We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Nearby Hotels
The Watermill Hotel(Hemel Hempstead)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shendish Manor Hotel(Hemel Hempstead)(Great Value!)
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8(Hemel Hempstead)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel(Hemel Hempstead)(Great Value!)
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel(Hemel Hempstead)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel(Hemel Hempstead)(Great Value!)
US$77
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway(Hemel Hempstead)(Great Value!)
US$55
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$56
Travelodge
View Deal
US$77
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Two Brewers Hotel(Chipperfield)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (785)
Filter reviews
785 results
Traveller rating
346
301
106
25
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
346
301
106
25
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsapsley stationsausagebeanscalzoneapsley locktrain stationcanal sidethe grand union canalfree breakfastharry potterhot itemscar parkan indianhi expressnice pubincluded in the pricepub next door
Filter
Updating list...
619 - 624 of 785 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We stayed as a family for a day at the Harry Potter Studios tour and found it to be perfect for our needs. The room was slightly small for 4 but as we were not here for a holiday it more than sufficed and most importantly it was clean and everything looked modern and functioning.

There are a few comments below by others who had bad breakfast experiences but there wasn't a problem which we were there. Everything was fully stocked and working. My personal complaint would be the choice of sausages instead of bacon in the small cooked breakfast section but for a free breakfast included for the whole family you really can't complain.

Location for the studio tour was excellent and the staff on the desk obviously have a lot of guests staying for the same reason as us and are quick to offer advice on directions.

Parking was no problem too, something else thats sometimes mentioned as a problem.

All in all a good stay in a "budget" hotel that delivers.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor facing away from the road and it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BournemouthFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

First the good news. The hotel was clean and comfortable and the facilities good, given the price range. The only slight problem was that I couldn't comment on the hotel's own comment card as the only one in the room had already been filled in by the previous guest! But, oh dear, the breakfast! When we got down (an hour before breakfast finished) they had run out of sausages, eggs, beans, glasses, cups, plates and juice and the tea and coffee machine wasn't working. There were lots of people milling around so when any of the above items arrived there was a great crush to get hold of it and then a wait for the next item to arrive. It's a shame because it really spoilt what could have been a good stay. They really need to get this right as I'm not sure I would be prepared to stay there again and have to face the breakfast lottery.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norbold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2013

Dear Norbold, thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I am so sorry that the breakfast experience was a shambles and please be assured that myself and the team are working hard to ensure these incidents do not happen again and are putting extras measures in to be able to manage a busy morning breakfast. I am extremely pleased that you found the hotel clean and comfortable and you liked our facilities.
Guest feedback is of the utmost importance to us and I thank you again for sharing your recent experience.
We do hope this incident has not deterred you from using Holiday Inn Express again in the future.
Yours sincerely
Suzannah Richardson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

We regularly use the chain and this is one of the best. Great service, easy car parking and Apsley locks have several good restaurants. It is only 30 minutes to euston by train - the stop is a few minutes away.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timbonew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We are a family of 4 and were looking for a convenient hotel to visit Warner Bros Making of Harry Potter tour. This hotel couldn't have been better. We stayed 3 nights and were only 5 miles from the attraction a bonus was we were literally across the street from the railway station and a direct line into central London.

We booked 2 rooms with a joining internal door. I managed to purchase a fantastic advance rate which included breakfast. The rooms and toilets were spotless and spacious. Hotel staff were helpful and extremely friendly. The Hotel reception area had an adequate bar and sold snacks, there was also ample free parking.

All in all we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lithgy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the Holiday Inn Express on a Saturday night and had a lovely family room. Cannot fault the room it was perfect but they really need to improve on Breakfast. I am not sure if they were disorganised or short staffed but I had to ask repeatedly for clean cutlery, glasses for juice and when the hot food was going to be replaced. I then found the toaster was broken! I am not one to complain so didn't but have had better breakfasts in other hotels

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Dear Nik, thank you for taking the time to inform us about your recent stay and thank you for your feedback. I am extremely sorry about the situation at breakfast and pleased be informed this is something we are currently looking into to ensure the staffing levels are correct and when equipment brakes down we have an alternative solution available. I am extremely pleased that you liked the family room and that you could not fault this. We do hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future and thank you again for choosing Holiday Inn Express.
Kind regards,
Suzannah Richardson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews