We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO FOOD AFTER 8.30PM !!”

The Olde Leather Bottle
Ranked #115 of 163 Restaurants in Hemel Hempstead
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
STEVENAGE
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“NO FOOD AFTER 8.30PM !!”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Guided by earlier favourable reviews, I took a friend who had only just moved to Hemel Hempstead and wanted to find a reliable eatery.
The signs outside boasted "Food Served All Day".
They can be taken down.
Arriving at 8.30pm we were told abruptly "Sorry, everything has now been switched off in the kitchen, for the night".
8.30pm !!
We ended up at "The Midland" on Adeyfield Road, with friendly bar staff who guided us through their selection of beautiful Thai curries. Yummy .
We'll be back ........... but not to The Olde Leather Bottle.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StevenageFullEnglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    12
    4
    9
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Leather bottle needs a new chef.”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We visited the Leather bottle on 16th November 2013. As there were hardly any people in there we were expecting fairly decent service but waited ages for the meals. My soup was cold and the doorstep bread was two soft rolls out of the freezer with the crust broken off whilst frozen. The tacos turned up with out any of the salas etc and it was served like a chilli con carne on top as you would with rice. The other meal 'pie of the day' was passable but not particularly hot. We did get a refund for two meals but the comments by the door come hungry leave happy was definately not true to form.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyS974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it..”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Fantastic again, great food and 1st class service I think I will have my company party here, love Lilly she is great, tall bloke needs a bit more training but was very polite

Helpful?
Thank Matthew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dont eat here until a new chef has been employed!!!!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

In the summer we ate here and was very satisfied..... However, as the months have gone on things have gone really down hill .......... 9 of us went for a meal last night. Food was horrific! They definitely need a new chef who can cook more than a mixed grill!

The soup was very thick and lumpy!
Lasagne only had one layer and the top was very burnt
Fish was hard.
Mash potato was very, very stiff
Pie had been microwaved and was soggy!
Sausages were burned
Liver was disgusting.......

We only paid for 1 meal and our drinks. Very disappointing for a 21st birthday celebration meal. Avoid eating here at all costs !
The only positive was the waitress was lovely !!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank familyf0rever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad food, stroppy service! ”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Visited The Olde Leather Bottle for lunch with family, can definitely say we aren't pleased with the service or the food!

We were in a party of 4 on a Friday (which wasn't terribly busy at 1.30pm) so were expecting a rather good service.

Firstly, we had to wait a fair amount of time to be served the food we ordered, which wasn't that bad considering they've clearly got one chef, but being a small pub, you'd expect fairly prompt service.

Secondly, the food arrived and we were shocked at the quality - on our table we had ordered 3 BBQ chicken stack meals and a burger meal - the chicken was bland and so grossly overcooked you could knock on it and hear a wood-like sound! One member of our party found a large, sharp bone in his chicken, which could have killed someone! The burger meal (which I had) was bland and cheaply made despite the fact they charge you £9.95 for it! I'd expect to pay no more than £5 for such bad quality food. To be honest I could make it better myself!

Thirdly, when (after we had finished) we told the waitress about the bone and generally overpriced food, we were told we "should have said" sooner. The waitress then mumbled about telling the chef about the bad food. When she returned to collect our remaining plates she did not offer us any further apologies and slammed things around. We got the impression she couldn't be bothered which is not acceptable.
Needless to say, we will not be returning or wasting any more money here and I would implore everyone reading to do the same!

Helpful?
1 Thank Pandagotchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Olde Leather Bottle also viewed

Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Olde Leather Bottle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing