of the plate.
The fish and chips cost £13.45. The chips were chunky and reasonably cooked but not particularly crisp on the outside. The mushy peas and the tartare sauce - each in their dinky little bowls were bought in, but it was the fish that was the disaster. The batter was tough and chewy and the fish overcooked, with the whole thing glistening with the oil it had been cooked in. This was not the Best of British, this was a disgrace.
Breakfast was in much the same vein. The orange juice was almost certainly orange flavoured drink. The black pudding was not only sliced but also quartered so it was dried out and even though they had a East European chef (Best of British? Now I understand!) bathing eggs in warm oil until they blanched, none of the "fried eggs" were freshly cooked. There was always a batch of at least a dozen dying on the servery.
Just to add authenticity to their Best of British claim the butter is made by Anchor, from New Zealand.
Sorry guys, you have a good hotel except for the kitchen crew. They ruin the food. Don't take food straight from the fridge and throw it in to fat thats too cold. The next time I stay (if I have to) I will be nipping round the corner to the M&S Simply Food and eating better and a lot cheaper in my room.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vic9921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry that you were not completely satisfied during your stay with us. Should you wish to discuss the points further please contact myself or my Operations Manager, Russell Phillips via the hotel.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Recently stayed here for 2 nights for a trip to Wembley Stadium. It is about 1-2 miles off the M1 with a large car park and convenience store/garage next to it. The hotel was clean and comfortable and quiet. The room had a queen bed, a sofa, A/C and tea/coffee making facilities. There was no in-room safe. There was a decent pool too with a steam room and sauna. The breakfast was full english breakfast with cereal, fruit, ham, cheese and selections of breads and pastries. The evening meal had a good choice from the menu and you could also eat in the bar area too.
The hotel is convenient for trips into London. We drove 8-9 miles to Watford Junction where there is a huge car park and then took the train into Euston. It is also very convenient if visiting Harry Potter World - about 6-7 miles away.
Slept very well and had an enjoyable 2 nights. This was our 2nd stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PippyDippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thank you for feedback after your recent stay, I am pleased that we met your expectations. We are proving very popular with guests visiting Harry Potter which is located very near to our hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards
Jill Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
722 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
615 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gatew...
#5 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#6 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
832 reviews
3.1 mi away
No photo provided
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
400 reviews
6.9 mi away
No photo provided
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8

Property: Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Address: Breakspear Way, Hemel Hempstead HP2 4UA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#3 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#5 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8 is in the perfect location for business and leisure guests. The hotel is easily accessible from M1 & M25 motorways and just 1 mile from The Snow Centre, 8 miles from Luton Airport, 21 miles from Heathrow Airport 19 miles from Wembley Stadium. Getting into London is easy as the hotel is just 10 minutes from Hemel train station with direct services into London Euston. Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead combines an excellent range of facilities with 144 air-conditioned bedrooms, including 19 Executive Rooms along with family and accessible rooms. The hotel also offers a Spirit Health Club with indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, fitness gym and health and beauty products & treatments. The hotel has conference and banqueting facilities that are a perfect venue for any occasion. These rooms all feature natural daylight, high speed internet connections and Starbucks Coffee. The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead offers 3 dining options; Traders restaurant, Lounge Bar and 24 hour room service. Here at Hemel Hempstead, we are proud to welcome families so why not take advantage of our Kids Stay & Eat Free offer! The hotel is just 11 miles from Whipsnade Zoo, 27 miles from Woburn Safari Park and just 1 mile from the Snow Centre. A perfect way to keep those little ones amused! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead m1 j8 Hotel Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing