We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Shendish Manor Hotel(Hemel Hempstead)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel(Hemel Hempstead)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Two Brewers Hotel(Chipperfield)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Watermill Hotel(Hemel Hempstead)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (781)
Filter reviews
781 results
Traveller rating
345
300
105
24
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
345
300
105
24
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsapsley stationsausagebeanscalzoneapsley locktrain stationcanal sidethe grand union canalfree breakfastharry potterhot itemscar parkan indianhi expressnice pubincluded in the pricepub next door
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
487 - 492 of 781 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed 28 Feb/1March for a visit to Harry Potter World - which is amazing. Arrived late Friday afternoon. The room was ready although third bed not made up for our teenage son. Mentioned to reception as we popped down for tea and by the time we were back, the bed was made up. Room service even knocked on the door the next morning to apologise - nice touch.

The food in the restaurant and bar was of a high standard for breakfast, lunch and evening meal. Normal hotel prices but we were looked after really well so made a difference.

All the staff - front desk, bar, restaurant, cleaners, leisure club - were professional and friendly.

We used the leisure facilities apart from the gym. Good sized pool and warm. Sauna, steam room and jacuzzi all working well. Changing rooms clean.

Our overall experience was excellent and helped make the weekend. Thank you and yes we would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garys s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duty M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you so much for your comments.

I have passed these details to the holiday inn as the express do not have leisure facilities, so unless it was a swim in the canal and a sauna in the kitchen, we can not take the credit, but again I am so glad that the holiday Inn brand family made your weekend.

Regards
Ron
Guest service manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed here for one night before visiting the Harry Potter Studio Tour, we stayed on the 8th March 2014.

We booked through the IHG website and paid about £50 for the room. I like the Express brand because of the free breakfast and so we always stay with them if we can.

We arrived at about 4pm on the Saturday, the hotel was easy to find and there was plenty of parking available. The hotel is not massive but I think there would be the potential for problems with the parking but there were plenty of notices around the site and in the hotel to help you if there were no spaces. The hotel is directly opposite a big pub called the Paper Mill and this looked busy (and quite nice) but we did not try it. It is also located beside a train station and a retail park (Sainsburys, Argos, PC World etc. There is a McDonalds a very short walk away).

Check in was easy and seamless - they had all the details there and were extremely helpful - in fact the staff all the way throughout the stay were exemplary and they should be commended for their polite and helpful natures. They invited the children to take part in a competition by giving them an activity sheet to complete.

The rooms are small but comfortable with everything you would expect, flat screen TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities etc. I was very impressed that they remembered to leave 4 mugs in the room rather than 2 - this is something which is often missed in family rooms!

We all slept amazingly well - virtually zero noise from other guests or from outside.

Breakfast was also very good - basic but good. There was everything you could need - a full hot drinks menu with juices, cereals, toast, muffins etc. Plus hot sausages, eggs, beans etc. Although they offered cheese they did not offer ham as part of the buffet which was a complaint of my husband.

Checkout was also seamless and I think that we would definitely stay here again.

Holiday Inn Express is really giving all the other brands a run for their money and this hotel is really operating exceptionally well! Thank you all for making our stay stress free and comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlieandaustinsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duty M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you so much for the glowing praise.

I am so glad we made your stay enjoyable and that everything went smoothly with your weekend.

We really do try and make all our guest feel as they are at home, and even do the washing up for you.

Hopefully we will see you again soon

Ron
Guest service manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

arrived on saturday for cup final at wembley on sunday,hotel fantastic in every way only thing no free safe as we had in hotel in kegworth the previous night,never mind though the breafast was in price,and realy set us up for a long day at wembley,train station over road 7.40 return to wembley,we lost cup but had a weekend to remember.

Room Tip: pitty no safe,but everything else great,would def stay again
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
Thank Barry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Barry, thanks for your lovely comments and your fantastic feedback about the hotel and your overall stay.
Really sorry that your team lost the cup at Wembley but pleased nonetheless this did not ruin your trip.
Hopefully you will have chance to return to Wembley again in the future to come and stay with us.
Kind regards,
Suzannah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Myself, husband and daughter stayed at this hotel last night.
This is the second time we have stayed at this location and
Both times have been excellent!
Rooms are standard, quiet, clean and well presented, standard
Coffee and tea supplied - with additional cups and supplies for
The 3rd guest (often forgotten). We did request additional toiletries
Which were happily supplied by house keeping.

I was not looking forward to the free breakfast having recently
Stayed at Holiday inn express Exeter which was dismal, and the breakfast
verged on inedible. We were pleasantly surprised!
Food was good, fresh fruit, cereal and a range of bakery items as
Well as the publicised hot items.
The staff were excellent- friendly, attentive and professional.
Kelly and Helen deserve special attention for their attitude and
Customer service.
We had a lovely stay at this hotel and would recommend it.
We will be back :)


Stayed: February 2014
Thank SAfricangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and what lovely feedback. We are all so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the great comments regarding the team and the special mention to Kelly and Helen - they are so pleased to receive such lovely comments. We hope you will have the opportunity to come back to Hemel again and come and see us again where we can welcome you back.
Kind regards,
Suzannah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Staff were very helpful indeed, with a quick and efficient check in. Offered advice re local restaurants etc. Clean, pleasant and well equipped room with everything you could need - much better than down market, drab, grey competitors! Room faced the road but was completely quiet. Not a huge car park, but overspill in pub car park available, so no problem. Nice setting by the Grand Union Canal and Aspley basin, pleasant towpath walk into town. Excellent Indian restaurant across the canal. The only minor, and apparently consistent criticism is that the hot breakfast food wasn't anything to get excited about, but there was plenty of everything and it was included in the price, which was very reasonable. Overall, great stay and would certainly use again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ayupitsjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Thank you for your great review on your recent stay with us. We are all so pleased that you found the hotel to meet your needs and that we provided you with a great service. Thank you also for your honest feedback on our breakfast. It is pleasing to hear that the buffet was well stocked and you therefore found this to be reasonable for you as a free offering.
We do hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind regards, Suzannah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews