We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Brilliant change”
Review of The Green Man

The Green Man
Ranked #117 of 163 Restaurants in Hemel Hempstead
Cuisines: Pub, Gastropub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Brilliant change”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Went Here with some friends last night and thought it deserved a mention on trip advisor, I like to have a look on trip advisor before I visit places to eat although there was one bad review since its been referbished I thought I would give it ago being that my friends did not what to travel far and the only other option would be the leather bottle.... no I have read there reviews!!!!!!!!

Gone are the tv's instead a nice relaxing atmosphere candles on the tables great food and great service and a nice comunity feel as everyone seemed to know Dawn and Alice the mother daughter duo behind the bar and on the floor they seemed to be constantly smiliey and helpful even though it was just the two of them

Will be sure to come back as cocktails are 241 on a friday and saturday and my wife loves a drink or 5 :)

Well done keep up the good work

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alsyapal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    36
    25
    14
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Excellent service and menu”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The spacious, excellent service and clean feeling restaurant was a very enjoyable experience. Prices were realistic for what was served and staff were friendly and efficient. Thank you for a lovely meal!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ZAM18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cracking ”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Went to the green man after hearing about the refurb and it has certainly changed! Good food good drink brilliant staff keep up the good work guys, definitely doing it right.

Helpful?
1 Thank BeerSnobsStA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Classic pub with a classy twist!!”
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We have been visiting the Greenman since we were both young children and what can I say, it only gets better with every weekly visit. From it's unbelievably friendly, hospitable, welcoming, gracious staff members to it's delicious, taste bud tingling dishes on offer, it never fails to disappoint. Dawn. What a woman. Been there since day one and the mother of the establishment, with a constant smile on her face and always willing to help in any way possible. Raife. A happy little bundle of joy, great things come in small packages and he's a prime example of that! Alice. What a polite young lady and the spitting image of Dawn, they could be related! Always checking up on the customers and asking if they need anything more, going above and beyond her job requirements. Amy. The hot chocolate connoisseur! Always glowing, what a little ray of sunshine. Maria. The kitchen queen, never failing to produce the world class dishes that are available at the Greenman. And finally, the lady behind this world class establishment. Heather. What a powerful and inspirational woman to be able to provide the outstanding service that we receive every time we visit. All we can say is the refurb is the best thing to happen to the leverstock green area. Many thanks to the team at the Greenman.

From Jordan and Paige xoxo

P.S- Try the chicken and chorizo salad- you won't regret it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Paigehall8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow scotland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic service”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Love the refurb, went in with family who were visiting from over sea. We all had a different dish from the menu and the food was great as were the staff who were attentive without us feeling over whelmed. We got great value for our money and will be back soon. Special mention for Raefe and Matt well done.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank phone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Green Man also viewed

Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
 
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Green Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing