We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a weekend stay at this Holiday Inn and have to say that we had the perfect stay.

We had booked 3 double rooms at a bargain rate of £118 for 2 nights per room including breakfast. I had telephoned th e day before arrival to see if they had a rooms with just a shower as one of our party was on crutches and could not get into a bath. They said they would see what they could do. Upon arrival at the hotel, we noticed that the reception was very clean and the reception staff was very friendly and quick on check in. The rooms we were given were perfect and one had a walk in shower just as we had requested. The rooms were all clean and large and included a fridge, iron, ironing board, trouser press, tea and coffee making facilities and toiletries which smelt lovely. There was also a large television with satellite channels and radio. The rooms also had air conditioning and loads of storage for your clothes.

We did not eat dinner in the hotel as we were meeting family but the food looked delicious. We had breakfast and it was an eat as much as you like buffet breakfast and had a lot to choose from. You could have a full English breakfast with whatever eggs you wanted. The food was hot and freshly cooked. There was plenty variety ifvcereals, cold meats, cheese, pastries and even a pancake maker which were delicious.

The hotel also has a gym, swimming pool, sauna and steam room included in the price. These facilities were great and the areas surrounding was very clean.

The staff are all very friendly.

I would highly recommend this hotel but if you can book early as you get the better deal.l

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Loz1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for writing such a great review after your recent stay. I am pleased that you found our teams and hotel to your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Jill Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    230
    85
    29
    23
See reviews for
201
110
25
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

My little boy requested a hotel with a pool and breakfast. We were visiting whipsnade zoo so I found this hotel and booked the DBB deal which seemed an excellent deal.
The young girl on reception was very friendly and professional, our room was lovely. Our 3 course dinner was delicious with brilliant service. Breakfast lots of choice and tasty. Swimming pool a big bonus also the 12 o clock checkout. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenAtherton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for your great feedback after your recent stay. I am pleased that the hotel met your expectations and that you were welcomed from the moment you checked in. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Jill Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

I stayed here for one night with my granddaughter as part of a National Holidays trip to London and Harry Potter Studios. Anyone who grumbles about this hotel as part of the National Holidays package should try booking hotels themselves in the London area - believe me I've tried and considering what you get for your money the value is outstanding.
The only downside is the normal grumble - the price of drinks. I looked at the price for a glass of wine - £6.50 - £8 and decided not to bother. I'm sure if the prices were more reasonable they would make a lot more profit.
All in all though an excellent stay with reasonable quality evening meal and good breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback after your stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed the time here, we are very popular with National Holiday guests and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Jill Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

I would just like to say that we are always quick to moan about the services we receive at Hotels and many other outlets. However, when I arrived at this hotel, I had booked two rooms for the first night and three individual bookings (one room) for the next three nights. There were two young ladies on Reception, they were Crystal and Katie. Their service and manner was second to none, always with a smile and couldn't do enough for us. After a long and tiring day, to be greeted and dealt with like that was a pleasure. Please pass on my comments to both.
Kind regards
Terry West.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you for writing a great response after your recent stay especially your comments regarding Crystal and Katie on our reception. I will pass these onto them. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Jill Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed here one night with National Holidays to see the Harry Potter Studio Tour. The rooms were clean but a bit out-dated, a few cracks in the walls in the bathroom, cup-stained table, and slightly torn chair, but other than that pretty good. The beds were really comfy. I only have two complaints. My first is that the walls were far too thin! We could hear everything going on in the corridors and the neighbour rooms. My second complaint would be the WIFI prices. Most hotels have free WIFI nowadays including the Holiday Inn Express hotels. The food was good, not great but we got it free with our trip so we didn't complain. If we did not have a free meal plan, we would not have eaten here. Its way too pricey for average food.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BethLouise1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you for your comments after your recent stay. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We are undergoing a refresh programme of our bedrooms to ensure our guests are not disappointed.

Kind regards

Jill Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We booked this hotel as our friends dad's 90th birthday party was to be held there.

On arrival our room was upgraded - it was a lovely surprise - the room was very spacious, clean and so comfortable.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful - the party food was delicious and our breakfast next morning was plentiful and very good.

Thank you everyone for making our time with you enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Its great to receive such a positive response especially regarding the team! I will share it with them.

Kind regards

Jill Williams
General Mananger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
142 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Lovely warm swimming pool, nice friendly staff, clean room. Good location for LEGOLAND. Nicely cooked food in the restaurant, not much choice on childrens menu though. Bed felt very hard but that could be preference. Other guests a bit noisy with children running down corridors late at night, didn't complain about it because very hard to stop ignorant people.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katherineDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a great review!

Kind Regards

Jill Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
2.6 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#3 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Cent...
#4 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8

Property: Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Address: Breakspear Way, Hemel Hempstead HP2 4UA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#5 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8 is in the perfect location for business and leisure guests. The hotel is easily accessible from M1 & M25 motorways and just 1 mile from The Snow Centre, 8 miles from Luton Airport, 21 miles from Heathrow Airport 19 miles from Wembley Stadium. Getting into London is easy as the hotel is just 10 minutes from Hemel train station with direct services into London Euston. Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead combines an excellent range of facilities with 144 air-conditioned bedrooms, including 19 Executive Rooms along with family and accessible rooms. The hotel also offers a Spirit Health Club with indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, fitness gym and health and beauty products & treatments. The hotel has conference and banqueting facilities that are a perfect venue for any occasion. These rooms all feature natural daylight, high speed internet connections and Starbucks Coffee. The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead offers 3 dining options; Traders restaurant, Lounge Bar and 24 hour room service. Here at Hemel Hempstead, we are proud to welcome families so why not take advantage of our Kids Stay & Eat Free offer! The hotel is just 11 miles from Whipsnade Zoo, 27 miles from Woburn Safari Park and just 1 mile from the Snow Centre. A perfect way to keep those little ones amused! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead m1 j8 Hotel Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing