We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new comfy beds!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“new comfy beds!!”
Reviewed 17 March 2014


We stopped two nights on 8th and 9th March, nice new beds really comfy, first night we were on the front and it was noisy from the busy road , but after speaking with reception we moved to the back where we had a lovely quiet room, lovely shower, in all a great stay and a great price, and central to all of Hertfordshire.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank evethepeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    148
    73
    43
    38
See reviews for
186
138
36
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Brand new hotel excellently located for both M1 and A1. Friendly staff. In addition to the hotels bar and restaurant, there is also an excellent choice of carvers and other food outlets incorporated in the same building. Good parking facilities. Would without hesitation recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Was unsure about staying here after a bad experience at podimore in Somerset but now I'm very happy with this new travel lodge. One person madeir even more enjoyable was our breakfast waiter Steven and many thanks again for the attention to detail at 7 am, thanks

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights with our baby daughter. A travel cot was provided and in place ready for our arrival so meant no faffing around with getting one put up after a very long journey.

Sharing a room with an 18m old baby is never an easy thing to do, as the excitement of having Mummy and Daddy in the same room ensures that no-one gets to bed at a reasonable time. The great thing about this hotel is there is an additional security door before you can access the room corridor, which meant that we could sit in the comfort of the hotel bar with the video monitor switched on (our room was one floor above the bar), giving us peace of mind that the baby was safe and seen. Thankfully she happily drifted off to sleep at her normal bedtime of 7pm, allowing us to creep back in a little while later.

One downside to this hotel is the noise from the road. When we first arrived in our room it was exceptionally hot (despite it being February) and although the room is fairly quiet with the windows closed, when opened to allow some air into the room the noise really was unbearable and given the location, constant throughout the night. So realistically, having the window open is not an option - I wonder how this would be if staying in high summer?

But to the positives - the hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff really go out of their way to ensure that you have everything you need, and unusually the service really doesn't seem a chore to them at all.

A particular mention to Edward, Shona and Stephen, they really should all be commended for taking customer service to the next level - well done!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor if wanting to use a baby monitor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed Monday to Friday for over six months due to working in London.
Great staff, Stephen is very helpful and ensures everything is to the customers satisfaction.
Rooms are spotless and have the new dreamer beds fitted.
I've stayed in lots of hotels over last 15years and this one is 100%..
Great network links M1,M25. M4 And train station is on £3.50 away by Taxi..

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neville R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Rooms clean and tidy, great location for Harry potter!
Staff very friendly was greeted on reception by Kelly she assisted me with breakfast even got me a takeaway box for my children because they were late up for breakfast!
For dinner we had the choice of the subway underneath or the Toby Carvary but because we were so comfortable upstairs in the hotel we enjoyed good food at a reasonable price in the bar /cafe!
Will definitely stay again!! :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wheelerclairescot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northwest
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

New travelodge, very clean, the children's beds were fold up beds, better than the pull-out sofa in the older lodges. Don't bother with their breakfast as there's a Toby Carvery below or Subway if you prefer. Quiet even though near to the road. Cheap and cheerful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumof270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hemel Hempstead hotels
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
#9 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#6 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
612 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
595 reviews
2.7 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
393 reviews
2.2 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway

Property: Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway
Address: Kitemark House Maylands Avenue, Hemel Hempstead HP2 4SQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing