We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location for commuting to London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Certificate of Excellence
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good location for commuting to London”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Nice rooms clean and tidy no complaints here. We had forgotten out toothbrushes and when asked for the complimentary ones were told none available so. The day after requested other complimentary items which also they had none. Not good baring in mind the notice in the bathroom reminding you these could be requested.

Breakfast was limited but nice..... The area containing the food is way too small for the amount of people and quite dangerous with people bumping into each other with hot food and drinks. This is constructive criticism , maybe have a queue system which I have expiriences in many hotels in London to limit the flow of.people or move the drinks elsewhere in the dining room.

Overall though a good stay for the price. And do shop around I was told by the hotel when enquiring about rates there's would be the cheapest and they don't sell out to other companies. Be aware that they do as we got a cheaper deal through an online travel company so shop around !!!!!!!! Feel mislead express holiday inn !!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maz57SouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Maz57SouthYorkshire, thank you for your review of your recent stay. I am extremely sorry to hear that we had run out of the 'forgotten something' toothbrush and toothpaste and for the other item you had also requested. We will ensure our ordering of these items is looked at to ensure we have sufficient stock in future. I am pleased to hear that you liked our rooms and breakfast and thank you for the feedback on the queue system which we will be sure to look into. May I also apologise that you were mis led with the information with your booking - we do offer a best price guarantee so I will be looking into this after your feedback from your stay.
Thank you again and we do hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Suzannah Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    270
    94
    23
    7
See reviews for
258
166
33
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Staying here from 13 oct to 19 Oct 13 for a business trip.

Location wise good, across the road is Apsley station and you can go directly to Euston (30 mins) and go around central of London.
Also walkable to Sainsbury hypermart.
Peaceful place to rest.

Standard room and standard bath room, although they have problem with the drainage for the shower, it always stagnant and need to wait few minutes until the water can flow to the drain.
Because whole day outside, so I didn't bother much to comment and ask to change room. I think you can fixed the drainage on room 232 please.

The tv channel also not much, but still viewable.

They clean the room everyday.

WIfi connection not bad, the speed still in the average.

Breakfast everyday is the same, so after 2 days i started to eat my cup noodles.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank -mikhairov-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Mikhairov, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.. I'm am pleased that you found our location to be convenient for the station and local amenities. Thank you for advising us of your room number - we have already looked at the drainage in that room to ensure that this is now cleared. I am sorry that you did not like the options available on our free breakfast buffet offering and do hope this will not deter you from using Holiday Inn Express in the future.
Kind regards,
Suzannah Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed here the weekend of the 19th. Prebooked on the internet and entered my card details incorrectly I received a call 2 days before my stay from an incredibly rude person saying if I hadn't paying by 5 my room would be cancelled. Checked my bank rang back and realised my mistake. The call could have been handled much better. I said I hadn't got any calls from this number. I was told in no uncertain terms I had recorded 2 calls! When we got to the hotel we were given a key. No hello no directions on how to find the room (granted an idiot can follow signs) but it's nice to be pointed in the right direction. The room itself was clean and comfy enough. The bathroom was a nightmare not sure if they were all like this but ours had a hideous plastic shower seat and was a wet room. The wet room bit is fine until you slip and you have water all over the bathroom. because the shower seat sticks out so far you wollop the seat if you get to close to the shower. I had a 'river facing room' nice and quiet :) and a big thumbs up to the maids who were nice and quiet no loud voices and no banging trolleys :) breakfast was free but crap. No real choice. All there was hot wise was sausage. Beans and scramble egg. Granted your bot going to please everyone but more choice would have been better. We sacked breakfast of for mcdonalds the second morning. When we checked out the woman serving was also unfriendly. She didn't ask how out stay was nor did she seam to care.
Location wise ideal. Easy to get to and down the road from sainsbury. And a pub over the road which looked nice enough.
We paid 90 for 2 nights if I had paid full price 125 ( or there abouts) I would be wanting a hell of a discount this isn't a 125 quid a room it's a 50 pound room at most. It's basic and the staff don't care. If you want a place to lay your heAd that's fine but if you want someone to say hello and your stomach full the next morning don't bother.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruthadie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeputyGM2013, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Good afternoon Ruth,

Sorry you didn't enjoy your recent stay.

We fully accept and take on board the points you have raised, which I am currently looking into and hope after today during our monthly meeting they will no longer prove a problem for our valued guests.

Thank you for the time taken to list your experience and I hope it doesn't deter you from using the brand IHG Hotels for any forthcoming experiences.

Should you want to discuss this matter further please contact me direct at the hotel.

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

I visited this hotel for an overnight stay on the 18th of October 2013.
It was my 3.5year anniversary with my boyfriend and we decided to visit Harry Potter Studios. We wanted somewhere comfortable but inexpensive.

I was VERY impressed with this hotel. It was clean, modern and the staff were friendly. We checked in around 6:30pm and were met by a very polite, friendly female staff member. Our booking was checked and we were given a card for our hotel key, told about the free breakfast timings and asked if we wanted the wifi code. We were also told where I room was located which really helped us find it quickly.
On entering the room, I was a bit confused by the electrics, you need to pop your card in a slot in the wall to activate them, however once done, the room was fantastic. Clean, modern, everything you might need. It was comfortable to stay in for the evening, it gave me one of the best nights sleep I've ever had, the bed was so comfortable, i wanted to take it home with me!

Bedding was clean, we had a set of firm pillows and a set of soft pillows which was again, fantastic as my partner wants firm and I want soft. We forgot our shampoo and shower gel but some was in the shower so we were well provided for.

After my lovely nights sleep, we wondered down to the breakfast at 10am, as it's hidden behind a wall, the receptionist (who looked like a manager) told us where it was and what to do. We found the choices really good, hot food, sausages, egg and baked beans with toast. Pastries, cereals, semi skinned milk, tea, coffee, orange juice and fruit. Perfect for everyone's diets.

Afterwards, we went back upstairs and had enough time to relax, pack and set ourselves for travel without having to rush out as check in was 12pm. We left at half 11.

I'd stay there again and again. It was a fantastic nights sleep and I'd recommend it for a weekend stay.

Room Tip: I got room 321 which was facing the back and away from the road. Floor 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Renate
Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding your recent stay. It is so lovely to hear such fantastic feedback and its these comments that make our day as we love to make our guests feel at home. I have shared your review with the team who were extremely pleased that they had made your stay so enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Kind regards,
Suzannah Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Rooms small, beds very uncomfortable. shower room stinks of mould and damp. High powered halogen lamp outside shining through window all night . Tight with the coffee tea sugar milk . Expensive drink. Receptionist nice and friendly the only good point

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter2013k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
I am sorry to hear your comments regarding your recent stay with us. If you could please contact me on gm@expresshemel.co.uk so that I can find your reservation details and look into the room issues you have mentioned. Great to hear the lovely comments about the team which will be shared with them.
Regards,
Suzannah Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Love the hotel and location, rooms lovely and clean! Staff on arrival really nice but rooms weren't ready, not a problem made payments on the 3 rooms we booked. Got back about 8pm with tired kids and adults to face an arrogant ''git'' on the reception so unhelpful, spoke down to us and generally unhelpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marie-ann p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeputyGM2013, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for the review Marie-ann p

I would very much like an opportunity to discuss your recent stay with us on a one to one basis.

Please contact me on:

Michael
deputy@expresshemel.co.uk
01442 206 600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

I find this a very OK hotel. Especially for an Express hotel to be. It seems quite new and/or well kept. I stayed at this hotel for four nights and had breakfast two of the days. Quite basic selection, but anyway what you need. Tasty sausages too. WiFi available everywhere in the hotel, and a stable signal. The bed was to my liking, and I slept well. Also, the room temperature was good. A clean and modern bathroom incl. a LED night lamp (great so you don't need to switch on the full light) and - worth to mention in England - the tap is a modern one-handle system and not the separate hot/cold taps often seen in the Country. The bar in the reception area serves some basic but very OK dishes, and often they have a meal/drink combo at a favorable price too. As it is likely I will have more stays in the area, I will definitely try to book this hotel as my first choice.

Room Tip: Room in 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bent N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Great to hear that you enjoyed our free WiFi and enjoyed our free breakfast as well as having a good nights sleep. It is always our aim to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay. We will look forward to welcoming you back again soon on your return visit.
Kind regards,
Suzannah Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#6 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Cent...
#3 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kings Langley Hotel
Premier Inn Kings Langley Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kings Langley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
5.9 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Address: Stationers Place | Apsley Lock, Hemel Hempstead HP3 9RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the well-linked Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead hotel, a short drive from local businesses and 2 minutes' walk from Apsley train station. The inviting Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead is just 10 minutes by car from the handy A4251, M1 and M25. You can take off from London Luton Airport, 25 minutes' drive away, and reach central London in 30 minutes by train. We offer free parking on-site and you can set yourself up for the day with an inclusive buffet breakfast in our comfortable Great Room. Book a meeting for 40 in one of our 3 meeting rooms and stay connected with free Wi-Fi. We're 10 minutes' drive from local companies on Maylands Avenue and Breakspear Way. You can take to the slopes at the The Snow Centre in 5 minutes. Under-18s stay for free when sharing with their parents in one of Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead's welcoming family rooms. Spend a relaxing evening with friends over drinks or dinner in the Great Room lounge or simply relax in your newly refurbished guest room with modern decor, an en-suite with power shower and a 32-inch flatscreen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead Hotel Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing