We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Textbook travelodge!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This is the best travelodge I have stayed in. A very clean and modern room, well designed, with clean bedroom and bathroom, and modern fittings. Big car park. Easy to find. Cheap. Also has the bonus of a bar with reasonably low prices, although the bottle opener in your room isn't very good.

But if you want somewhere to sleep for a night in Hemel Hempstead, this is the place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevo00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

588 - 594 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed for one night at this hotel. We were expecting a non too clean room and sofa bed. In fact we had a newly refurbished room, new mattress and 2 camp beds for the kids. As we were the only ones booked for breakfast they took our order and made it fresh. We stayed here while going to the Harry Potter Studio tour and I'd recommend it to anyone. Leon on the night made us all tea ( still the only ones there). The room was clean and the staff couldn't do enough to help us. Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed here as we were visiting the Harry Potter Studios, and also a day in London. The hotel was excellent - clean and really comfortable, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Facilities were great, as there was a Toby Carvery, a Subway and Dominoes all on site. The parking was free, and the hotel was located just off the motorway making ease of finding it incredibly easy.
We pre-booked the train tickets to London, and drove to the station (leave about 10 mins for that due to the madness of the 'magic roundabout'!), and parked at the station - a bargain £4 at the weekend.
The hotel was also ideally located for the Harry Potter Studio Tour - it took less than 20 minutes to get there (though it was a Sunday morning!).
We'd definitely recommend staying with a family if you were considering visiting either London or the studios.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We booked a stay here to coincide with a trip to the Warner Brother's Studio Tour/Harry Potter. You know what you're getting with Travelodge - budget hotel, in convenient places. This one is a fairly new build on a busy roundabout.

Positives:
-Price, room for two adults and one child, £43ish B&B
-Staff - the guy who handled our check in was perfectly pleasant, and quick.
-The bed. Lovely new mattresses, and two pillows each (we've only received 1 wafer thin pillow at other Travelodges)
-All you can eat breakfast
-Lifts to all floors, good for anyone with mobility issues
-Domino's Pizza, Subway and Toby Carvery outlets on the same site.

Negatives:
-All you can eat breakfast. Breakfast is from 08:00 - 11:00. We got there at 08:30 and all of the cooked items had run out, there was a queue waiting for replacements, which took around 15 minutes to turn up.
-7 channels on TV. No Freeview?
-No free Wi-Fi? at £10 a day, far too much.
-Noise. Room was quite quiet, but if you need to open your window (no air-con) the noise from the major road is deafening.
-Pet/Animal hairs. While my husband was carrying out his morning stretches, he got covered in cat/dog hairs. Literally hundreds of them on the floor. When we were checking out a lady was complaining that she suffered from allergies, and that her room was full of cat hairs. Not sure if this hotel 'allows' pets, or if people just smuggle them in?
-Room keys. After breakfast our room key wouldn't work, husband went back to reception where they 'did something' with the key, but it still didn't work. We eventually got a cleaner to let us in, which is not ideal as there is a potential security issue with people saying 'Oh, I can't get into my room, can you open my door for me'?

As with all Travelodges now, no toiletries or hair dryers are available in the room so do make sure you take your own, you may want to take your own towels too, as there was only one large and one hand towel in this room - not ideal for a family.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rocksavagegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Overnight stay. Clean room, quiet, spacious.
Downsides: bit mean with the toiletries (one small bar of soap), no Freeview (why on earth not?) - just a small selection of channels, no free WiFi (but could pick up a 3G signal OK).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WheelieSlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Caspar V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verbuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hemel Hempstead hotels
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
#9 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
176 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
749 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#6 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
414 reviews
2.2 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#7 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
871 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway

Address: Kitemark House Maylands Avenue, Hemel Hempstead HP2 4SQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range: £41 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing