We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ONE NIGHT ONLY” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“ONE NIGHT ONLY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed for one night only after visiting London to see The Lion King , we arrived as a coach party and were soon given our door keys in alphabetical order on the bus by a receptionist , we soon made our way to our room on the top floor number 244 although the passages could do with redecorating and the carpet looking a little tired everywhere was spotlessly clean , in the room were 2 single beds that were very comfortable and 2 good pillows on each bed the television and other furniture were in very good condition along with a trouser press , the bathroom was quite roomy with a powerful shower over the bath , tea bags and coffee were in the room with 2 good size cups and the air con / heater worked well .
The evening meal was a carvery style and was very satisfactory so was the breakfast with plenty of choice .The bar prices unless you are drinking all night are also a reasonable . We would certainly stay here again , thanks to all the hard staff working staff so that we enjoyed our stay .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for your great review, I am pleased that you found everything to your satisfaction and that my teams looked after you well. We look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Kind regards

Jill Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    230
    85
    29
    23
See reviews for
201
110
25
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Spent one night after visiting Harry Potter studios, which is only 15 mins away.
Excellent service, great breakfast, with pancakes for kids, and a good Bar menu till 11pm which was welcome. And a leisure club and Pool too !!
Helpful staff and all in all a great place to base yourself.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for such a great review, I am pleased that you found everything to your satisfaction within our hotel and that you enjoyed your visit to Harry Potter Studios. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Jill Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloret de Mar, España
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

I have to say that I don't like holiday inn, always I've paid much more than it should cost.

I had a meeting there with a customer so I had no choise, the price was really expensensive for an average hotel in the middle of nowhere, price was more than the double I've been paying near there, and didn't include breakfast and wifi. The room looks old, definetly never more!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Xivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I am disappointed to read that you were not completely satisfied during your stay with us. If you wish to discuss this further please contact myself or my Operations Manager, Russell Phillips via the hotel.

Kind regards

Jill Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We went to the holiday inn for a weekend break. We've stayed a few times b4 in order to enjoy a getaway
and once again we were not disappointed with the care, attention and service by Lucy, Katie, crystal, Jeremy and David and the lovely lady fatima who attended to us at breakfast even tho the pancake machine was not working . The executive room great . My only concern is that the food in the restaurant is mediocre and the menu limited. The spa and gym are a nice touch although its a bit worn and in need of updating. The staff in the gym are friendly and James is always helpful. Home from Home will stay there again

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank graceandkas2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay, I am pleased to read that you found everything to your satisfaction other than the food options and that my teams looked after your well . I will pass on your comments regarding staff to those mentioned. We are continually refreshing both our hotel and our Spirit health club to keep it up to a high standard.

Kind regards

Jill Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

I have never stayed in a holiday inn before and recently stayed in the Hemel Hempstead (never been to hemel before either) as me and my partner were at Harry Potter studios and wanted somewhere close to stay by over night. The hotel was perfect for that and during the stay we complimented how nice the hotel was, pool, gym, sauna, steam room, and hotel room was all great! The massive let down was the restaurant, it was an Italian buffet but all of it seemed cheap and not worth the £37 for two people. They charged a service charge and we didn't have drinks and it was a buffet. So over priced and not worth it, order dominos instead!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased that you found your stay enjoyable other than the food and for this I apologise. This is not to our normal high standards and disappointing to hear. This will be investigated to ensure all our guests receive the best quality at all times.

Kind regards
Jill Williams

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Staying at the hotel at the moment. Nice clean hotel, good family rooms. Son has nut allergy and chef was able to tell us what he could eat and what he couldnt. Helpful staff and 10 mins to harry potter world. Would come again

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Cowell12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased that you found everything to your satisfaction and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Jill Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, West Yorkshire, England.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Im a HI Platinum member and booked to stay 2x nights, however i had a change of plan and checked out after 1x night, at which point i was informed that a £50 charge would accrue, I complained to the Manager and although it was reduced it wasnt removed.....I was disgusted because i often stay at HI Hotels and my company heavily use this hotel. To add to this the food in the bar was decidedly average and my room was seriously outdated.....do not stay here!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian48
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Adrian48,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class customer service. It's truly regrettable that your stay was negatively affected due to the early check out fee policy. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
2.6 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#3 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Cent...
#4 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8

Property: Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Address: Breakspear Way, Hemel Hempstead HP2 4UA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#5 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8 is in the perfect location for business and leisure guests. The hotel is easily accessible from M1 & M25 motorways and just 1 mile from The Snow Centre, 8 miles from Luton Airport, 21 miles from Heathrow Airport 19 miles from Wembley Stadium. Getting into London is easy as the hotel is just 10 minutes from Hemel train station with direct services into London Euston. Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead combines an excellent range of facilities with 144 air-conditioned bedrooms, including 19 Executive Rooms along with family and accessible rooms. The hotel also offers a Spirit Health Club with indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, fitness gym and health and beauty products & treatments. The hotel has conference and banqueting facilities that are a perfect venue for any occasion. These rooms all feature natural daylight, high speed internet connections and Starbucks Coffee. The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead offers 3 dining options; Traders restaurant, Lounge Bar and 24 hour room service. Here at Hemel Hempstead, we are proud to welcome families so why not take advantage of our Kids Stay & Eat Free offer! The hotel is just 11 miles from Whipsnade Zoo, 27 miles from Woburn Safari Park and just 1 mile from the Snow Centre. A perfect way to keep those little ones amused! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead m1 j8 Hotel Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing