We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (756)
Filter reviews
757 results
Traveller rating
269
294
107
45
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
269
294
107
45
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews health club national holidays steam room swimming pool stayed here leisure facilities trouser press evening meal harry potter studios coach trip executive room bar food reception staff petrol station the sofa bed sunday morning an iron
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 757 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2017

Location is great,we were going to Wembley which it was perfect for,large car park which is also good,check in was smooth and quick,room was clean and adequate,some aspects are getting ready for a refurb but not a problem,had a good nights sleep bed was comfy and aircon helped on a hot night,breakfast was good quality and plentifull,now the bad bit,went to check out and was presented with a £70 plus pound bill for drinks £9 and the rest for breakfast,on arrival we were told breakfast would be £16 per couple,bit we were charged £16 each because we booked breakfast at the restaurant and not reception,this was explained on arrival,why you should pay more to book 3 feet away is beyond me,the girl on reception was less than helpfulland was visibly not happy with us questioning the bill,i pointed out as a ihg member this was not acceptable after 5 mins the bill was reduced the staff member then turned away from us and ignored our thank you for your help and good bye,to make matters worse for yourselves the guy at the side of me trying to check out was also having problems with his bill,on a worse scale than me,was really not happy and ruined what was otherwise a good stay.

Room tip: check your bill
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank spireboy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanR1010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Dear Spireboy69, thank you for your feedback after a recent stay. We are pleased to read that the room conditions and the breakfast met your expectations, however it is disappointing to read that your check out experience was not up to our normal standards.
We always seek to maintain the very highest standards of quality, service and through your experience with Reception we have not delivered on this. Customer feedback forms a vital part of our business and it is through your constructive comments that we are able to improve the service we offer guests at the Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead. Please be assured this will be followed up with the Front Office Manager. We do hope this will not prevent you from returning in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

Wasn't the best place I've stayed, and didn't think much to the food, scrambled eggs at breakfast tasted very powdery. Some friends ate in the restaurant Friday night and were not impressed. Staff few and far between, if it wasn't for the company, think I would have booked elsewhere

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanR1010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Dear David J, Thank you for your feedback after a recent stay. We are sorry to read that you were not completely satisfied especially with the restaurant. This is not up to our normal high levels of service or standards and again we apologise. Your comments will be passed on the Manager concerned to ensure that other guests are not disappointed in the same way. We do hope that you will consider returning in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

Simply brilliant. Clean and tidy room, clean spacious bathroom with hot, powerful shower. Free fast Wi-Fi, ample parking, friendly staff, good food. Can't fault it for the price. This will now be my main stopover hotel when working in London.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank TheMrRivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRees, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Dear TheMrRivers
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments further to your recent stay with us.
It was great to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and found all the facilities to your satisfaction whilst also providing a competitive price.
The team will be delighted to learn of your feedback and we are already looking forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead.
Thank you
Ian Rees

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for one evening while we were visiting the Harry Potter Studios, it is in the perfect location for the studios (10 min drive.) The reception and bar area was very impressive, clean and smart. The food was delicious and the bedrooms extremely clean. The beds were comfy and the pool was lovely and quiet to have a morning swim. The staff behind reception were polite and bar staff friendly.
Highly recommended.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Hollie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRees, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Dear Hollie M
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments further to your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to make the most of the facilities available. Great to know that you enjoyed the food during your stay and that the team provided a polite and friendly service experience.
Thank you
Ian Rees

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

This place is a good value hotel given that it has a pool and the cost of stay was £66 for a family room including breakfast. You can't really complain at that price even though there was scope for improvement.
The main thing I would suggest by way of improvement is the cleanliness of the leisure facilities. I found these to be in need of a deep clean. If they invested in a karcher pressure washer and just sprayed the pool area tiles, the steam room and changing room area it would make a massive difference. They were really quite filthy.
Having said that, I would definitely recommend this place for value for money family accommodation.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank rosey69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRees, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Dear rosey69
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback further to your recent stay with us.
Whilst it was great to learn that you enjoyed your overall stay with us, it was disappointing to learn of your feedback with regard to the leisure area, please be assured that your feedback has been shared with the Leisure Club Manager to ensure this issue is fully resolved.
Once again thank you for your comments.
Ian Rees

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews