We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“London by car best kept secret”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Reviewed 29 October 2013

One of the best Holiday Inn's I've stayed at, ever!
From check-in (couldn't do enough) to checkout I was well looked after.
All to a high standard: Room, Food (excellent service), Free Parking, Free internet, Large screen TV's showing Sky sports in the bars. Handy BP petrol station outside the hotel and ideally located just off the M1 when exiting north from London. Breakfast was more than enough, served in a relaxed and light area. Just a shame I didn't have time to take a dip in the pool. Extremely well priced for a M25 hotel.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank philshack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you for such a great review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that it met your expectations. We hope that you will return again soon and use the pool next time!

Kind regards

Jill Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

This hotel is just 20 miles from London and very handy to stay in but without the London price tag! The staff are Great, friendly, helpful and always happy and smiling(what more could cheer you up at the end of a long day) I got upgraded, ask you never know, and so had a lovely big room, lcd tv bath and shower as well as chocolate and water. Mmmmmmmmm. If you have time to get into London and you want to save some money then I couldn't speak more highly. Bring your swimming costume as I forgot to mention the health suite downstairs. Enjoyyyyyyyyyy

Room Tip: Don't forget to ask for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markchapman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you for your great feedback after your stay with us. I am pleased that our teams looked after you well and that you enjoyed your time here. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Jill Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed in this hotel to visit Harry Potter studios for a treat for my daughters 13th birthday and i asked the manager, Russell if he could decorate the room as a surprise. When we arrived they had decorated the room with banners, balloons and a big badge. This made my daughters day as she really wasn't expecting it at all. The staff really did go that extra mile, they were friendly at all times especially Ash who made sure we had a table at dinner, even though we were quiet late in. Just for the staff alone i would recommend this hotel. The bonus to us was it was a short drive to Harry Potter studios.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your great feedback after your recent stay. I am pleased that everything met your expectations and that your daughter enjoyed her birthday and the decorated room. We trust that we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Jill Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This Holiday Inn is differentiated from the rest by its staff. Service is always excellent, food is very good, reception first class. The hotel itself is clean, appointed well and clean. Comfy rooms, good space, good working facilities. Stay weekly and never been let down - cannot be said for most hotels. Great parking and M&S shop at the BP garage next door. Trust them - good people, good value

Room Tip: All are ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hibberr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback , I am pleased that as a regular guest you are always satisfied and that we continue to give the high standards that you expect to receive.

Kind regards

Jill Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

The room smells so bad .some of the reception staff are rude .breakfast is always same .the location is far from the train station. My bocking including breakfast but in the third day they said breakfast will be charged until I showed them the booking printout. I was going to change the hotel but they refused to refund the amount of the remaining nights.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abdulla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay, I am sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied during your visit as this is not our normal high standard. If you wish to discuss the issues further please speak to my Operations Manager, Russell Phillips via the hotel.

Kind regards

Jill Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Have stayed here a couple of times now - short stays on both occasions.

Hotel is easy to find from the M1 and there is plenty of parking. Was greeted by a very friendly and professional receptionist and check in was very quick. IHG Rewards membership was acknowledged.

Was allocated a room on the ground floor which I found to be clean and well equipped with plenty of space. The bathroom was equipped with a limited selection of toiletries and decent towels. Coffee and tea making facilities are provided and there is also a room service menu. There is a good sized flat screen TV and a small desk / workspace with lighting. The only comment I would have about the room was that the bed was a bit soft - but I guess that's personal preference. There is also a choice of hard or soft pillows.

The restaurant was closed on Sunday evening (which I think is new?) so there was only a choice of a bar menu or room service if one wanted to eat in the hotel. I opted for the bar food. Whilst the service was very friendly and relatively quick, the food was rather bland and a bit dull. I've had better here before. Breakfast, however, was fine.

I didn't use the leisure facilities, but there is a health club with a nice pool available.

WiFi is now free (standard) for IHG Elite members - but this was rather confusing. When logging on there was no obvious free option as I have seen in other HI properties. I queried this with the front desk on departure as a charge had been added to my bill. Apparently I should have logged on using the free option - except that there wasn't one! To be fair the receptionist did remove the charge from my bill, but if you are an IHG Elite member it would be worth checking before you log in. Once connected the signal was good.

Staff - all staff I came into contact with were friendly and helpful.

So one or two very small glitches, but generally a good experience and I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zebedee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay. I am pleased that we met your expectations and you were made to feel welcome. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Jill Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed here a number of times and it's consistently good.
Last night started well with a pleasant welcome from receptionist and I was impressed with my room (107) which was spotlessly clean, esp the bathroom. Good range of toiletries and a separate magnifying mirror - ace for shaving in. Room is quiet and has decent aircon that worked correctly, and there's big TV with lots of channels. The decent sized, well lit car park has cctv and there's a good choice of hot and cold food at breakfast.
A couple of nigggles - the shower was either on or off, no chance to have less than the full force, which could be a bit strong. And the mattress was a bit lumpy - although to be fair when I mentioned this at check out the receptionist said I could have asked for a mattress topper - I never though of doing that but will remember for next time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricky0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased that everything met with your expectations and that reception were very welcoming on arrival. Your comments regarding the mattress have been noted and will be investigated. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Jill Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
748 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gatew...
#3 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
598 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#7 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
871 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,771 reviews
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8

Address: Breakspear Way, Hemel Hempstead HP2 4UA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#3 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#5 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range: £66 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8 is in the perfect location for business and leisure guests. The hotel is easily accessible from M1 & M25 motorways and just 1 mile from The Snow Centre, 8 miles from Luton Airport, 21 miles from Heathrow Airport 19 miles from Wembley Stadium. Getting into London is easy as the hotel is just 10 minutes from Hemel train station with direct services into London Euston. Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead combines an excellent range of facilities with 144 air-conditioned bedrooms, including 19 Executive Rooms along with family and accessible rooms. The hotel also offers a Spirit Health Club with indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, fitness gym and health and beauty products & treatments. The hotel has conference and banqueting facilities that are a perfect venue for any occasion. These rooms all feature natural daylight, high speed internet connections and Starbucks Coffee. The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead offers 3 dining options; Traders restaurant, Lounge Bar and 24 hour room service. Here at Hemel Hempstead, we are proud to welcome families so why not take advantage of our Kids Stay & Eat Free offer! The hotel is just 11 miles from Whipsnade Zoo, 27 miles from Woburn Safari Park and just 1 mile from the Snow Centre. A perfect way to keep those little ones amused! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead m1 j8 Hotel Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing