We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Budget Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Certificate of Excellence
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Budget Hotel”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

A perfectly good budget hotel with friendly staff and reasonably well presented. I stay here frequently as it is good value for money. Although I do wish they'd sort the orange juice out at breakfast.

There is adequate parking and it's very handy for Apsley train station.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear David, thank you for your review and also for your loyalty. It is great to welcome so many of our regular guests each week and we are pleased that you find us to be ideal for what you need. I have passed on your feedback to the team regarding the orange juice and we will be sure to look into this. Our apologies if this has not been to standard.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards,
Suzannah Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    275
    95
    23
    7
See reviews for
261
171
33
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I always thought a Holiday Inn would simply be a necessary stop-over, a place to have a sleep so uncomfortable that you'd be sure to be up on time to get to your appointment the next day..But no! The beds were so comfortable, the pool so handy for bored kids, the kettle/tv/iron/door locking system so easily functioning, the breakfast so damned good and varied (heavenly granola)... that in fact it wasn't a best-forgotten leg of our journey after all, but an excellent part of it. What's more, my daughter left her Kindle behind and they posted it to us immediately. Excellent service. And excellent price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ratty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel last weekend with my disabled husband, disabled daughter and a carer. I have stayed in many Holiday Inn hotels around the country and abroad and have always received excellent service.

I have been prompted to write this review as it is a valid comment on the service I received by the staff at this particular hotel.

On this occasion, I experienced this:

A member of staff told me: "You disabled people should go somewhere. This is not a care home"

I was told off for taking a sheet off the bed in readiness for the chamber maid as we had spilled a glass of water. I was told the hotel do not change the sheets of guests who are staying for three nights.

When there was some damage caused to a lamp shade by one of my carers as she tried to manoeuvre in the room, I offered to pay, of course, and was charged £50 on the spot. I was upset and wondered how they could decide what to charge and to demand it so rudely.

Unfortunately it had not been possible for the hotel to give us the interconnecting rooms that we had requested. The rooms were some distance apart. With the transfer of luggage from one room to another over some distance, we left all three rooms ajar until we got settled, obviously at our own risk. I was reprimanded for this as well.

I was then told I was barred from this hotel!

Michael Paris was excellent at trying to make amends for this humiliating treatment by a member of his team but I question how happy this hotel is to receive guests with disabilities. I would be reluctant to take the risk. Tread very carefully!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank TANIA196599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
We are very disappointed to read these comments.

Please be rest assured we are dealing with this and will be in contact.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

I have recently stayed at Holiday Inn Express in Apsley. Had a wonderful time there with friendly staff. I was warmly greeted by Martin - guest service manager. His professional and kind approach made my whole stay. I will be checking in back again soon and my wish is to be served by him.
I really enjoyed the breakfast food choice as well as the dinner glass of wine with Moroccan Chicken.
I'll definitely recommend this hotel to my friends. Keep it up guys!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Alex, thank you for your review on your recent stay with us and thank you for such lovely comments regarding one of the staff members Martin. I personally know Martin is extremely pleased to have received this feedback from you and he hopes he is here to welcome you back and your friends on your next stay with us.
Kind regards,
Suzannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I have recently just got back from a two night stay at the holiday inn express where I took my boyfriend for his 30th birthday. As soon as we arrived the staff Cyn and Terri could not have done more for us, as we were early they arranged a room within 5mins so that we could check in and start our day. The rooms are extremely clean, the hotel is right by the canal and the breakfast is fantastic! There is a train station directly across from the hotel that runs into london every half an hour so was extremely convenient for a day sightseeing in London. The next day we visited Harry Potter studio tour which was a 10 minute drive from the hotel and provided free car parking. Just across the car park from the hotel next to the canal is a pub called the Paper Mill, it is lovely in here and the food is fantastic!! Would thoroughly recommend the holiday inn express Hemel Hempstead for it's fantastic location for a day trip to London and the Harry potter studio tours. Excellent staff, cleanliness, location, rooms and breakfast!! 5 stars!!!!! Thank you to everyone who made our stay fantastic!!!! We look forward to returning again soon x

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xCatix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear guest, thank you for such fantastic comments about your recent stay and especially for mentioning the great service you received from Teri and Cyn. They are so pleased to receive these comments and also so glad you had a great stay and found the hotel conveniently located for your trip to Harry Potter and for sightseeing in London. We are already looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Kind regards,
Suzannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We are currently staying in the hotel and booked via superbreak for the Harry potter world at Watford. The hotel itself is really lovely, reception staff friendly, in a beautiful location just a couple of yards from apsley locks. I fully endorse this hotel. It's brilliant!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Janette, thank you for such lovely feedback and for taking the time to review your stay over the weekend. It is lovely to receive such great comments which I have shared with the team and who are so pleased you enjoyed your stay too.
We hope you enjoyed the Harry Potter Tour and we hope you will come and see us again soon.
Kind regards,
Suzannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

For what you pay, this is a very good hotel. Clean and comfortable rooms with a large bathroom. Public spaces very clean and modern. Plenty of parking and in an excellent location across the road from Apsley station which takes you into London in 30 minutes. Breakfast OK and not on a par with a Premier Inn but overall an excellent budget hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank alanandcecilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear guest, thank you for your lovely feedback after your recent visit to our hotel. We are so pleased you found us to be of good value and clean and comfortable. Also oyu found our location excellent for links into London- we hope you enjoyed your visit to the City.
I am sorry to hear that our breakfast was not quite up to standard and thank you for your comments. We are always looking to improve especially with our breakfast offering so we will take these comments on board.
We do hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind regards,
Suzannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#6 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
612 reviews
1.6 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
393 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Address: Stationers Place | Apsley Lock, Hemel Hempstead HP3 9RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the well-linked Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead hotel, a short drive from local businesses and 2 minutes' walk from Apsley train station. The inviting Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead is just 10 minutes by car from the handy A4251, M1 and M25. You can take off from London Luton Airport, 25 minutes' drive away, and reach central London in 30 minutes by train. We offer free parking on-site and you can set yourself up for the day with an inclusive buffet breakfast in our comfortable Great Room. Book a meeting for 40 in one of our 3 meeting rooms and stay connected with free Wi-Fi. We're 10 minutes' drive from local companies on Maylands Avenue and Breakspear Way. You can take to the slopes at the The Snow Centre in 5 minutes. Under-18s stay for free when sharing with their parents in one of Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead's welcoming family rooms. Spend a relaxing evening with friends over drinks or dinner in the Great Room lounge or simply relax in your newly refurbished guest room with modern decor, an en-suite with power shower and a 32-inch flatscreen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead Hotel Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing