We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8(Hemel Hempstead)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$94
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Watermill Hotel(Hemel Hempstead)
US$102
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel(Hemel Hempstead)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$79
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shendish Manor Hotel(Hemel Hempstead)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$122
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel(Hemel Hempstead)(Great Value!)
US$89
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel(Hemel Hempstead)(Great Value!)
US$83
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Travelodge
View Deal
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway(Hemel Hempstead)(Great Value!)
US$59
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$83
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Two Brewers Hotel(Chipperfield)
US$75
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (780)
Filter reviews
780 results
Traveller rating
345
299
105
24
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
345
299
105
24
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsapsley stationsausagebeanscalzoneapsley locktrain stationcanal sidethe grand union canalfree breakfastharry potterhot itemscar parkan indianhi expressnice pubincluded in the pricepub next door
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
628 - 633 of 780 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Stayed here for one night and although it is all pretty basic (it is a Holiday Inn after all) it's very clean and modern and has everything you need. Our room had a grass bunker just outside the window, so you did feel like you were underground a bit but can't be helped. The only slightly weird thing was how the door of the bathroom also doubled up as the loo door... But apart from that, all very handy and the location is great (literally across the road from the station).

Try the Paper Mill pub on the lock - gorgeous!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank GracemcCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2012

Thank you very much for leaving feedback regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead. I am pleased to hear that you found the hotel to be clean and modern, and in a handy location for Apsley train station. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.
Kind regards,
Suzannah Richardson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Stayed for one night. I think it must have been quite considering the rate that our corporate Tavel agent got the room for (around €40) and you could actually get a space in the main car park. I got a room at the back which was much quieter than those facing the road.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
Thank UkSil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2012

Thank you for your review, I am pleased you found our hotel of value for your stay and that you had a good experience. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Suzannah Richardson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

The hotel is typically HIExp - but nothing wrong in that.
All that you need for a short stay.
The best USP for me is location. Directly opposite Apsley train station with easy connections into Watford/Euston/Waterloo etc. Particularly useful if you want to park your car & go to a sporting/arts/shopping venue & have a few beers!
The breakfast is self service & fairly basic. However, it is also inclusive, so again O.K. as long as you don't stay for too many nights.
(p.s.Hotel built on the former Basildon Bond Stationery Mill - Trip Advisor Hotel Review written electronically - Pathos, irony?)

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the car park are quieter
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ekalbab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review about your stay at the Holiday inn Express Hemel Hempstead. I am very pleased that you find the location of our hotel to be very convenient for travelling by train into Central London with this only taking 30 mins to Euston. We do hope you will choose to stay with us for your next stay.
Kind regards,
Suzannah Richardson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Stayed here with my two daughters, one of them stays in holiday inns regularly and this she says was the best she had stayed in!. The greeting we received was great the young man took his time to enquire why we were there and gave us information and directions check in speedy. The room was spotless, there was plenty of choice next day for breakfast, and was replenished without request. In a nice area too, would stay here again, loved it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biggles199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2012

Thank you for your lovely feedback, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you found the check in to be efficient, the room spotless and you enjoyed our Express Start Breakfast.
We do hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind regards,
Suzannah Richardson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

I have used this hotel on many occasions and on a positive note I will be using again and other than possibly the Shendish manor will be choosing this over the other hotels in the area.
Similar to another reviewer this is one of my best Holiday Inn Express experiences and the team deserve the recognition for running a good hotel.
Check in and out is always quick, efficient and helpful.
The rooms are good (for the price) good beds, tv, tea making air con. Bathrooms are small but functional. The rooms are always very clean and well serviced.
There is a bar and seating area near reception and a basic restaurant area for evening meals and breakfast.
Breakfast is always well managed by the staff, good selection, well stocked and kept tidy.
A Free paper on offer in reception.

So why only three stars after highlighting so many good things? Well there are a few quite frustrating things that can and should be improved

The car parking is a regular problem, simply too few spaces so I often end up parking elsewhere and worrying I am going to get clamped or charged or broken into

The evening meals offered by the hotel are terrible, I tried once and never again, so I always have to eat out.

Some of the rooms on the first floor are very noisy as they are below the hard floor of the bar area and next to frequently used storage rooms which makes for a terrible nights sleep.

Room Tip: AVOID ROOM 119. Try and get an upper floor facing the canal.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docscooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Dear guest, thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stays at the hotel. I am very happy to hear the positive comments regarding the hotel and it is nice to hear the positive feedback regarding the team. These comments are shared amongst the team and they share the same vision to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay and want to return. I am sorry to hear that you do not enjoy our evening dinner menu and that you also find some of the rooms to be noisy. I am also sorry that car parking is a problem and unfortunately we do only have limited spaces which are on a first come first serve basis. Please be advised that extra car parking can be found near to the Papermill Pub. Thank you again for your feedback, we always take all guest comments on board to work towards improving our service standards.
We do hope to see you soon.
Kind regards,
Suzannah Richardson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews