We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed for 2 nights due to the close location to the Warner Bros studio tour. Clean and comfortable as you would expect with HIX with good size family room. Breakfast was fine, although the scrambled egg wasnt especially appetising. Reception recommended the pub next door for an evening meal or an Italian restaurant less than 5 minute walk away, over the river. The pub was full but the restaurant was well worth the short walk. Car park was full but found space in the overflow area. Booked early and got a very good rate. Its a 10 minute drive to WB, Train station over the road is only a half hour trip into London if you wanted to do that. Staff helpful and attentive.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John666ftm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (760)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 760 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. Room clean, will find free, breakfast adequate.

Staff: reception when we arrived very helpful and friendly.
Staff at breakfast, two wonderful ladies who were very helpful and pleasant.

Young man working ignorant, in fact didn't smile or said good morning, being pleasant cost nothing.
when checking no one on reception and had to wait five minutes at least and I went to find someone. The young man who came was the same lad from breakfast, didn't ask if everything had been ok with our stay just checked our room number and basically said we owed nothing and carried on to the next desk. Not the best customer service.

Breakfast: food lovely but I would suggest moving the rotary toast machine as it is in a corner and not very accessible and causes a bottle neck where you can't move.

Rooms: lovely rooms but beds could do with being king size.
Quite room, lovely.
We hung our towels over rail on first day when used for the "environmental policy" as the sign says in the bathroom but they were still changed????
Parking: get there early.
Overall: nice budget hotel, Near railway station for london trains.

Staff all need to be consistently friendly that's all that lets it down.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I spent 3 nights there. It was the cheapest holiday inn express in London at the moment, and I chose this place. It was fabulous stay!

<Parking>
It might be hard to find at night time but there are some outside parking spot and can park car safe. I did not have any problem finding parking spot.

<Room>
Simple. It was clean and just okay size. Coffee maker, Flat TV, etc.

<WIFI>
It was free with password.

<Train Station>
It might be better to drive to Hemel Hempstead to go to the Central London. More frequency.

<Surrounding area>
Amazing....quiet nice neighborhood. There is such a great atmosphere restaurant called " Paper Mill" Walking distance. Good to eat and drink....English pub. There is a little stream. I walked around and found it very very interesting. I love it...There is a supermarket nearby. You can walk for 5 mins but car is more convenient.

<Breakfast>
It was free including hot stuff such as sausage, eggs. It was simple but very good since its free! A lot of choice for coffee and juice.

Overall I would definitely come back if I will go back to England. Staff there was very very helpful and nice. Whoa amazing hotel! Definitely should choose this!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fumister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My 2nd stay here and like the first time it was excellent.

Its not in the town but well placed just off the main drag into town.

Room was clean and tidy, nice mood lighting in the bathroom. Lovely comfy bed and sofa. Book in advance and take advantage of excellent rates.

Will definately stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davehedgehog77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Staying here regularly on business. Usual Holiday Inn Express hotel. Which is good for us business users as you know what you're getting.
Staff friendly and attentive. Breakfast OK.
Rooms clean, tidy and comfy.
About 30 mins from Heathrow so fairly convenient. Happy to keep using when in area.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Hands up first - I'm a priority clubcard member and i like stopping in Holiday Inn Express, i find them clean, professionally managed, free breakfast and very good value for money. I found everything in this hotel and more.

The room was spotlessly clean, very accommodating staff, free car parking (no problems) breakfast was free and good, but the best thing is LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION. You are 10 minutes from Warner Brother Studios and if you fancy a trip into London Aspley station (trains every 30 minutes to Euston) is opposite the hotel.

Well definitively use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the car park - nice a quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkG2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

The room was clean and tidy and set up ready for us with a double bed, cot and the sofa bed out but there was not enough room for all of it out. We had to climb over the bed which was a bit of a pain.

The bed was comfy, the shower hot and powerful and the room quiet.

Breakfast was quiet and we got seated easily. There was a good range of fruit and cold food but the delivery had not arrived so there were no scrambled eggs and only sausages and beans so a little disappointing.
The waitress was amazing and very friendly and helpful and chatted to us and paid attention to the kids.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank katie_blackmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Katie, thanks for your review of your recent stay with your family. I'm sorry that the room was cramped with the sofa bed and cot made up. We do try to advise all families of this when requesting a cot as well as the sofa bed so I apologise that this information was not passed on to you at time of booking. I am pleased that you found the beds comfy as well as a nice hot shower. May I apologise also for the delivery issue after the storm - something we have now put in extra measures to ensure we are not short in future. Thanks for the lovely comments about the team - this has been passed onto them in which they are extremely pleased with.
We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind regards,
Suzannah Richardson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
0.5 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Hemel Hempstead
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,816 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead

Address: Stationers Place | Apsley Lock, Hemel Hempstead HP3 9RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range: £46 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the well-linked Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead hotel, a short drive from local businesses and 2 minutes' walk from Apsley train station. The inviting Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead is just 10 minutes by car from the handy A4251, M1 and M25. You can take off from London Luton Airport, 25 minutes' drive away, and reach central London in 30 minutes by train. We offer free parking on-site and you can set yourself up for the day with an inclusive buffet breakfast in our comfortable Great Room. Book a meeting for 40 in one of our 3 meeting rooms and stay connected with free Wi-Fi. We're 10 minutes' drive from local companies on Maylands Avenue and Breakspear Way. You can take to the slopes at the The Snow Centre in 5 minutes. Our family rooms sleep up to 2 adults and 2 children under 12 and kids stay free when sharing a room with parents. Spend a relaxing evening with friends over drinks or dinner in the Great Room lounge or simply relax in your comfortable and convenient guest room with modern decor, an en-suite with power shower and a 32-inch flatscreen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead Hotel Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing