We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back...soon hopefully”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We booked a whipsnade package, but decided to check in a night earlier than planed. I'm so glad we did, lovely staff on reception, big clean bedroom, great hotel facilities (the pool was a big hit). Sadly we had to check out tea time the next day due to an emergency at home, this was no problem for the staff on reception and they very kindly didn't charge us for cancelling this night.
We will return to stay here again for definite, hopefully in the near future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJohnSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay. I am pleased to read that everything met with your expectations but sorry to hear you had to check out early. I trust that we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Jill Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 659 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel for an overnight stop. Very friendly staff throughout the hotel Breakfast offered excellent choices. Evening meal was well cooked and presented. Room had everything that was needed. All in all really pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shysheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay. I am pleased that you found everything to your expectations and hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Jill Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We were greeted by a polite and helpful receptionist.
The room was clean bright and comfortable.
Breakfast was a buffet affair and although on the first morning there was a terrific queue for the very slow toaster, there was plenty of choice.
Very easy to find if you are travelling from the motorway, and a great pool.
We would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prestonbeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you for your great review after your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you found everything to your expectations and hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Jill Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We booked the Holiday Inn, but to be frank were not expecting anything other than a run of the mill average chain. As soon as we walked in we were greeted by two lovely receptionists who were delightful; friendly, courteous and welcoming. We had requested a quiet room and that's exactly what we got. The room was perfectly acceptable and was bigger than we had expected; it had a bath as well as a shower. I used the gym which had good equipment and was again staffed by friendly staff. The pool looked great although we did not take a swim. We ate the first night in the Hotel (as we were tired from travelling and there is not really anywhere
decent to eat within walking distance) and the food was average, not bad but probably what you would expect from a big chain. There is a Marks and Sparks right next to the Hotel, attached to a garage, if you only want a quick snack. Breakfast provided a good choice and was probably the only very minimal let down with a front of house member of staff who was a little abrupt and curt. We thought the Hotel turned out to be a very good choice and we would return again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aged_Travellers_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. We have a lovely Reception team and I am glad that they offered great customer service. We will work on the other points that can be improved upon.

Kind regards

Jill Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Having just returned from our holiday and on our way back to Devon, we stopped here for the night and to break up the journey. The room was perfectly good, but I ordered the surrey steak which was inedible and i could not chew through the meat at all. Whilst I reported this to the restaurant manager, he did nothing to help. It was only as we were leaving the chef came rushing out to apologise as he had seen my uneaten steak returned, and was truly mortified.Next morning we checked out to find we had been charged for this, although the chef had assured us we would not be. It took 15 minutes for us to recify this situation as nothing had been passed to reception, thus holding up busy travellers. The company did acknowledge my complaint and the manager did try to make contact a few weeks ago, but although i emailled him, have heard nothing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizziechurch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for your review. I would hope that you have now heard back from the manager dealing with your food issue, if not please let me know.

Kind regards

Jill Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We ( family of 4) stayed for 3 nights in this fantastic hotel and we had a very comfortable stay. The rooms were spacious and the food excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful. This is a family friendly hotel and they had videos in the main Bar/Reception area for kids. There was plenty of food at breakfast and at Dinner time with a varied menu to suit all tastes.They have a swimming pool which was very relaxing after a long day at Legoland and Windsor Castle. Will go back.

Room Tip: families should ask for an adjoining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brufmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for your comments especially regarding the team. They will be delighted that you had such a great time.

Kind Regards

Jill Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We received a family room (1 double bed+1 single) and it was quite impressive. We had the choice of either firm or soft pillows which was nice and the TV was high quality and received 30 channels as well as seven pages of recently released films available to rent from a minimum of £7.50- (Star Trek:ID, Ted, Anchorman etc.) There was a mini fridge available but was empty despite it claiming those staying would receive a charge for any items taken or even moved, (maybe we missed something?) There was a good quality hair dryer provided free of charge and the bathroom had towels a nice shower/bath and sink provided. The view out from our room was out on to the car park with a spotlight just next to the window which wasn't too bad. A desk with two plug sockets was also there however one was broken rendering it unusable. We had booked the hotel through National Holidays on the Harry Potter Studios+London trip which I wouldn't recommend despite our pleasant visits to both London and the superb Harry Potter Studios as the days' organisation was switched round and our seats moved-we were also forced to make an hour long diversion to the small town of Lutterworth which had nothing apart from a small Costa Coffee and an old church and graveyard as the bus driver didn't want to go to a services again. On the first night the meals were a choice of a turkey carvery or a vegetarian lasagne which seemed odd due to the massive amount of meals available on the room service (this lack of choice might've been because of the last minute switch-around by National Holidays.) The hotel also had various services available including breakfast in bed for an additional £15, a health club, an in building starbucks and a free swimming pool open for most of the day. The wifi was quite expensive but we weren't staying long so it was really nessecary. The staff were friendly and approachable and the breakfast buffet was very large with almost any breakfast food available (apart from black pudding which was strangely absent despite appearing on the menu) and it was all delicious, a top rated breakfast with refreshing drinks and top quality food available from an early time. Full temperature control in the room was available in the room and was easy to use. All in all the hotel was great and I recommended it to anyone looking to stay in the area, great job!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Many thanks for your detailed review, I think that you covered every aspect of your stay, which is great. I hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Jill Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
6.9 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,336 reviews
2.6 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Hemel Hempstead
900 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redbourn
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8

Address: Breakspear Way, Hemel Hempstead HP2 4UA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#3 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#5 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range: £59 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8 is in the perfect location for business and leisure guests. The hotel is easily accessible from M1 & M25 motorways and just 1 mile from The Snow Centre, 8 miles from Luton Airport, 21 miles from Heathrow Airport 19 miles from Wembley Stadium. Getting into London is easy as the hotel is just 10 minutes from Hemel train station with direct services into London Euston. Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead combines an excellent range of facilities with 144 air-conditioned bedrooms, including 19 Executive Rooms along with family and accessible rooms. The hotel also offers a Spirit Health Club with indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, fitness gym and health and beauty products & treatments. The hotel has conference and banqueting facilities that are a perfect venue for any occasion. These rooms all feature natural daylight, high speed internet connections and Starbucks Coffee. The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead offers 3 dining options; Traders restaurant, Lounge Bar and 24 hour room service. Here at Hemel Hempstead, we are proud to welcome families so why not take advantage of our Kids Stay & Eat Free offer! The hotel is just 11 miles from Whipsnade Zoo, 27 miles from Woburn Safari Park and just 1 mile from the Snow Centre. A perfect way to keep those little ones amused! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead m1 j8 Hotel Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing