We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless but hot.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Ramsgate,|Kent
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Spotless but hot.”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Very new and modern Travelodge. Large car park so no need to worry about getting a parking space. Extremely friendly staff and everywhere is spotlessly clean. The only problem is that the building was done with no air conditioning and so be warned that the bedrooms get very warm. Fans have been installed in the bedrooms to help with this but above all I will happily stay here again. Main point is that all of the staff are polite and friendly which is lovely to see.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ramsgate39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    152
    73
    43
    38
See reviews for
188
140
37
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed last night and all I can say is it was unbearably hot inside
There was a fan in the room but it made no difference at all.
It certainly needs air conditioning.
It wasn't even a hot day outside which was just as well as I dread to think of the temperature inside if it was!
I would recommend staying at a different hotel if possible.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I travelled in from abroad to see family nearby, so location was great, and check in when I arrived was quick and easy, there is bar and restaurant by reception and Toby downstairs. They were showing the world cup in the evening, and the food smelled really nice, Stephen was great, he was helping everyone out. In the morning there was a buffet breakfast, full English, but good start for the day, Tom and Kelly were fantastic, and got me a map to Harry Potter Tour (a present for my nieces), would recommend to anyone needing to stay in Hemel Hempstead, for a budget price, it wasn't lacking in service, 5 stars to the team.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I have just stayed in this hotel for 5 nights and found it very comfortable. My only complaints were that there is no Freeview TV and I was short changed on my desert in the dining room and for the cost it was pretty poor

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stay in Travelodge's all over the country as my workplace has an account with them. Most of them seem to have the heating permanently on even in the summer. Hemel gateway is by no means any exception. Fans in the hallway and fans in your rooms. They must know about the problem. Worst nights sleep ever. Ended up kip pin in the van !

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Booked and paid £85.00 for a room on 17/6/14, arrived late at 11pm and was told they had over booked the hotel, this is part of travel lodge relocation policy , small print , check it out, where they like to increase profits by gambling on how many people do not show up for there paid rooms and on late cancellations, I tried in vein to book into another hotel, but now at 11.30 pm all near by hotels were full, so I had no choice to drive tied the 20 minute journey to Luton travel lodge, In an email of complaint they said this was common practice for certain travel lodge hotels, £32.00 was refunded for extra fuel and inconvenience , Travel lodge , NEVER AGAIN !

Room Tip: Try premier inn, with a no quibble good night guarantee ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Whilst it is very unfortunate that our customer had to be relocated on this occasion, our hotel staff attempted to resolve this to the customers satisfaction by calling the customer before they arrived at the hotel. Our hotel staff are trained in how to deal with such situations and will always try to reduce the impact on the customer by finding suitable alternative accommodation as close by to the hotel as possible and we will cover the cost of any additional travel expenses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Thankfully I was only staying one night! It had been a sunny day and I was in a room overlooking the car park and the sunset!! This room was extremely hot and the fact they had a huge fan blowing in the corridor outside should have given me a clue. The window only opens an inch so no real way of venting the room even at night. The room was quite small and very basic but seemed clean and the staff were quite polite and apologetic about the temperature. I borrowed a fan from reception but this only moved hot air about and actually the noise of it kept me awake. I switched it off at 4am but still tricky to get to sleep because of the heat. If it was one of our usual grey days in the UK it probably would've been okay for a short stop.

The Toby downstairs is a bit sole-less and doesn't serve bitter, only lager and cider, and stopped serving at 10pm on a Saturday night! There is a reasonable pub about 15 minutes walk away but when I nipped there for a pint, found it to be full of the usual drunken ar#%^oles spoiling for a fight, common place on a Friday/Saturday night.

Room Tip: People say get a room facing the car park to cut down the noise but actually with the window open it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatsnapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hemel Hempstead hotels
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
#9 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#6 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
621 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
616 reviews
2.7 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
400 reviews
2.2 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#7 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway

Property: Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway
Address: Kitemark House Maylands Avenue, Hemel Hempstead HP2 4SQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing