We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food with excellent service!”
Review of The Green Man

The Green Man
Ranked #113 of 158 Restaurants in Hemel Hempstead
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic food with excellent service!”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I have had several meals now here and I can honestly say they have been fantastic! The curry and a beer deal is brilliant and I had a burger the other day which was really good. There is a great selection of drinks also. The staff are very friendly and especially Maria who gave excellent service with a smile! She deserves a pay rise!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Warren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    36
    25
    13
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice relaxing friendly atmosphere, knowledgable staff.”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Went there with a group of girl friends on a Saturday night as a last minute desicion since it had been refurbished & it's my local.
Honestly wasn't sure what to expect as previously wasn't great there.
As you walk in the difference is unbelievable fresh, clean, tidy and had a warm relaxed atmosphere with candles dotted around.
The bar staff were so helpful and full of knowledge especially Matt who made a variety of cocktails and shots which was just what we wanted to start our evening. We ended up staying all night and will be heading there for girls nights in the future.
Followed up by with tues evening visit for a bite to eat and a quiet chat with family. Again top notch service & good food which we couldn't fault. Will definitely return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louhemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great pub grub”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Excellent pub just outside Hemel Hempstead. Newly refurbed, serving great food and a surprising selection of quality drinks. The bar staff are a great bunch, and really added to the atmosphere. Recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Brilliant change”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Went Here with some friends last night and thought it deserved a mention on trip advisor, I like to have a look on trip advisor before I visit places to eat although there was one bad review since its been referbished I thought I would give it ago being that my friends did not what to travel far and the only other option would be the leather bottle.... no I have read there reviews!!!!!!!!

Gone are the tv's instead a nice relaxing atmosphere candles on the tables great food and great service and a nice comunity feel as everyone seemed to know Dawn and Alice the mother daughter duo behind the bar and on the floor they seemed to be constantly smiliey and helpful even though it was just the two of them

Will be sure to come back as cocktails are 241 on a friday and saturday and my wife loves a drink or 5 :)

Well done keep up the good work

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alsyapal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
174 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Excellent service and menu”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The spacious, excellent service and clean feeling restaurant was a very enjoyable experience. Prices were realistic for what was served and staff were friendly and efficient. Thank you for a lovely meal!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ZAM18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Green Man also viewed

Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Green Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing