We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent staff, great room, great price, adequate breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbubble
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent staff, great room, great price, adequate breakfast”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Staff were very helpful indeed, with a quick and efficient check in. Offered advice re local restaurants etc. Clean, pleasant and well equipped room with everything you could need - much better than down market, drab, grey competitors! Room faced the road but was completely quiet. Not a huge car park, but overspill in pub car park available, so no problem. Nice setting by the Grand Union Canal and Aspley basin, pleasant towpath walk into town. Excellent Indian restaurant across the canal. The only minor, and apparently consistent criticism is that the hot breakfast food wasn't anything to get excited about, but there was plenty of everything and it was included in the price, which was very reasonable. Overall, great stay and would certainly use again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayupitsjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you for your great review on your recent stay with us. We are all so pleased that you found the hotel to meet your needs and that we provided you with a great service. Thank you also for your honest feedback on our breakfast. It is pleasing to hear that the buffet was well stocked and you therefore found this to be reasonable for you as a free offering.
We do hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind regards, Suzannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    272
    95
    23
    7
See reviews for
259
169
33
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

A very warm welcome awaits you. A great location for visiting the Harry Potter Studios only a 15 minute drive away, and booked well in advance £35.00 for a family of 3 and that included breakfast. The pub across the way served a great evening meal also. Apsley Station is about a minutes walk from the hotel with regular trains to Euston Station London. The hotel very generously allowed us to keep our car in the car park for our day trip into London. All in all a very enjoyable comfortable stay and highly recommended.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you so much for such lovely feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are so pleased that you had a great trip and we were able to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. We hope to see you soon.
Kind regards, Suzannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night, we arrived early but our rooms were made available and were given a map to get to the Harry Potter studio tour (the reason for our stay!) The rooms were clean and comfortable and breakfast was really good with plenty of choice. We were even able to leave our car in the free carpark the follow day while we caught the train into London. Can thoroughly recommend the Italian restaurant across the canal. Good food at good prices. A great hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicj40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Nicj40, thank you so much for your review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed our location for travelling into London, the local eateries and the main purpose of your stay - to visit the Harry Potter studios. I am also pleased that we were able to meet your needs with your early check in plus also leaving your car while you travelled into London for the day. Hopefully we can welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Suzannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Fab clean friendly hotel
Only one minuets walk from train station went into London trains go quite regularly nice restaurant but also a nice one about 30 secs walk away if you want something a bit posher

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rie555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Rie55, thank you for such lovely feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you had a great trip into London and hopefully you will come back and visit us again soon.
Kind regards,
Suzannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Only stayed one night but found the hotel very clean and comfortable. The disabled access room was excellent with a wet room and panic cord. Unfortunately the majority of disabled rooms are at the opposite end of the corridor from the lift which meant a long walk to the room. Apparently there is a disabled room near the lift on the ground floor, but this has to be requested when booking. When we registered on arrival, the young lady seemed more focused on giving us information regarding booking directly with holiday inns (rather than using late rooms or booking.com), than giving actual information about the rooms. As we don't use hotels frequently, letting us know that the key card is necessary to enable the use of the lights would have been more helpful. I did speak to a manager before leaving, and she assured me that my comments would be raised with all staff. The free breakfast was more than sufficient and the hot food was hot and plentiful. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Lower numbers are closer to the lift. Even numbers overlook the road. Family and disabled rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacas5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Jacas5, thank you so much for your feedback and comments regarding your stay. I have as I promised spoken to the team and fed back your comments and again I thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. Without our guest feedback we cannot learn about the areas we need to focus on and please be assured we will ensure that going through the hotel facilities will be prioritised in future. I am so pleased though that your overall stay was very clean and comfortable and we do hope we can welcome you back again in the future. Please feel free to contact us directly so we can allocate the room on the ground floor for you.
Kind regards,
Suzannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had a very comfortable stay and found the hotel to be very practical. We had a cosy bed and a good sized modern television which we were able to watch our own movies on :). We also loved that we had free breakfast, which made life a lot easier and kept us filled up til evening. Very happy with this hotel and it's picturesque location next to the Apsley lock. Great for couples!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank Angelz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Angelz88, thank you for your great feedback about your recent stay. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit, enjoying our free breakfast and being able to relax in your room whilst also enjoy the scenery around the hotel. We do hope you will come and visit us again soon.
Kind regards,
Suzannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2014

we recently stayed and the holiday inn express Hemel for a trip Harry Potter Studios what a wonderfully experience from check in to check out the staff were amazing. We had our 2 small children with us and even they were made to feel special the lady at breakfast even gave our children some bread to feed the ducks as we said we were going for a walk along the canal. Her knowledge of London and her advice about the trains were fantastic and made our stay so memorable, Our sons haven't stopped talking about it big thank you Teri. We cant wait to come back and would recommend this hotel for familys

Room Tip: apparently canal side rooms are the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Sandie, may I thank you for such a lovely review from your recent stay with us. It is always so nice for the team to be recognised and I know that Teri is extremely grateful for your lovely feedback and so so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We do hope you will come and see us again soon.
Kind regards,
Suzannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#6 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Cent...
#3 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kings Langley Hotel
Premier Inn Kings Langley Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kings Langley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
5.9 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Address: Stationers Place | Apsley Lock, Hemel Hempstead HP3 9RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the well-linked Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead hotel, a short drive from local businesses and 2 minutes' walk from Apsley train station. The inviting Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead is just 10 minutes by car from the handy A4251, M1 and M25. You can take off from London Luton Airport, 25 minutes' drive away, and reach central London in 30 minutes by train. We offer free parking on-site and you can set yourself up for the day with an inclusive buffet breakfast in our comfortable Great Room. Book a meeting for 40 in one of our 3 meeting rooms and stay connected with free Wi-Fi. We're 10 minutes' drive from local companies on Maylands Avenue and Breakspear Way. You can take to the slopes at the The Snow Centre in 5 minutes. Under-18s stay for free when sharing with their parents in one of Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead's welcoming family rooms. Spend a relaxing evening with friends over drinks or dinner in the Great Room lounge or simply relax in your newly refurbished guest room with modern decor, an en-suite with power shower and a 32-inch flatscreen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead Hotel Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing