We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Used up points but room rate would have been £40.Much cheaper than Premier Inn's I've been in and the breakfast is included. Bed comfortable and room clean. Entrance from the car park area smoky as people stand there because the cigarette bin is close to the door. Check-in efficient but if you want to order a taxi they will hand you the phone to do it yourself! Breakfast very chaotic at 9am - lots of children running around, people making tea in front of the coffee machines blocking them, no knives when I got my breakfast. Choice of food good. Sausages actually okay, not beefy. Scrambled egg looked grim so did not try that. Breakfast area quieter at 10am. Wi-fi free at the hotel even if your membership is not high enough. Probably would not stay again as not usually in the vicinity and cheaper+quicker to get the train from MK to London. There is a pub, Premier foods convenience store, italian, Indian and vegetarian cafe in the marina plus a Sainsburys down the road. Limited parking but reception offered to help find a place if I took car out of the hotel and could not find a space when I came back.

Room Tip: I would avoid ground floor (100 rooms) as smokey as described in review and not very secure - you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jomashuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    268
    91
    23
    6
See reviews for
255
162
33
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed for 2 nights due to the close location to the Warner Bros studio tour. Clean and comfortable as you would expect with HIX with good size family room. Breakfast was fine, although the scrambled egg wasnt especially appetising. Reception recommended the pub next door for an evening meal or an Italian restaurant less than 5 minute walk away, over the river. The pub was full but the restaurant was well worth the short walk. Car park was full but found space in the overflow area. Booked early and got a very good rate. Its a 10 minute drive to WB, Train station over the road is only a half hour trip into London if you wanted to do that. Staff helpful and attentive.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John666ftm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. Room clean, will find free, breakfast adequate.

Staff: reception when we arrived very helpful and friendly.
Staff at breakfast, two wonderful ladies who were very helpful and pleasant.

Young man working ignorant, in fact didn't smile or said good morning, being pleasant cost nothing.
when checking no one on reception and had to wait five minutes at least and I went to find someone. The young man who came was the same lad from breakfast, didn't ask if everything had been ok with our stay just checked our room number and basically said we owed nothing and carried on to the next desk. Not the best customer service.

Breakfast: food lovely but I would suggest moving the rotary toast machine as it is in a corner and not very accessible and causes a bottle neck where you can't move.

Rooms: lovely rooms but beds could do with being king size.
Quite room, lovely.
We hung our towels over rail on first day when used for the "environmental policy" as the sign says in the bathroom but they were still changed????
Parking: get there early.
Overall: nice budget hotel, Near railway station for london trains.

Staff all need to be consistently friendly that's all that lets it down.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
128 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

I spent 3 nights there. It was the cheapest holiday inn express in London at the moment, and I chose this place. It was fabulous stay!

<Parking>
It might be hard to find at night time but there are some outside parking spot and can park car safe. I did not have any problem finding parking spot.

<Room>
Simple. It was clean and just okay size. Coffee maker, Flat TV, etc.

<WIFI>
It was free with password.

<Train Station>
It might be better to drive to Hemel Hempstead to go to the Central London. More frequency.

<Surrounding area>
Amazing....quiet nice neighborhood. There is such a great atmosphere restaurant called " Paper Mill" Walking distance. Good to eat and drink....English pub. There is a little stream. I walked around and found it very very interesting. I love it...There is a supermarket nearby. You can walk for 5 mins but car is more convenient.

<Breakfast>
It was free including hot stuff such as sausage, eggs. It was simple but very good since its free! A lot of choice for coffee and juice.

Overall I would definitely come back if I will go back to England. Staff there was very very helpful and nice. Whoa amazing hotel! Definitely should choose this!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fumister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

My 2nd stay here and like the first time it was excellent.

Its not in the town but well placed just off the main drag into town.

Room was clean and tidy, nice mood lighting in the bathroom. Lovely comfy bed and sofa. Book in advance and take advantage of excellent rates.

Will definately stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davehedgehog77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Staying here regularly on business. Usual Holiday Inn Express hotel. Which is good for us business users as you know what you're getting.
Staff friendly and attentive. Breakfast OK.
Rooms clean, tidy and comfy.
About 30 mins from Heathrow so fairly convenient. Happy to keep using when in area.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Hands up first - I'm a priority clubcard member and i like stopping in Holiday Inn Express, i find them clean, professionally managed, free breakfast and very good value for money. I found everything in this hotel and more.

The room was spotlessly clean, very accommodating staff, free car parking (no problems) breakfast was free and good, but the best thing is LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION. You are 10 minutes from Warner Brother Studios and if you fancy a trip into London Aspley station (trains every 30 minutes to Euston) is opposite the hotel.

Well definitively use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the car park - nice a quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkG2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#5 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Cent...
#4 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#3 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kings Langley Hotel
Premier Inn Kings Langley Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kings Langley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
1.7 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Address: Stationers Place | Apsley Lock, Hemel Hempstead HP3 9RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the well-linked Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead hotel, a short drive from local businesses and 2 minutes' walk from Apsley train station. The inviting Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead is just 10 minutes by car from the handy A4251, M1 and M25. You can take off from London Luton Airport, 25 minutes' drive away, and reach central London in 30 minutes by train. We offer free parking on-site and you can set yourself up for the day with an inclusive buffet breakfast in our comfortable Great Room. Book a meeting for 40 in one of our 3 meeting rooms and stay connected with free Wi-Fi. We're 10 minutes' drive from local companies on Maylands Avenue and Breakspear Way. You can take to the slopes at the The Snow Centre in 5 minutes. Under-18s stay for free when sharing with their parents in one of Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead's welcoming family rooms. Spend a relaxing evening with friends over drinks or dinner in the Great Room lounge or simply relax in your newly refurbished guest room with modern decor, an en-suite with power shower and a 32-inch flatscreen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead Hotel Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing