We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not your normal Travel lodge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not your normal Travel lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

One of their updated hotels and unrecognisable from some of the older tattier offerings I'm used to not just in terms of the decor but by being staffed with several helpful members of staff rather than one poor soul trying to do everything. There is an all you can eat breakfast & hot evening meals are available but next door there is also a Subway, a Domino's pizza outlet & a Toby carvery. Hotel was v hot the day we went there but fans had been put in the rooms & corridors. V convenient for the M1 but you need to get in your car to go anywhere interesting. If you want breakfast remember the TL price includes everything, the seemingly much cheaper Toby prices next door don't.

I've given it a top rating because I paid a v competitive price, under 30 per room, via one of their deals & for this price it was excellent. If I was paying nearer top whack then I would have scored it lower.

Wifi free for 30 minutes

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    140
    71
    42
    38
See reviews for
178
131
32
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Had a lovely stay on our way to the making of Harry Potter. The staff were friendly, Tom and Edward were particularly rememberable making us feel very welcome from check-in! Rooms are nice and clean. Great location with a Toby carvery underneath where the food is great and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natz1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Ideal location for local attractions, very clean, very well staffed, Tom and Edward were great hosts making us feel very welcome from check in, would recommend to anyone looking for a good overnight stop. I would also recommend the Toby Carvery next door.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thatwontwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

It was an excellent stay where Tom and Edward were particularly helpful and obviously exceed at their jobs. The rooms are very comfortable and excellent value for money. The bar food selection will meet anyone's needs and this is an excellent place to stay for visiting Harry potter world near Watford. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martinrobinson1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed whilst visiting Harry potter world. The bar staff were very friendly, good quality rooms and facilities for value, very clean and modern with cosy rooms and comfy beds, Toby carvey, dominos and sum way on site too. I would stay here again,

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corey123451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Would recommend this hotel for its location and service, fantastic staff including Tom and Edward in the bar and reception area. There is a Toby carvery and dominos on site. Ideal for travelling to Harry potter world, or using the local ski centre.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamesrobinson92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochmaddy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

I agree with the other comments that have been made about the excessive heat in the rooms in warm summer weather. I had a room facing the busy main road, so there was also the issue of traffic noise, if leaving the window open the small amount that the restraints allow. Despite these issues, the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was fine, the food in the restaurant was surprisingly good and, as others have commented, the staff were very helpful. There is also a choice of other eateries (Subway, Domino's Pizza and Toby Carvery) on site. I've used this Travelodge a number of times now and will no doubt do so again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank NeachTurais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hemel Hempstead hotels
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Cent...
#3 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#5 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
2.2 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West...
#6 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway

Property: Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway
Address: Kitemark House Maylands Avenue, Hemel Hempstead HP2 4SQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing