We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, great staff”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This Holiday Inn is differentiated from the rest by its staff. Service is always excellent, food is very good, reception first class. The hotel itself is clean, appointed well and clean. Comfy rooms, good space, good working facilities. Stay weekly and never been let down - cannot be said for most hotels. Great parking and M&S shop at the BP garage next door. Trust them - good people, good value

Room Tip: All are ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hibberr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback , I am pleased that as a regular guest you are always satisfied and that we continue to give the high standards that you expect to receive.

Kind regards

Jill Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    242
    86
    31
    24
See reviews for
210
113
26
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

The room smells so bad .some of the reception staff are rude .breakfast is always same .the location is far from the train station. My bocking including breakfast but in the third day they said breakfast will be charged until I showed them the booking printout. I was going to change the hotel but they refused to refund the amount of the remaining nights.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abdulla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay, I am sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied during your visit as this is not our normal high standard. If you wish to discuss the issues further please speak to my Operations Manager, Russell Phillips via the hotel.

Kind regards

Jill Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Have stayed here a couple of times now - short stays on both occasions.

Hotel is easy to find from the M1 and there is plenty of parking. Was greeted by a very friendly and professional receptionist and check in was very quick. IHG Rewards membership was acknowledged.

Was allocated a room on the ground floor which I found to be clean and well equipped with plenty of space. The bathroom was equipped with a limited selection of toiletries and decent towels. Coffee and tea making facilities are provided and there is also a room service menu. There is a good sized flat screen TV and a small desk / workspace with lighting. The only comment I would have about the room was that the bed was a bit soft - but I guess that's personal preference. There is also a choice of hard or soft pillows.

The restaurant was closed on Sunday evening (which I think is new?) so there was only a choice of a bar menu or room service if one wanted to eat in the hotel. I opted for the bar food. Whilst the service was very friendly and relatively quick, the food was rather bland and a bit dull. I've had better here before. Breakfast, however, was fine.

I didn't use the leisure facilities, but there is a health club with a nice pool available.

WiFi is now free (standard) for IHG Elite members - but this was rather confusing. When logging on there was no obvious free option as I have seen in other HI properties. I queried this with the front desk on departure as a charge had been added to my bill. Apparently I should have logged on using the free option - except that there wasn't one! To be fair the receptionist did remove the charge from my bill, but if you are an IHG Elite member it would be worth checking before you log in. Once connected the signal was good.

Staff - all staff I came into contact with were friendly and helpful.

So one or two very small glitches, but generally a good experience and I will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zebedee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay. I am pleased that we met your expectations and you were made to feel welcome. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Jill Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed here a number of times and it's consistently good.
Last night started well with a pleasant welcome from receptionist and I was impressed with my room (107) which was spotlessly clean, esp the bathroom. Good range of toiletries and a separate magnifying mirror - ace for shaving in. Room is quiet and has decent aircon that worked correctly, and there's big TV with lots of channels. The decent sized, well lit car park has cctv and there's a good choice of hot and cold food at breakfast.
A couple of nigggles - the shower was either on or off, no chance to have less than the full force, which could be a bit strong. And the mattress was a bit lumpy - although to be fair when I mentioned this at check out the receptionist said I could have asked for a mattress topper - I never though of doing that but will remember for next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased that everything met with your expectations and that reception were very welcoming on arrival. Your comments regarding the mattress have been noted and will be investigated. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Jill Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
235 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Liked this hotel. Stayed here for a couple of nights during one of my tours. Clean, Good Service, and Responsive - they had to shift my room due to some leakage, but were very nice and left a couple of vouchers for the bar... Did not use the Health Club, and did not notice a pool - but a good place to stay in when visiting for work.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit_Sengupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Jill Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Nice clean hotel, the service was good and it's a good location for the Harry Potter studio tour. Only one complaint the bed was too soft and my wife and myself kept rolling to the centre of the bed. We didn't use the health club but did have a nose but it does look good.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay. I am pleased that you found everything to your expectations and trust that you had a good time at Harry Potter Studios. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Jill Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I am currently staying at the holiday inn hemel hemstead as part of a coach trip to legoland with caledonian travel,the trip has been fantastic,and the hotel is exceptionaly clean,tidy staff on reception and dining area are very nice and helpful,breakfast and dinner were faultless,i would reccomend this hotel to anyone.
Thankyou

Room Tip: I am in room 62 and it is peaceful and a nice view of the woods at the back. I love the country side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fourpaws30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your great review after your recent stay. I am pleased that you found everything to your satisfaction and hope you had a good time at Legoland. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Jill Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
2.6 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Cent...
#3 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
3.1 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8

Property: Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Address: Breakspear Way, Hemel Hempstead HP2 4UA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#3 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#5 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8 is in the perfect location for business and leisure guests. The hotel is easily accessible from M1 & M25 motorways and just 1 mile from The Snow Centre, 8 miles from Luton Airport, 21 miles from Heathrow Airport 19 miles from Wembley Stadium. Getting into London is easy as the hotel is just 10 minutes from Hemel train station with direct services into London Euston. Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead combines an excellent range of facilities with 144 air-conditioned bedrooms, including 19 Executive Rooms along with family and accessible rooms. The hotel also offers a Spirit Health Club with indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, fitness gym and health and beauty products & treatments. The hotel has conference and banqueting facilities that are a perfect venue for any occasion. These rooms all feature natural daylight, high speed internet connections and Starbucks Coffee. The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead offers 3 dining options; Traders restaurant, Lounge Bar and 24 hour room service. Here at Hemel Hempstead, we are proud to welcome families so why not take advantage of our Kids Stay & Eat Free offer! The hotel is just 11 miles from Whipsnade Zoo, 27 miles from Woburn Safari Park and just 1 mile from the Snow Centre. A perfect way to keep those little ones amused! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead m1 j8 Hotel Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing