We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely disappointing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Certificate of Excellence
SaFa in LonDon
1 review
“Extremely disappointing!”
Reviewed 25 December 2009

We were extremely let down by the standard of the hotel. The staff were not courteous and the rooms were shabby - very unlike the crisp style that usually flows thorough other Holiday Inn's. We felt uncomfortable using the dishes/cutlery, and I even found myself showering with sandals on! The pool area is grotty and the steam room is frightful!

There is a difference between well used and dirty. I would recommend trying a different hotel in the area.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FiZzYcUstaRd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timbo69Uk, Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review, 12 January 2010
Thank you for your review of 25th December. We are obviously dissapointed and sorry to read that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Cleanliness is a high priority for all Holiday Inns, and this hotel usually scores highly in this area in our indepentant guest satisfaction surveys. We would be pleased to discuss the problems you encountered further. Please feel free to contact our General Manager, Karl Emerick, on 0871 9429041 at a time of your convenience. Many Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    242
    86
    30
    24
See reviews for
209
113
26
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
751 reviews
231 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 751 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Stayed in an Executive Room at the Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead for 2 nights on a Dinner Experience Package. The hotel just a short drive from Junction 8 on M1.

Check in was straightforward and took just minutes, times of the Restaurant and Gym opening times were given as well as directions. Our room was on the 1st Floor.

The room was fairly spacious and came with all the perks including scales / mini bar, tea/coffee and a few magazines. The bed was very comfortable and the aircon worked a treat.

Room service on the first night was good, polite service and the meals bought up in 15 minutes. Breakfast on the 2 mornings were excellent, as commented in past reviews, a huge range of bread, cold meats/cheese as well as a hot selection.

Dinner in the restaurant could either be from the menu or from the buffet. We chose the buffet, which consisted of a small starter selection, main courses from the carvery, and roast items cut by the chef, and a small dessert selection. Food was above par, the buffet saves a lot of time and also frees up the staff to serve drinks.

The gym/pool was very good and well maintained, but tended to get very busy at times. There is a swimming lane but there was no enforcement of this lane and became a free for all, a bit offputting for avid swimmers.

Overall a great hotel, the weekend of our stay was busy with several coaches but the hotel seemed to manage very well, would stay again

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paullegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2009

Myself, partner and two year old have just spent a Saturday night at this hotel. The location is very close to the M1, and yet there was little road noise, as our room faced onto trees. There is plenty of free parking.

Check-in was fast and efficient. All the staff we came across were professional and friendly.

The overall appearance of the hotel was good, modern decor and attractive hanging baskets outside the entrance. Here and there areas were slightly tired - however, I’ve seen much worse (eg: Holiday Inn Borehamwood!).

The leisure facilities include a well-equipped gym (at least four running machines) , a decent pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam-room.

Our ground-floor room was on the compact side. However, there was still plenty of space for a cot, a reasonable desk area, good storage space and a coffee table and chair. The air conditioning worked very well, and the room decor was pretty good and all was clean.

There is ISDN in the room, this and the WiFi in the lobby are both chargeable, which in this day and age should be free.

The downsides to the room were as follows. Firstly, the needlessly prominent ‘Adult TV’ advertisement sign on the coffee table, I suspect this is a problem explaining away to enquiring children. I realise that this is on offer for the business users, but come on Holiday Inn, make it a little more discreet!

The double bed seemed very small. The TV did not have all the digital channels. The tea/coffee and bathroom toiletries were basic.

The bathroom was very small, but functional, again with good storage. The shower was very powerful, but the showerhead was not very high, I had to stoop and I’m 5ft 3! The towels were a bit rough and small.

We had drinks and a hot snack in the bar and the service was excellent. The food (promptly delivered), was hot and tasty. The main meals served in the bar were all priced at over £10 each, but this seems to be typical of North London prices.

Breakfast is served in a large bright room at the rear of the hotel, priced at £9.50 each with children eating for free. There was an excellent range of fresh and prepared fruit, fruit juices, pastries, cereals, DIY toast; and the hot buffet offered real mushrooms, decent fried eggs, good thick tasty bacon, average sausages. The scrambled egg had been made with nutmeg and cream - not to my taste. The black pudding and hash browns looked very dry and overcooked. I understand the hot breakfast is usually good here, so this may have been a one-off.

Staff bring tea/coffee to the table; this I approve of as hung-over guests wandering around with scalding pots of water near my two year old is not my idea of a relaxing breakfast (take note Premier Inn!).

At present this hotel is providing excellent value for money because they have a special advance rate of £42.00 room only. This is cheaper than Premier Inn, and of course this Holiday Inn offers a full leisure package (included in price), and a beauty salon too.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WisteriaView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2009

This was the WORST experience of my life. I will update this when I can face it - but if you would like to know more, I can forward you the litigation letters. This is NINE months on. Unbelievable. Horrendous. I don't really know what to say.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blondie_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2009

The best Holiday Inn Breakfast we`ve had in a long time. Especially the fresh Mushrooms ; also things like youghurts available which are often not. There`s a Marks and Spencer Simply food right next door, and it`s only a few seconds from the Motorway. Friendly staff and a great place to stop.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welltravelleduk454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2009

Have stayed here on three occasions in 2008, all three great experiences , one of the best Holiday Inn' s, last trip was a 70th birthday with a load of family , booked lots of rooms and had dinner in restaurant , hotel was really busy but staff really put themselves out especially restaurant manager, great food excellent breakfast , even my very picky relation was impressed,this hotel is well worth the money and the leisure club is spotless.

  • Liked — great room , very clean and I am very fussy!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mistymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2009

Our room was in a DISGUSTING STATE. We were told that they had problems over the New Year and that they were doing their best to clean and tidy things up. Find this hard to believe as the FILTH in the room looked to have been there awhile! We had breakfast which was not that great considering the price we had been charged for it. The Staff were unattentive and the food was very limited and basic. The cooked breakfast was cold and the cutlery, plates, bowls, mugs and glasses were dirty! If you have to stay in this area I would advise that you stay at The Express by Holiday Inn instead.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The fact that everything was unclean
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EMILYMAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
2.6 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Cent...
#3 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
3.1 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8

Property: Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Address: Breakspear Way, Hemel Hempstead HP2 4UA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#5 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8 is in the perfect location for business and leisure guests. The hotel is easily accessible from M1 & M25 motorways and just 1 mile from The Snow Centre, 8 miles from Luton Airport, 21 miles from Heathrow Airport 19 miles from Wembley Stadium. Getting into London is easy as the hotel is just 10 minutes from Hemel train station with direct services into London Euston. Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead combines an excellent range of facilities with 144 air-conditioned bedrooms, including 19 Executive Rooms along with family and accessible rooms. The hotel also offers a Spirit Health Club with indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, fitness gym and health and beauty products & treatments. The hotel has conference and banqueting facilities that are a perfect venue for any occasion. These rooms all feature natural daylight, high speed internet connections and Starbucks Coffee. The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead offers 3 dining options; Traders restaurant, Lounge Bar and 24 hour room service. Here at Hemel Hempstead, we are proud to welcome families so why not take advantage of our Kids Stay & Eat Free offer! The hotel is just 11 miles from Whipsnade Zoo, 27 miles from Woburn Safari Park and just 1 mile from the Snow Centre. A perfect way to keep those little ones amused! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead m1 j8 Hotel Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing