We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, brilliant bar and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Brighouse
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic hotel, brilliant bar and service”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed whilst visiting Harry potter world. The bar staff were very friendly, good quality rooms and facilities for value, very clean and modern with cosy rooms and comfy beds, Toby carvey, dominos and sum way on site too. I would stay here again,

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corey123451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    150
    73
    43
    38
See reviews for
186
139
37
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Would recommend this hotel for its location and service, fantastic staff including Tom and Edward in the bar and reception area. There is a Toby carvery and dominos on site. Ideal for travelling to Harry potter world, or using the local ski centre.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamesrobinson92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochmaddy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

I agree with the other comments that have been made about the excessive heat in the rooms in warm summer weather. I had a room facing the busy main road, so there was also the issue of traffic noise, if leaving the window open the small amount that the restraints allow. Despite these issues, the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was fine, the food in the restaurant was surprisingly good and, as others have commented, the staff were very helpful. There is also a choice of other eateries (Subway, Domino's Pizza and Toby Carvery) on site. I've used this Travelodge a number of times now and will no doubt do so again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank NeachTurais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I rarely leave feedback but credit where it is due.

I have stayed at the Gateway on several occasions in recent months.

The hotel is very clean and modern and very high spec compared to some of the older Travelodges.

The thing that has made the difference for me is the staff and in particular Stephen. He is very polite and attentive and goes way beyond what my expectations would normally be. Even bringing me a fan to my room and helping me with with my luggage when I had a knee injury.

Keep up the good work Gateway and make sure you keep hold of Stephen!!! (please!!!)

Paul Laney

Director Laney Consulting Ltd

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laneypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I spent a long weekend in this new hotel. The rooms were functional with a good bathroom. I stayed on the fourth floor and was pleased with the lifts.
The rooms were very warm, being August it was something I was expecting, but the hotel provided a fan and offered complementary iced water.
The staff were friendly and offered good advice regarding local amenities.
A very pleasant stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shergie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The architect and planners who signed this new build off should be sacked. Room on the 6th floor was like a furnace - all night- can't open windows more than 1 inch and NO AIRCON!??? We only got to the Hotel to sleep at 11pm and it was cool outside then with folks wearing fleeces after a warm day, reception was cool temp but the Hotel got hotter and hotter as you went up, with no breeze it was suffocating. The helpful staff are aware of the problem and provide dinky little oscillating fan, but that just moves the HOT air around. Its clear that to save money Travelodge have cut corners and not had AC installed. We complained after a while as we couldn't sleep but it was full and gone midnight by then so we had no choice but to bear it. Hardly slept. Staff said so many complaints made but Head Office not dealing with it. How they have the cheek to sell the rooms that they know are unbearable in warm weather- they deserve real bad publicity. Demanded money back in morning and got it. Will never use Travelodge again- Luuuuvv Premier Inns!

Room Tip: Avoid it if at all possible -stay at the Holiday Inn. If the suns out (at all) stay on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CITYSAILOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Mearns, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a good travelodge, clean, tidy, decent bar and food ok but the rooms are boiling hot. They have now put fans in rooms but these have very little effect. I have stayed here on 4 occasions over the summer and yes it has been warm outside but it was just too hot to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MR1979_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hemel Hempstead hotels
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
#9 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#7 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
613 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
597 reviews
2.7 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
395 reviews
2.2 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway

Property: Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway
Address: Kitemark House Maylands Avenue, Hemel Hempstead HP2 4SQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing