We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

What a wonderful experience staying at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead. Lead by an amazing GM Suzanne, all of the team are wonderful. It really feels like I am coming home when I arrive at this hotel. The entire team make you feel like you are a part of their family. It is a lovely place to stay, and one that I would recommend to everyone. The team lead by Suzanne with Michael, Lee (always amazing....), Natalie, Mizane, Joe and Mike are wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raelene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you so much Raelene for such fantastic feedback regarding your stay. We are all so pleased that you are enjoying your time at the hotel and that we are making you feel at home whilst staying with us. It is always so lovely to hear such positive comments regarding the hotel and team and I have ensured that the team members have been rewarded for your feedback.
Kind regards,
Suzannah Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    282
    95
    23
    7
See reviews for
266
174
33
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
All over the UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night on business and this has to be one of the better ones in the hotel chain. Room was spotless and I could not find fault with anything. Staff were helpful and welcoming. There is a pub next to the hotel which serves excellent food, not that there was anything wrong with the food offered by the Holiday Inn, just limited to choice, breakfast was good and is included in the price, something you would pay in excess of £8.00 for at another budget hotel chain !

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Baby_BMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you for your feedback, it is always great to hear that our guests enjoy their stay - we do hope to welcome you back soon.
Many thanks
Suzannah Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wye, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

My husband, myself and our 16 year old daughter stayed here at the end of June for 1 night. It was cold and wet outside but the room was lovely and warm. The sofa bed was very comfortable. The shower room and toilet were small but well designed and everything was spotlessly clean. We even had 3 towels which is often not the case when we book a room for 3. Staff at check-in were friendly and helpful but I have to give a 5 star to the barman, Michael. He was especially friendly, helpful and very obliging.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Decner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you for taking to time to write about your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Express. It is lovely to hear that you found us excellent value for money and that you had a comfortable and warm stay. Thank you also for the lovely comments about Michael - it is always so nice to hear great feedback about the team. Thank you again and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Many thanks
Suzannah Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glos
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed as a family here last weekend. I had to go and find someone to check us in as the waitress ignored us. Room was really tight for a family as it uses sofabed. It was clean and breakfast was good, although no one checked us in to breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tteegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead and may I apologise that the reception desk was un manned when you arrived. I have passed this feedback onto my team to ensure this does not happen again. I am pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast and that you found the hotel to be clean. We do hope you will choose the Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead again in the future where we can welcome you back.
Kind regards,
Suzannah Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

This hotel is one i return to time & time again when working in Leavesden.
It well positioned, quite, immaculate furnishings. Onsite carpark is great & if travelling by train then station is only a few 100 yards away.
The pub next door is a bonus & does great food

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buzby4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Thank you for your fantastic comments regarding your stays at the Holiday Inn Express. It is great to hear such positive feedback from our guests regarding our location, local amenities and about the hotel itself. We are so pleased that you choose to stay with us time and time again. We will definitely be looking forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
Suzannah Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012 via mobile

I happened to stumble across this hotel after being turned away from the Premier inn as they do not accept dogs.
All things happen for a reason, and it was the perfect choice for me.
I was checked in very efficiently, and took the lift to my room on the 5 th floor.
This hotel is on a main road, but I did not hear any traffic noise. My room overlooked the car park.lets face it this was not at the seaside so no problem there.
I had a choice of hard or soft pillows, and the linnen was crisp yet soft. The bed was comfy.
The curtains had black out lining ...perfect for a lie in.
I only had a shower no bath, but all very clean.
Tea and coffe facilities in the room and a flat screen tv and a hair dryer come as standard.
For a one night stay it was perfect. Buffet style breakfast was ample, and Lee in the bar a great help and laugh.
The location is perfect. Apsley train station is almost opposite and so I'm told falls under day travel card to London.
Behind the hotel is the Grand Union Canal. It's a pretty green walkway with long boats moored in the water and a pub on the banks. It forms part of the Grand Union Canal walk, London.there are various restaurants along the way too. A great Unexpected find.
Grand Union Canal Walk, geared for dog walkers with bins along the way.i will be back to explore the area in greater detail

Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank alwayssmiling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express. I am so pleased that we were able to accomodate you and your dogs. I am also so pleased that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. I have passed on your comments to Lee regarding your comments - it is always lovely to receive lovely feedback about the team. We do look forward to your return visit where we can welcome you back.
Many thanks,
Suzannah Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We had a very pleasant stay here. The staff were helpful and friendly from the moment we checked in. We changed rooms initially, as the first one we were given smelt of smoke. The room was changed without any fuss. Although the rooms are on the small side, they are well designed and we still had plenty of room even though we were using the sofa bed.

The hotel is on the same site as a Fullers pub, which provided a convenient spot for a place to eat. A large Sainsburys is a short walk away, which we found handy for snacks.

Breakfast was adequate for our needs - the usual help yourself Holiday Inn Express buffet.

Car parking presented no problems.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased that you had a pleasant stay and found the staff to be friendly and helpful. I am sorry about your first room smelling of smoke, I have spoken to housekeeping to ensure that we are made of aware of any previous guests who may of smoked in the room. We do hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.
Many thanks
Suzannah Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#6 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
621 reviews
1.6 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
400 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#7 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
5.9 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gatew...
#5 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Address: Stationers Place | Apsley Lock, Hemel Hempstead HP3 9RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the well-linked Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead hotel, a short drive from local businesses and 2 minutes' walk from Apsley train station. The inviting Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead is just 10 minutes by car from the handy A4251, M1 and M25. You can take off from London Luton Airport, 25 minutes' drive away, and reach central London in 30 minutes by train. We offer free parking on-site and you can set yourself up for the day with an inclusive buffet breakfast in our comfortable Great Room. Book a meeting for 40 in one of our 3 meeting rooms and stay connected with free Wi-Fi. We're 10 minutes' drive from local companies on Maylands Avenue and Breakspear Way. You can take to the slopes at the The Snow Centre in 5 minutes. Our family rooms sleep up to 2 adults and 2 children under 12 and kids stay free when sharing a room with parents. Spend a relaxing evening with friends over drinks or dinner in the Great Room lounge or simply relax in your comfortable and convenient guest room with modern decor, an en-suite with power shower and a 32-inch flatscreen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead Hotel Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing