We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in Hemel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I'm really glad that I chose Travelodge Gateway during my stay in Hemel this January. Great, fresh place with really friendly and attentive staff, and affordable prices. The quality of food (I had breakfast and dinner for two overnights) was really good too, and if you select a prepaid option for the Meal Deal, you actually get to pick any main course in the menu, not just the ones marked "MD". A hearty beef pie and a glass of beer was just what I needed at 9 p.m. after a whole day of travel! The wifi connection was fast and stable, though apparently it's only free in the lounge downstairs. The signal was strong enough, however, to reach my room at the 4th floor :) Very clean and well-maintained room and bathroom, plus a small electric kettle, some cups, tea, coffee, sugar and milk, which aren't really a standard in European hotels (Brussels...) made my life much easier. Highly recommended with no exaggeration at all!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Konrad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

588 - 594 of 609 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

Very nice, clean, good location, easy and free parking. There is subway sandwich bar, domino's pizza, toby carvery in the same park which is very useful. The Travelodge itself can beat other similar hotels around.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank IndianaBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is a nice hotel, conveniently situated off of the M1 and easy to find. There is plenty of parking and it's a short drive to the town centre. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, willingly changing my room to another I preferred. The room was clean and comfortable. The room overlooked the car park so was very quiet. Great price and overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend, we were greeted by a wonderful girl called Kelly, she was so happy and understanding of our needs. In the morning she was helping with breakfast and was always happy and polite absolutely amazing customer service...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Very helpful staff who kept the children entertained! The rooms are clean, the beds are extremely comfortable and the food is good. The only complaint would be that the dining area/lounge is soulless. In an effort to modernise they have made this area very clinical and not one that you feel that you can relax and have a drink in. The area caters for dining well (though a little too much like being in a cafeteria for my liking) but does not lend itself to being a dual purpose room in its present configuration. Some soft furnishings (sofas and tables) and dimming the lights would go along way to rectifying this. All in all, very good value for money and if I was this way again I would certainly consider staying again!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank JustinWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Excellent value if booked a few weeks in advance. Rooms modern, airy and excellent fittings. Bathroom immaculate. New beds, mattresses, pillows in all the rooms. Duvet could be doing with a heavier tog rating for the Winter but was comfortable enough.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Having booked a Travelodge for one nights stay before visiting Warner Bros Studios, was expecting a reasonably adequate room to rest. Stephen welcomed us and it is just what we needed after a days travelling. After we told him we had been on the road all day the first thing he asked was if we wanted a cup of coffee. Very friendly and helpful at 10.45pm. The room was fantastic, probably the most comfortable bed I have slept in for a hotel in this country! A fairly new hotel I think but extremely clean, easy to find and far more than I expected. Didn't think I would be shouting from the rooftops about a Travelodge!! Breakfast was great, no noise from outside the room, plenty of parking, and a few miles from the studios. Couldn't recommend it enough

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank hneymoonerinvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
#8 of 9 in Hemel Hempstead
177 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Hemel Hempstead
886 reviews
2.7 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 9 in Hemel Hempstead
420 reviews
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway

Address: Kitemark House Maylands Avenue, Hemel Hempstead HP2 4SQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range: £44 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing