We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely comfortable but let down by bar furniture and tv”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Recent updates to rooms means extra comfortable bed and updated bathroom. No drawers or storage of any kind other than hanging rail and shelf. TV limited to about 12 channels, no free channels and the only entertainment channel often out of sync. Furniture in bar/restaurant consists of cheap plastic chairs and small tables, fine for quick bite/drink but horrific for meetings or lengthy stays.
Extremely good value if you book weeks in advance, otherwise very expensive

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

559 - 565 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stayed at this travelodge for 3 days and the main reason was to go to the Harry potter studios, which is 15 mins away from the hotel. Although it's a bit out the way, a small taxi ride will take you into town to shop and eat! And the hotel has a free phone taxi service which is useful! the most enjoyable part though is the staff who are really friendly! Having general conversations and giving rough estimates on taxi prices. Kelly was extremely lovely and complimentary and it made the stay even nicer

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Humamian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The traveloge in Hemel is fantastic its clean and the staff are friendly the new manajor is so friendly and helpful couldnt ask for a better service will definetly be coming back again and again and will recommend highly to all friends and family !!!!

THANK YOU TO ALLSTAFF IN HEMEL GATEWAY TRAVELODGE FOR MAKING MY STAY ONE OF THE BEST !!!!!!!

Room Tip: 6thfloor is the quietest and CLEAN ,,,,,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We booked originally to stay at the other travelodge a mile or so no complaints when we were transferred to this hotel. Double room you'd expect there to be two towels.. one towel. Bed was lovely however hole in quilt!! Room was way too hot, no fan or air con so it was pretty much like a sauna all night with a window (restricted) open to the traffic outside wasn't the best nights sleep. Would stop again however if we were to face the car park and if what they say is true then they're getting fans in soon. Breakfast wide choice, can't complain. Staff were absolutely amazing, even saw Tom late at night then the next morning! Kelly and Tom both informative and pleasant. Credit to both

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank woodsig93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Very friendly and courteous staff. Nothing was too much trouble.
Basic but very clean.
Only downside was fan did not work in bathroom.
If you need a hairdryer dont forget to ask as they are behind reception.
A substantial and well cooked breakfast. Delicious.Big thankyou to Kelly and Lucy{ and the chef!}.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giulietta s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed in this travelodge on the way home from a expensive spa. To be perfectly honest, the room at this hotel was miles better! My room and all the communal areas were completely spotless and unblemished. The bed was so comfortable and I felt really safe as a woman travelling alone. It was reassuring that only people staying on my floor could access that particular floor with a key card.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank netpancake .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Extremely nice staff, and a very nice well maintained Hotel. Outside the approach drive was scrubland, and at first, the actual entrance driveway isn't that apparent. But, of course you can't really miss the place. The room was pleasant but very very stuffy. No Aircon. One window only which could be opened slightly, gave no ventilation, but loads of traffic noise. Sleeping with it open was not an option. No proper wardrobe. No drawer unit. No coat hooks. To be honest this room was not designed for a "Family". The pillows were stiff foam, which made sleep difficult. Tip for future ref....take our own pillows and ask for a rear bedroom. The TV had a strange very limited selection of Channels, none of which could not be viewed via the "Guide" button. Breakfast was extremely good with a wide range of choices, except where Eggs are concerned......scrambled only!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
2  Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
#8 of 9 in Hemel Hempstead
189 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Kings Langley Hotel
Premier Inn Kings Langley Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kings Langley
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway

Address: Kitemark House Maylands Avenue, Hemel Hempstead HP2 4SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range: £40 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing