We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for an overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent value for an overnight stay”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed for just one night after a visit to the Harry Potter Tour. Excellent value for money, we paid £30.00 for a family room!!. It's spotlessly clean with comfy beds. The road outside was a little noisy and there was a bit of noise from someone running around upstairs ( I assume a child) but it soon quietened down so was not a problem. A room at the back on the top floor would be your best option. Can't comment on the food as we didn't eat at the hotel. My past experience of Travelodge breakfast has not been good but that is not to say that this one would be the same.
The staff both at reception and on the bar were very helpful and very friendly.

Room Tip: Top floor not facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    148
    72
    43
    38
See reviews for
186
137
36
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Hemel Hemspead has a great choice of hotels and over the years I have stayed in many of them . I have now stayed at this particular Gateway Travelodge 3 times & have just booked to stay for 2 nights next week. Its looks and feels new & the rooms are bright, fresh & clean & well maintained. This hotel is perfected located at the entrance to one of the main industrial estates but its also easy access to London & half the price of many hotels closer to London .The staff are friendly , interested & thoughtful and a tad casual but personally I dont mind that . I have yet to eat or drink in the restaurant as female & usually stating on my own & often at check-in the only occupants are men so I perfer to buy food locally at a M&S or just down the road at a very good & large Tesco. Rooms have kettles for hot drinks , cups & plastic cups for cold drinks . There is no hair-dryer in the rooms but they are available at reception and are better than the the room tied versions. Parking is excellent . The only minus notes are that the convenient location means it sits on a busy access road on to M1 so traffic noise is unavoidable but windows closed its not too bad . Also room to room noise is not quite as insulated as another well known hotel group but in balance there is less quest movement in the corridors morning or night that Ive ever noticed in the other hotel group PLUS this is without doubt the best nightly rate in town .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Tracey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Lovely clean room and bedding, given disabled facilitated room unrequested and the only problem with that was the beds being too low and more inconvenient only one sink in bathroom and that was too low, should provide a second sink at normal height. Staff very friendly and helpful, a definite asset to the company, lovely warm and friendly welcome would be very disappointed if had to book in on a computer screen, not a way forward in this business in my opinion. Lack of crockery at breakfast major problem, luckily we weren't in a hurry, had to wait for some to be washed and then they came out wet and warm not good for cereals. Had to wait for bacon and scrambled egg salty and watery. Mugs stained and some cutlery not clean. However on the whole a pleasant stay before visit to Harry Potter Tour. Two rooms booked as family with teenagers.

Room Tip: Ask not to have disabled room if you don't need it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vyv4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

as this is one of two traveloge hotels in hemel hampstead i chose this one because it was advertised as new hotel. it was worth paying the £4 more for the room compared to the second traveloge. as it is a new hotel the image is fresh and clean. the interior was all new. the room itself was also spanking new, fresh and clean. subways and dominos pizza is in the same complex. parking is free

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank EmpressIshella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed on route to legoland Windsor. Wasnt expecting too much as we have stayed in travelodges before but we were very pleasantly surprised with this one. Friendly staff, great location and facilities, spotlessly clean cannot fault it. Glad we have booked for our return trip too!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawny031175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Convenient for my needs. Room temperature too hot but was supplied with a fan. Staff friendly and helpful.
Drink prices a little expensive and not much choice. Generally ok for an overnight stay. 3 stars.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Hotel was clean and adequately equipped. The reception staff very friendly and keen to help. Breakfast was lovely, with the choices ranging from full English, to cereal, fruit, yoghurt, pastries, etc.
Well recommended for a short stay. Hotel is apparently 20 months old now, but appears new. Family room plenty big enough for either two young children or a third adult.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Harry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hemel Hempstead hotels
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
#9 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#6 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
612 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
595 reviews
2.7 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
392 reviews
2.2 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway

Property: Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway
Address: Kitemark House Maylands Avenue, Hemel Hempstead HP2 4SQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing